We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Somewhere to lay your head”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koukouras Hotel & Lia Apartments
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Stalos
uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Somewhere to lay your head”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Kia appartments in July for a wk, we paid for sea view and got that was lovely, the beach was very nice but quite windy and could be rough so be careful with young children. The appartments were ery basic but clean typical greek, the hotel which was across the busy roa was nicer than the appartments and had a lovely pool which we spent a lot of time there.the location was ok bus routes and plentiful taxis to nearby towns, there was restaurants closely but quite expensive, there is crazy golf and a across the road. Although the hotel was clean I found the area around the beach and the bars oa be quite run down and dirty all along the road, on the first day we saw a rat running along near the beach into a beah bAr needless to say we never went in there. It's ashame the state of he economy in Greece because I do feel that it suffering. It was very hot whilst we was there so air con is a must but it's only in the living area and not in the bedroom, so at night it's quit unbearable because there is a lot of mosquitoes so you don't want to leave your doors open. Please be aware this area is not a typical English tourist resort it's very scandinavian so you may never speak to another English person your whole stay. If I was to come back here I would stay in the Apparments across the road and not the lia Apparments. Hope this hAs helped.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    16
    3
    8
See reviews for
29
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gouda, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Very bad. Was no one available to welcome us at LIA apartments. Nobody answered the phone of the reception at LIA apartments. If we had a problem to report about the room or the wifi (that never works) or the airco, or the hot water, you can't find anybody to help you. They lied to us for everything. We booked an apartment and they gave us a Studio. The pictures on internet are misleading. Its not that they have apartments and studio's. They have only studio's with kitchenette (this is a too small kitchen that you as mother with 2 children practically can not cook) for 2 or 4 person's. You can bake some eggs, and that's all. They have 4 studios with sea view (nr 1,2, 7 and 8) they also have 4 studios at the street side with a lot of traffic noise and dirty air because of traffic pollution. The rest are very small studio's with no space at all, if you open 2 suitcase's on the floor of the studio nr 9 you can't walk anymore in this room. The balcony of these very small studio's has room for a very small table (2 person's can not even eat on it) and two small uncomfortable chairs, and that's it. No more space. No sea view but 6 neighbors from the next building on 3 meters distance from your balcony who are looking what are you doing right in your room with no privacy. No WiFi in the whole building. No private beach (it's open for everyone) no private parking (you just park along the street if you are lucky to find a place) No swimming pool at LIA apartments. Maybe this is at Hotel Koukouras (or not) at the other side of the street 200 meters further from LIA apartments, but this is an other location. We will never go there again. Because of their lies we had to repack 3 times our suitcase's and relocate in an other studio. We never got a studio with sea view (as they promised to us on the contract) at the location of LIA apartments. We are extremely disappointed. From 15 of June 2012 and for 6 whole days and nights the sea was very wild with rows of waves of 2,5 meters high. Nobody could swim (was not allowed, red flags everywhere) and the waves took the sand away from the beach. Nightmare vacations at LIA apartments in Kato Stalos. Don't go there. Don't trust them. The whole thing is bad news!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

As a last minute decision we were searching for a short vacation in Greece. We found this nice little apartment-hotel, decided that it was perfectly situated on the beach and the descriptions seemed good.
After returning home, I have to say that we couldn´t been luckier with our choice, its affordable, but it delivers everything you expect for accomodation like this. Neat, clean apartment. Helpful staff. Excellent being able to walk 5 meters from the entrance of the hotel and then be on the beach. They also ran a little beach bar which sold refreshments and simple food.
When we were there, the Taxi´s were on strike, but the local bus stops right by the hotel, cost about nothing, and in 15 minutes your in Chania. We didnt even know about any strike for the first 4 days, as there simply wasnt need for any. Then returning to the airport, Evangelina (the hotel manager) took us in her own car there because of the strike, otherwise she was very helpful in organizing for a cab for picking us up there. They are also a good source for local information, giving you the possibility to visit something a little behind the mass-tourism machine. I cant but reccommend this place, the hotel looked very nice, the apartments were very nice. A fine way to enjoy Creete.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank xtafx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We spent 10 days at the Lia Apartments at Kato Stalos and had such a brilliant time. We took 3 rooms as i was there with my wife and 2 very young kids and my mum and dad and brother joined us.
Everything was perfect, the beach is beautiful and really safe (no tide, big waves, clean and lovely fine sand) for the kids.
Kato Stalos as a place is dominated by Nordic tour companies so there were no English Breakfasts or Sunday Roasts or Brown Sauce.
The hotel itself is typically Greek not the most modern but spotlessly clean and very good value. The owners and there staff were fantastic as well. One night we lost power after a storm and they had the electricity company out within the hour to sort it out. Within the hour! I've been visiting Greece for over 20 years and have never known anything happen that fast.
I really can't rate the accommodation highly enough, not because it was flashy or modern or particularly charming but because it had everything we wanted. Being right on the sandy beach was perfect for the kids and so near Chania meant you could easily and affordably go in and spend the day or evening on the harbour their, which is beautiful. We used the pool at the hotel most afternoons which was excellent as well, mini shooter cocktails for the kids, non-slip tiles around the pool, little playground - what more can you ask for?
The only gripe i have was to do with being charged for the sun beds, when the rest of them on the beach were free to customers. We paid because we wanted to be close to our room, but i think it is a bit cheeky as we were residents. Apart from that just simply had a great holiday and it was easily arranged directly with the owners through email.
In summary if you want a typically Greek holiday, without being surrounded by English people, with lovely and efficient hosts in a clean environment then this is a great option.

Room Tip: pay the little extra for a seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaffaAndBirdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We liked this hotel very much, we stayed at Lia apartments and the hotel was located on the baech. The beach is perfect with fine sand, and it wasn't crowdie. The atmosphere was very friendly and familiar. I warmly recommend this hotel. There is a few supermarkets next to the hotel. If you want to shop, take the bus to Platanias or Chania.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UlricaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

All we wanted was a bed for the night and that's what we got. My partner and I stayed at the Lia Apartments and it was basic with all you wanted.Its a family run hotel and they made you feel so welcome from the day you arrived till the minute you left. The apartment we had, had a kitchen area, balcony and WC with shower. Air con was an extra cost at 7 euros a day which was a necessity. At the back of the hotel is the beach with a beach bar which they own also and sell snacks and drinks etc. They also do a BBQ at the Koukouras hotel which was excellent on a Wednesday night which was 150 metres away. The area is well served by public transport with buses to and from Chania but Stalis is fairly quiet with regard to bars and restaurants and we always ended up in Platanias for food and nightlife which seemed to shut at around 05.00am. To sum up the apartments were clean with no frills and the owners were superb hosts.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalos
0.5 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 22 in Stalos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Creta Palm
Creta Palm
#4 of 22 in Stalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.0 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#18 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cretan Dream Royal
Cretan Dream Royal
#2 of 22 in Stalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Top Hotel Chania
Top Hotel Chania
#8 of 22 in Stalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koukouras Hotel & Lia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koukouras Hotel & Lia Apartments

Property: Koukouras Hotel & Lia Apartments
Address: Stalos, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Stalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Koukouras Hotel & Lia Apartments 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koukouras Hotel & Lia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koukouras Hotel And Lia Apartments
Koukouras Hotel & Lia Apartments Stalos, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing