We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money”
Review of Amethystos

Amethystos
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Stalos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $19
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Cozy, family and traditional restaurant with delicious and filling portions, every day specialties. We serve the best homemade wine, raki and rakomelo(raki with honey). We only use our certified olive oil to cook. Hearty service ("Philoxenia") and fair prices. Credit cards accepted. Accessibility to disabled. If you think of celebrating birthday or other events, Amethystos can prepare one completely unforgettable evening. Daily open from 10.00 until closing.
Santorini, Greece
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“good value for money”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

i have eat numerous times there, the food is like at home, made from the motherly cook, tasteful wine, traditional treats and sweets, friendly service. Prefer a table to the back green yard and ask the waiter for dish recommendations.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OliviaG2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    45
    11
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try really home made food”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great local food with the care of MOTHER.. Really friendly people, witch are owners also.. Ask to drink the great wine they produce.. A little difficult road to find it, but it really worth..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really good value”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We ate here twice during our two week holiday, and had a very good meal on both occasions. The reason for only four stars is that the taverna is tucked away behind some buildings so the view is not that great, and because of the location it tends to be very quiet with not much atmosphere. However the food and service is excellent and represents extremely good value for money

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank WGRHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Below expectation from the reviews”
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Visited tonight based on reviews. It was average at best and not worth walking up the hill. The food was better on the coast road last might. Rabbit and lamb had taste but they came with oily chips. Is that innovation? The wine was like sherry, just like i used to home brew and I know Cretan wine is better (drinking it now). Stuffed potatoes starter was just a baked potato cut in half with cheese and ham. In the uk we got that at spud-u-like. Plus it arrived so much after my wife's dolma des that I was still eating it when the main course arrived. Enough said. An off night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple but excellent”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Amethystos surprised us by being both innovative and traditional. The typical Cretan meal was complemented by a variety of free desserts of which the grape jelly left a lasting impression. Highlight of the evening was the motherly cook coming to check upon her guests: lacking any basic English aside from Okay, okay?, she still managed to charm us into leaving a well-deserved tip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bvoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amethystos also viewed

Stalos, Chania Prefecture
Stalos, Chania Prefecture
 
Stalos, Chania Prefecture
Stalos, Chania Prefecture
 
Stalos, Chania Prefecture
Stalos, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Amethystos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing