We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth!”
Review of Phaedra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Phaedra Hotel
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Stalos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

It's not often that one writes a review of their hotel while they are still there, but Phaedra deserves such a review. It's our second summer here (my wife and 2 children, and my parents), and although I believed it impossible, this year's stay proved to be even better than last years'. As advertised on the hotel web site, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the grounds are well tended and beautifully landscaped and the pool is spotless. The beach is unbelievable, wide and sandy with crystal clear water. There are no hotels directly adjacent to the Phaedra so its beach isn't crowded nor rowdy. The only deception is that although the views from all the rooms are as pictured, they are far more spectacular when coupled with the sounds and smells of the ocean!!! Mr. Christos and Mrs. Georgia are wonderful people and care for ALL of their clients are is if they are a part of their family...sincerely! Kevin tends the pool side snack bar and mixes great drinks as well as mean milkshakes for the little ones. A review is a review is a review, but the true testament of how perfect this place is, is when you return the following summer with an additional 6 people (gang of 12!!!) ..... And they all loved it! For families, couples, and newly weds alike, the Phaedra hotel with its location, grounds, beach, and most importantly, with Mr. Christos and Mrs. Georgia at the helm, is paradise on earth!!!! Mr. Christos and Mrs. Georgia, you have found the recipe to success, don't ever change it!!!!!

Matthew V.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Matthew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Phaedra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Matthew V,

Firstly may I thank you for your continued support of the Phaedra Hotel and it is our great pleasure to welcome you back time after time. It is such a great accolade that guests return time after time and have such positive feedback.
The team and I are of course particularly delighted that you felt well looked after by us.
I have passed on your kind words to all the team here and I hope to welcome you back again in the near future on many more trips to Crete and consider the Phaedra Hotel your other home.

King regards,
Georgia Kaymenaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 137 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here based on a recommendation of a person who works for a travel website. It is her job to spend time at hotels and write reviews. When I told her that I wanted to stay in Chania, she said that I absolutely must stay at Phaedra.

Phaedra is right on the beach which for me, is extremely important. The beach is composed of fine sand and when you walk into the ocean, there are only a few rocks in some parts of the beach where Phaedra is located, but by no means is this a problem, the beach is spectacular.

Phaedra is located in Kato Stalos which is not a very busy part of town, but it is conveniently located about 7 minutes (bus ride) from the town of Platanias, or you could easily walk 45 minutes, if you prefer to exercise. Phaedra has a bus stop in front of the property which made it very easy to get to the airport, the port of Chania, Ag Marina, and Platanias. There are also many excellent restaurants, levendis and Merovigli, to name a few.

In addition the location being amazing, the staff at Phaedra does not compare to any that I have encountered during my vacations at similar hotels. Georgia and her husband Christos are beautiful people. They are welcoming and were always concerned about how we were doing. Kevin, the bartender, is equally kind and extremely knowledgeable when it comes to making drinks. We actually looked forward to spending time at the bar chatting with him. The staff actually threw a BBQ while my husband and I were there, providing delicious chicken and potatoes for lunch, as a way of thanking their guests. My husband and I missed the BBQ and an employee Georgia (another Georgia) actually brought a plate to our room and apologized for the fact that we had not known about the BBQ, an extremely thoughtful gesture.

The rooms are exactly what you see on the website. If you email the hotel directly, they will even send you pictures of the exact suite or apartment that you will stay in before you commit. The rooms are modern and fully equipped. We stayed in a basic suite and it was more than perfect for my husband and I. We loved the kitchen, as we were able to make breakfast and lunch in the room.

We have stayed in hotels on other Greek islands and we have never thought about returning to any of these hotels (even though we enjoyed ourselves) however Phaedra changed this. We intend to return to Crete and stay at Phaedra. You must stay here....a great hotel with an amazing and hospitable staff and fantastic value for money. We had a great experience. Thank you Christos, Georgia, Georgia, and Kevin. See you soon!!!!

Your friends from Toronto.

Room Tip: Top floor with a sea view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Phaedra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Lisa C,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
Your kind words on our team members and premises are shared with everyone and of course, well appreciated.
We are doing our best to keep the quality of our services excellent and your feedback is more than welcome!
We would be delighted to welcome you back in our premises during your next visit!

Yours sincerely,
Georgia Kaymenaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very nice small quiet beautiful hotel, wonderful location, the sea is almost under the windows, no crowds in the hotel and on the beach, free and always empty sunbeds
Lovely pool, new and modern rooms
Loved it
I hope to return

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Phaedra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Maria,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We do appreciate your kind words and we are happy you enjoyed our facilities, services and pool!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, we remain at your disposal!

Yours sincerely
Phaedra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Phaedra is a beautiful and an amazing place with great people working there with a natural sense of hospitality, the location is just amazing, I think it couldn't be better than that.
However, our only comment is about the daily room cleanliness, this might be the point that need improvement, other than that, it's for sure an excellent place to stay in.
Thank you Phaedra staff for the great memories.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Phaedra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Ahmed,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
Your comments are indeed very helpful and honest, much appreciated; we are doing our best to offer our guests unique experience, being motivated and guided by your opinion.

We are always glad to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our customer service and standards. We place great value on your opinion and we hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Greece.
King Regards
Georgia Kaymenaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you want to meet the Greek hospitality you must visit Phaedra. Phaedra has everything in order to make our vacation succesfull. The bright apartments/studios fullfill all our wishes concerning furniture, kitchen, bathroom, internet etc. The location at the beach is perfect and the sorroundings are very nice and well kept. The two ladyes, Georgia and Georgia, are very, very nice and helpfull and always ask us how we are dooing. If you need anything....just ask. Last year we,12 friends, wanted to go to a special restaurant in Old Town, and Georgia off course called the restaurant and made the reservation and then called 3 Taxis for us. 8 of theese friends, on our recommendation, stayed at Phaedra together with us, and they will all come back, they say. We will also come back for sure, we have already made our reservations for 2013. You are in very good hands at Phaedra, so you should try it too!

Bolette & Torben

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Torben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Phaedra is the most perfect villa at the beach. We stayed at the Crete second time and choose a hotel near Chania for one week. We had a very peaceful and relaxing holiday and saw a lot of interesting places of west Crete. The recently renovated apartments were large and clean, with a beautiful view over the pool and beach. Our son Anton liked your swimming pool and the nearest golf club very much!
Thanks a lot for your high level service.
Regards,
Maria, Sergey and little Anton.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fedorova_Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Maria Sergey and Anton
Thank you for your wonderful comments.
I feel petty i was absent by the time of your departure from the Hotel, in order to say goodbye directly and offer you a goodbye gift.
I hope to see you again soon.
Many kisses
Georgia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Our stay in Phaedra Hotel was, without a doubt, excellent. Starting with the owners and staff (bar) hospitality and care to the excellent location, confort and services. The whole hotel was always clean and cozy, the view from the room was amazing (swimmingpool and beach, the beach is just one step away from the swimmingpool area). The cocktails in the bar are simply excellent!

Room Tip: It seemed to me that all the rooms are very good, we stayed in 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristiana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear Cristiana
Thank you for your excellent comments.
I hope you had a great time at Chania even though you have spend only 4 nights at the Hotel.
See you again next summer. We will enjoy some new cocktails by the pool.
Kisses
Georgia and Spiros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalos
0.5 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 22 in Stalos
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cretan Dream Royal
Cretan Dream Royal
#2 of 22 in Stalos
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Creta Palm
Creta Palm
#3 of 22 in Stalos
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 111 in Chania Town
562 reviews
1 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#21 of 111 in Chania Town
403 reviews
6.9 mi away
Artemis Apartments
Artemis Apartments
#8 of 22 in Stalos
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phaedra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phaedra Hotel

Address: Kato Stalos, Stalos, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stalos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Stalos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stalos
Price Range: $104 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Phaedra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PHAEDRA is a family beach hotel with swimming pool, built with care on the golden sand beach of Kato Stalos Kydonias, Chania, awarded with the “Blue Flag” of the European Union and supervised by lifeguards. It consists of 22 apartments and studios with private balcony or patio with sea view. PHAEDRA is situated just 7 km away from the picturesque city of Chania, 19 km from the port of Souda and 23 km from Chania International Airport. A bus-stop close to the hotel allows frequent transportation to all the hot-spots of the area. Kato Stalos and the nearby villages of Ag. Marina and Platanias offer plenty of shops with tourist goods, car rentals, super markets, as well as taverns with traditional Cretan food, beach-bars, nightclubs that will satisfy all your needs during the holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phaedra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phaedra Hotel Stalos, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing