We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada Mosteiro Amares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pousada Mosteiro Amares
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amares
Certificate of Excellence
porto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed for 1 night after travelling by car during the day in the area of Terras de Bouro and National Park Peneda Gerês. Very interesting and good recuperation of the building. Nice people and confortable place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortoDeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    74
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
137
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South West France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

only worth the trek up the mountains if you want silence and impressive monastery style hotel. We picked this hotel thinking it was near Guimaraes... big mistake! It is an hour away and in the most deadly boring village you could find. The room service menu which is also the bar menu is unbelievable: cheese sandwich, ham sandwich or toast... So if you need to escape and be in an "ivory" tower up there, perfect, any other reason... pass! Also beware of vindictive staff behavior who will book you in the next pousada for above the official rack rate, that really takes the biscuit in our book.

Room Tip: We had a suite, it is obviously not a busy place so check out the special offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earthtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

- our whole stay at this Pousada! From our arrivel, by foot, after walking in Penedes de Gerés. The impressing building, so beautifully and respectfully restored. Congratulations to the architects! The peaceful, beautiful rooms, indoor and outdoor. The great meals and splendid wine. The nice waiters. We loved Pousada de Santa Maria.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank merete m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful place just 8km from Amares. We ate at a village restaurant nearby which served local fare and was excellent value. Vino Verde just so good! Please do something about the awful music!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mike17Bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Located somewhat out of Braga, this Pousada was a little hard to find (to say the least).

However once we found it we fell in love with it. From the architecture to the staff we could not fault it.

Like some other reviewers, we too were travelling in the off season so sometimes the barman was hard to find, and the dining room a little spars on other guests but that is to be expected when travelling in the off season and this is why the room rate reflects this.

The service in the dining room was very professional, and although the food was, probably at best described as OK, it was more than made up by the breathtaking dining room (absolutely amazing, like eating in King Arthurs dining room), and the service received.

On one night we were celebrating my wife’s birthday and a very nice surprise was the hotel supplying a gratis glass of Champagne, and a cake and candles for our table. Very thoughtful and much appreciated.

The rooms were modern, with great views. Very comfortable, clean and functional.
This is a former Cistercian Monastery of the XII century so the history this building alone has is worth a stay

I Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

The setting is wonderful! Nice views, great architecture and in a peaceful location. Once you enter this "Pousada", it is a bit like going back in time a few centuries and if you let your imagination run free you can easily imagine the monks walking these halls. I've seen some comments mentioning that the staff is not very friendly but we had no such negative experience and, in fact, all from the reception to the waiters were very courteous.

So, why am not giving this an "excellent" review? well, basically for two reasons: first of all, the room furniture does not live up to the rest of the place. I truly like and appreciate the contemporary look and comfort in these old buildings but the quality here is not up to par. Hinges squeak, some doors are a bit broken, floors are noisy, etc. The other reason is due to the fact that whole place seems to lack a bit of ambiance! maybe it is because of somethings being in awkward places (ex. bar tossed into a corner, reading area close to a major hallway that turns noisy as people pass by, etc.). However, on the positive side is the restaurant, with a nice variety of food that represents northern Portugal's delicacies but probably a bit overpriced.

Overall, this is a nice "pousada" and you will most likely enjoy it and, with a car, the surrounding area (Note: transportation here is a must because any other nice place to visit is at least 20km away)

Room Tip: All rooms are fairly similar! Some friends of ours stayed in the suite and to tell you the truth, be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biscas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

As we were told that this pousada was a nice place to dine we made a reservation for diner only.
While finding our way to the restaurant in the pousada we found ourselves in the middle of a large company venue from Randstad. We were we ushered to an ajoining space, were one other couple were already dining; they were not looking too pleased.
Most of the tables were removed, and loud music was pumping through the wall. Although we booked that same afternoon, nothing was said about this all pervading happening where individual guests just get lost into.
Somewhat reluctant we ordered, as it was too late to find another place to dine in this northern Portugese area.
By the time the main course arrived, the staff started removing the tablewear from the remaining tables, dismembering the tables and removing them, all in our presence while we were eating. As if we were not there!
As the atmosphere was already far from jolly, I asked for the manager, who made excuses referring to the Randstad-venue, being more than he could handle. I told him that if that was his main concern he should not take individual reservations, but consider it a private party, and not batter individual guests in this way.
What we ate was good, but the evening was so spoilt and that we decided not finish and left.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZAS125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amares
9.0 mi away
Pousada do Geres - Canicada Charming Hotel
14.9 mi away
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
#1 of 19 in Guimaraes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
12.6 mi away
Tempus Hotel & Spa
Tempus Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Ponte da Barca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Aguas do Geres - Hotel, Termas & Spa
4.1 mi away
Hotel Sao Bento
Hotel Sao Bento
#1 of 1 in Rio Caldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
14.6 mi away
Torre de Gomariz Wine & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Mosteiro Amares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Mosteiro Amares

Property: Pousada Mosteiro Amares
Address: Rua de Santa Maria | Santa Maria do Bouro, Amares 4720-633, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Amares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Mosteiro Amares 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the road from Braga to Geres the Pousada Mosteiro de Amares emerges, Santa Maria do Bouro is a result of the restoration of a twelfth century Cistercian Monastery, one of the more characteristic of this period in Portugal, of a remarkable work by architect Eduardo Souto de Moura, awarded the Pritzker award in 2011, the highest award in the architectural world. This fantastic hotel in Geres, surrounded by stunning gardens, has been extensively restored and adapted for modern times, has been transformed into a temple of peace. The Pousada Mosteiro de Amares is located mere minutes from the National Park of Peneda Geres, where you can enjoy the experience of a lifetime immersed in the stunning environment. The Pousada is only a few kilometres from the city of Braga, one of the focal religious points in Portugal, known for its baroque churches, splendid eighteenth century houses and elaborate parks and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pousada Mosteiro Amares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Amares - Santa Maria Do Bouro Hotel Amares
Pousada De Hotel Amares

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing