We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Pousada” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada Barao de Forrester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada Barao de Forrester
Ranked #1 of 6 Alijo B&B and Inns
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming Pousada”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

A charming Pousada overlooking a beautiful pool and courtyard area. Staff in restaurant was excellent. Only draw back - downtown, next to children's playground. Otherwise great!

Room Tip: Happy to have twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Pousada Barao de Forrester, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Customer, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada de Alijó.
It is with a satisfaction that we acknowledge the positive general feedback regarding our Pousada and in particular of the team of Restaurant. It is reassuring to know that our endeavor to create memorable moments is successful.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future.
Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    34
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
59
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

In our cycling trip of the Douro River Valley one of my dreams and goals was to stay in a Portuguese Pousada. I must admit that I was slightly disappointed with the Pousada do Barao de Forrester...our room was small, overlooked the parking lot, our bathroom was difficult to manage (you had to move the mirror to look out the window, the doorstop in front of the toilet resulted in several stubbed toes and the tub was difficult to step in and out of). The rooms were very clean, but sparse and lacked anything 'special.' I was also surprised not to be able to find any historical information in the room about the Pousada. However...in looking at the positives...
1. The bar service was a pure delight. The bartender recommended that we try the house special...a mix of muscatel, tonic and lime...this drink was so refreshing and fantastic that it prompted us to order another round (and then even a third round I recall!).
2. Lunch in the dining room...we had the pre-fixe menu...fantastic. I don't recall the names of the dishes, but the first dish with sausage, egg and spinach (one of the 7 gastronomic wonders of Portugal) was a delight to behold and delicious. Same with the second course of a wild boar stew. The service was fantastic.
3. We spent an evening sitting outside on the small veranda above the pool. The wait/bar staff were SO very accommodating and brought us appetizers, cheese, assortments of dried meats...and picked some great red wines for us to enjoy!
4. The pool was clean and it was very refreshing. Nice to be able to sit around it and catch some sun!

There is very little to see or do within the town....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

I have just returned from a few days visit to the north of Portugal. i particularly chose to spend a couple of nights at the Pousada do Barao de Forrester as I wanted to combine touring with the chance to play some tennis. It was obvious on arrival that the tennis court was unusable as the condition was (in the words of the receptionist) "awful". I was also very disappointed with the pool area as it is bordered on one side by a huge construction site and on the other by a public play park complete with graffiti. The pool facilities are sadly lacking with only 6 sun beds although I counted 16 people around the pool. I immediately asked to be released from the second night of my booking but after a lot of negotiation, was told that the only way I could cancel without forfeit was to pay the highest rack rate for the first night. I agreed as quite frankly by that time I would have paid anything to leave this hotel! Having paid 180 euros to stay in this very mediocre hotel, (even internet costs extra) I will surely be avoiding the Pousada/Pestana group in future!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kjp_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Barao de Forrester, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Pousada de Alijó and for your feedback on the exterior common areas and cost per night.
We are very sorry for not being able to meet your expectations and we truly apologize for the inconveniences you have been through during your stay.
The swimming pool of the Pousada is well maintained but there are public areas around, which are not in our control.
We will remove mentions to the tennis court on our web pages and we are also improving the internal procedures to have an adequate internet service in the Pousadas.
Every Pousada or Pestana Hotel has its own characteristics and we are sure you’ll find some that please you. We know we would be delighted to welcome you again and we hope you’ll reconsider staying at Pousadas de Portugal,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Helpfull staff Very clean good parking Town is a dump Restaurant dont order codfish tower.. How a chef cook. can make a fish so tough and place it on a tower of greens is a miracle. colin devon.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank colinbakeroak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Barao de Forrester, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for the nice comments regarding the staff performance, the cleanness and the parking of the Pousada.
We truly apologize for the inconvenience of the dinner served. The Codfish Tower is a very imaginative and modern dish, usually with great acceptance.
We appreciate that you made us aware of this situation, so it won’t happen again.
As Alijó is located on Douro Wine Region, this Pousada is great to know more about wine production, visiting “quintas”, and to take cruises on the Douro River.
Hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

If you want to see the Douro Valley this is a great spot for an overnight stay..not the most modern Pousada but really comfortable with a really nice helpful staff & an excellent dining room...worth the excursion to see this area

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlipof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce management at Pousada Barao de Forrester, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind comments about Pousada Barão de Forrester and for taking the time to share your experience.
We are delighted to hear that the Pousada was well located for guests visiting the Douro region and that you found our staff very helpful and also enjoyed your meals in the Restaurant.
We will be delighted to welcome you again on Pousadas de Portugal.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

Hotel is a very nice Pousada de Portugal...however it was fully refurbished in 1996 and thats a long time ago and it tells. If you are stopping by on the way to the east of the country..then its good..but if you are staying there because you are visiting the Douro region, than stay elsewhere. The garden is not well kept, bathrooms are spacious but feeling old... Dinner was not bad...but wasnt great either. All in all...the Vintage House is near by and much more worth the money!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CKH0026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce management at Pousada Barao de Forrester, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Dear Customer, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousadas de Portugal. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better! We hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

I spent one night here, and had a very pleasant room with a balcony overlooking the pool. The receptionist was very helpful and welcoming, and all the staff encountered were equally professional. The food in the restaurant, on a fixed price menu with a reasonable amount of choice, was excellent and the wine list good. The waiter was helpful about the wines. My only quibble was the breakfast, which was pretty average.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shula13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alijo
6.9 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
5.1 mi away
Casa das Pipas
Casa das Pipas
#1 of 2 in Sabrosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
9.3 mi away
Quinta do Pego
Quinta do Pego
#1 of 1 in Valenca Do Douro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
LBV House Hotel
LBV House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pinhao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Casa do Tua
Hotel Casa do Tua
#1 of 1 in Foz Tua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
7.6 mi away
Quinta de la Rosa
Quinta de la Rosa
#1 of 2 in Pinhao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Barao de Forrester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Barao de Forrester

Property: Pousada Barao de Forrester
Address: Rua Comendador Jose Rufino, Alijo 5070-031, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Vila Real District > Alijo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Alijo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Barao de Forrester 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alijo Pousada is in the heart of the Douro Wine Region, in the village of Alijo. Rooms have cable TV and are air conditioned. The Pousada has its own restaurant and bar for guests who choose to dine in. Guests can enjoy many activities while staying at Alijo Pousada, such as taking a cruise on the Douro River, canoeing, fishing, hiking or visiting the many local vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Pousada Barao de Forrester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing