We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“misleading promise of facilities! overpriced! very disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pousada Barao de Forrester
Ranked #1 of 7 Alijo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I have just returned from a few days visit to the north of Portugal. i particularly chose to spend a couple of nights at the Pousada do Barao de Forrester as I wanted to combine touring with the chance to play some tennis. It was obvious on arrival that the tennis court was unusable as the condition was (in the words of the receptionist) "awful". I was also very disappointed with the pool area as it is bordered on one side by a huge construction site and on the other by a public play park complete with graffiti. The pool facilities are sadly lacking with only 6 sun beds although I counted 16 people around the pool. I immediately asked to be released from the second night of my booking but after a lot of negotiation, was told that the only way I could cancel without forfeit was to pay the highest rack rate for the first night. I agreed as quite frankly by that time I would have paid anything to leave this hotel! Having paid 180 euros to stay in this very mediocre hotel, (even internet costs extra) I will surely be avoiding the Pousada/Pestana group in future!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank kjp_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Barao de Forrester, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Pousada de Alijó and for your feedback on the exterior common areas and cost per night.
We are very sorry for not being able to meet your expectations and we truly apologize for the inconveniences you have been through during your stay.
The swimming pool of the Pousada is well maintained but there are public areas around, which are not in our control.
We will remove mentions to the tennis court on our web pages and we are also improving the internal procedures to have an adequate internet service in the Pousadas.
Every Pousada or Pestana Hotel has its own characteristics and we are sure you’ll find some that please you. We know we would be delighted to welcome you again and we hope you’ll reconsider staying at Pousadas de Portugal,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Barao de Forrester
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 105 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

Helpfull staff Very clean good parking Town is a dump Restaurant dont order codfish tower.. How a chef cook. can make a fish so tough and place it on a tower of greens is a miracle. colin devon.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank colinbakeroak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Barao de Forrester, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for the nice comments regarding the staff performance, the cleanness and the parking of the Pousada.
We truly apologize for the inconvenience of the dinner served. The Codfish Tower is a very imaginative and modern dish, usually with great acceptance.
We appreciate that you made us aware of this situation, so it won’t happen again.
As Alijó is located on Douro Wine Region, this Pousada is great to know more about wine production, visiting “quintas”, and to take cruises on the Douro River.
Hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

If you want to see the Douro Valley this is a great spot for an overnight stay..not the most modern Pousada but really comfortable with a really nice helpful staff & an excellent dining room...worth the excursion to see this area

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlipof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce management at Pousada Barao de Forrester, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind comments about Pousada Barão de Forrester and for taking the time to share your experience.
We are delighted to hear that the Pousada was well located for guests visiting the Douro region and that you found our staff very helpful and also enjoyed your meals in the Restaurant.
We will be delighted to welcome you again on Pousadas de Portugal.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Hotel is a very nice Pousada de Portugal...however it was fully refurbished in 1996 and thats a long time ago and it tells. If you are stopping by on the way to the east of the country..then its good..but if you are staying there because you are visiting the Douro region, than stay elsewhere. The garden is not well kept, bathrooms are spacious but feeling old... Dinner was not bad...but wasnt great either. All in all...the Vintage House is near by and much more worth the money!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKH0026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce management at Pousada Barao de Forrester, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2011

Dear Customer, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousadas de Portugal. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better! We hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

I spent one night here, and had a very pleasant room with a balcony overlooking the pool. The receptionist was very helpful and welcoming, and all the staff encountered were equally professional. The food in the restaurant, on a fixed price menu with a reasonable amount of choice, was excellent and the wine list good. The waiter was helpful about the wines. My only quibble was the breakfast, which was pretty average.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shula13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Very friendly. Inclusive dinner menu at euro 20 terrfic value. House wine good. Be choosy on room allocated to get decent views.
We had the 5 day Pousada deal £362 for 5 nights double b and b and managed 1 day extension at Belmonte for £75 double B and B.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Blakeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

A 3 day stay in August was very successful. The hotel is small, part of the Posada chain where we stayed as part of the Pousada '5 night passport' giving very good value. Notable features were very friendly staff - George greeted us with his home made lemonade on a very hot day and looked after us in the restaurant and snacks by the pool. Susan at reception very helpful with excursion ideas. Restaurant had a very good offer of a full dinner for 20€ much cheaper than a la carte prices. Pool small but adequate. Only 2 downsides - no internet yet and their tennis court is advertised as a facility but is too run down to use. However, this Pousada was miles better than their new flagship Pousada in Oporto.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveAndKate31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alijo
6.9 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
5.1 mi away
Casa das Pipas
Casa das Pipas
#1 of 2 in Sabrosa
118 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Casa do Tua
Hotel Casa do Tua
#1 of 1 in Foz Tua
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Quinta do Pego
Quinta do Pego
#1 of 1 in Valenca Do Douro
277 reviews
7.6 mi away
Quinta de la Rosa
Quinta de la Rosa
#1 of 2 in Pinhao
419 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Quinta do Silval
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Barao de Forrester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Barao de Forrester

Address: Rua Comendador Jose Rufino, Alijo 5070-031, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Vila Real District > Alijo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Alijo
Price Range: $140 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Barao de Forrester 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alijo Pousada is in the heart of the Douro Wine Region, in the village of Alijo. Rooms have cable TV and are air conditioned. The Pousada has its own restaurant and bar for guests who choose to dine in. Guests can enjoy many activities while staying at Alijo Pousada, such as taking a cruise on the Douro River, canoeing, fishing, hiking or visiting the many local vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Barao de Forrester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing