We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning vista!”
Review of Pousada Canicada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pousada Canicada
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canicada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Northern Portugal is beautiful. Geres is in an outstanding natural area. The view from anywhere the Pousada hotel property is breathtaking! This is indeed a charming hotel. A very peaceful area to relax and feel as part of nature. The weather was perfect allowing us to leave our window open all night. The food was wonderful. Everything about the hotel is 5 stars.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABDCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_SBento, Gerente at Pousada Canicada, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your preference for Pousadas de Portugal, and in this case, the Pousada de S. Benedict - Caniçada.
It is with great satisfaction that we note that our services meet the expectations. We hope to return to rely on their presence in the near future. With our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 342 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

This Pousada is in line with many others but the position on the mountain makes the experience incredible. We would thoroughly recommend a visit as part of a tour. The roads from Porto and Braga were really good so OK for the hire car tourist. Make sure you have an upgraded room (not a standard) so that you have the view from your balcony, it's worthy the extra. The restaurant serves the usual Portugese traditional menue so be sure to ask for a description of each dish to avoid surprises. The wines list is excellent if a little pricey. The staff are lovely, hey Anna Maria!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Canny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_SBento, Gerente at Pousada Canicada, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Customer, thank you for your preference. We are very happy you enjoyed the hotel and the service in general. Until the next visit! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The strongest point of this hotel is the view from its mountain over a huge mountainlake surrounded by villages. Receptionstaff is very kind and helpfull. Rooms are large and do have everything that comes with the price. Due to the fact there is a strong relation between Portugese Pousada's and the government it is stronly advised to the management to check (and train them) that ALL front-office staff speaks English and/or French. It was realy a shame to notice that some waiters in the international restaurant only speak Portugese which did lead to some unpleasant misunderstandings. This is not good if you consider that Portugal is a member of the EU.

Peter Quint.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterquint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_SBento, Gerente at Pousada Canicada, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear customer,
First of all we would like to thank your visit and time spent to make these comments.
It is with satisfaction that we note the favorable opinion of the service. We note, however, what happened with you at our restaurant and we inform you that we will try to improve that in the future this will not happen again. Hope to see you again one day. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in July 2012 and I was blown away by the staff, character and overall atmosphere of this place. The view from the terrace in our room was almost overwhelming. The room was very comfortable and a dive in the pool was the perfect way to end the afternoon. The staff was all very polite and friendly. I wish I could have stayed the whole week, it seems like the most relaxing place on earth.
Also I love that they managed to keep updated but preserve the nice 70s vibe/moutain lodge lok.
We had dinner at the restaurant and it was amazing to be able to eat outside watching the mountains and the river. The food was great too, just a bit overpriced, but understandable considering that it is so hard to get there.

Room Tip: Pick one with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meninaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

It is a really a very beautiful, quiet place if you want to enyoy nature at his best.
We had no luck with the weather: it rained the hole day. One day we return and hope that the sun will shine.

Room Tip: If you arrive in time you can profit of this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_SBento, Gerente at Pousada Canicada, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Dear Customer, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada do Gerês and for taking the time to post this review. We certainly enjoyed reading your review and would like to thank you for your evaluation. We hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future. Best Regards. The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Unforgettable breathtaking views, a relaxing atmosphere, stunning rooms and a friendly reception service is all you need to be charmed by this Pousada..

P.S
Be prepared for a slightly over-priced drinks, food, and other services - which is completely understandable considering the location.
However for the student travellers like us, I'd suggest to get your supper in a supermarket in advance ;)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ours-mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_SBento, Gerente at Pousada Canicada, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are glad you have enjoyed the overall stay.
The staff wants to thank you for having so much consideration for their work.
Thank you very much for your thoughtful review that prospective guests will certainly find helpful
We would be delighted to welcome you again. Until then, kind regards - The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were so glad we decided to stay here.The views are amazing and the staff so pleasant and helpful.We decided to dine in the restaurant both nights as we didn't fancy the winding roads at night.The food was very good and the service excellent. Added excitement of sitting on the terrace with a drink watching the helicopters dropping water on a forest fire, on the next ridge. Fortunately they were able to put it out but I fear for the summer as there has been so little rain.
Such beautiful scenery, a shame to see it spoilt.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HollyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canicada
4.5 mi away
Pousada Mosteiro Amares
5.7 mi away
Aguas do Geres - Hotel, Termas & Spa
16.4 mi away
Tempus Hotel & Spa
Tempus Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Ponte da Barca
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Sao Bento
Hotel Sao Bento
#1 of 1 in Rio Caldo
101 reviews
5.6 mi away
Moderna do Geres Hotel
5.7 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#3 of 3 in Geres
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Canicada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Canicada

Address: Av. da Canicada no 1518 | Peneda - Geres National Park, Canicada 4850-054, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Canicada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canicada
Price Range: $84 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Canicada 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Caniçada-Gerês is located near the incredible Peneda-Gerês National Park, the only area in Portugal classified as a National Park. The Pousada is located in a gorgeous mountain chalet, sitting high in the mountains between forests, translucent waterfalls and unforgettable scenery. It is a vista point over the Cançada Dam, in the middle of the Rio Cávado. During your stay, you will be able to relax in our various common rooms, take a dip in the outdoor swimming pool and enjoy a meal at the restaurant with panoramic views and an esplanade. All of the rooms are climate controlled and have free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Canicada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Sao Bento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing