We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A week in the clouds.”
other travelers have booked this property
Beautiful cottage...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful cottage...
Blooming stairs...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Beautiful cottage...
Blooming stairs...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Santo da Serra, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Michael F
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A week in the clouds.”
Reviewed May 20, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Our stay was badly affected by the weather. We know Madeira is a windy island but we suffered some extraordinary winds. Also I didn't realize that the house was on one of the highest points in this part of the island, the consequence was that almost every evening the clouds descended to envelop the house.
Luckily there was an endless supply of logs for the wood-burner.
A week without TV or internet was good for us, so good place to detox!
The house is isolated so don't think you can stole down to the shops, you need transport.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2018
Hello dear friends,
Yes, as said in the page, the house is located 700meters high, right in front of the main Golf Course in Madeira in a very charismatic small country village called Santo Antonio da Serra. Not always but indeed we had great stormy winds during that week, even with the airport closed for an endless period. This made thousands of people staying or not arriving to the Island as planned.
But as you mention, even though the apartments are very comfortable with the fire place and endless logs for your comfort.
And just a few meters ahead you are at the center of the village where you can find your groceries and staffs... not big shopping centers, for sure, this is more like country life but with great and easy accesses to any part of the Island...
And yes, we recommend a car and less than 5 minutes you can be at the village and only 8kmts away from Machico or Santa Cruz.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma H
1 review
“The place to come down after a long day discovering Madeira!”
Reviewed March 2, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We always have loved to return to this little quiet place after a long day of hiking, sightseeing and isle discovering. Madeira is so unique and gorgeous: We definitely want to come back when the island shows its full bloom splendor! But even in the "winter times" Madeira ist just beautiful! We were the only lodger at their house. So it was super quiete and private. Also the apartment looks exactly like the pictures. It has the perfect size for comfortable holidays without much frills. You definitely need a car to reach the place. Otherwise its difficult to get there (also you would miss a lot of nice places in Madeira!). During our stay the weather was always bad (windy, stormy and rainy) at this places. But as soon as you leave the house 500m downhill, there was sunshine. Probably in summer/spring times you will not have this weird "phenomenon". ;) However, there is only a small wood stove, which unfortunately does not warm the entire apartment. But this might be not a problem in summer. Helena and Roberto were very helpful and hospitable. Check-in and Check out worked super easy. This apartment is definitely an accommodation for those who do not need much and just looking for a quiet place to read and relax in the evening.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2018
So sorry you were at the Island during a stormy week which was all over Madeira and lasted more than usually canceling dozens of flights from/to Madeira. As can be read through the other reviews, our place is very cozy and comfortable and the fire place works really well making it very warm but for sure you must be familiar with this kind of natural heating. We provide all the logs for your entire stay.
Thank you for your preference and hope to have you back one day, meanwhile wish you all the best for the future.
Thank you so much, Be Happy and keep safe.
Helena and Roberto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A stay in a green and relaxing atmosphere Madeira”
Reviewed March 2, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have spend a wonderful stay in this island and we were lucky because the weather was changing every kilometers. Practically it allowed us to do hikking and sunbathing.
Helena and Roberto's apartment was very cosy and convenient to visit the island. We were found of the fireplace! They were helpful and warm host and we really felt like home.

We are looking forward to coming back!

We highly recommand you this location if you want a nice and relaxing stay in a green and cosy atmosphere!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henriette...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect escape from touristy overloads”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The hosts were very friendly and attentive towards our needs so that we felt very welcome. The apartment was nicely prepared with little snacks and fresh fruits waiting for us at our arrival. We missed nothing regarding the equipment. The little fireside was great for relaxed evenings even if the weather outside was sometimes rough which was also because of the location of the apartment situated rather solitary at higher altitude. But on account of this we were lucky to have breakfast in the sun above the clouds on the little balcony on some mornings!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2017
We loved having you with us and so sorry about the stormy week. Happy that inside the apartment everything was great for you and thank you so much for the way you looked after it.
Hope to have you back again, warmest regards from Madeira,
Helena and Roberto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
Dear Laura,

We are so happy to read your review.
Thank you so much for this detailed description, for sure it will help other guests. Located up in the mountains right in front of the golf Course, the weather may be tricky but our place is prepared for that.
Hope to welcome you back again and thank you so much for your preference.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vanessa S
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect choice for Madeira Outdoor fans”
Reviewed November 18, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I can completely recommend this cozy flat! The situation of the house is perfect for those visitors having a car available. It is situated close to the small town Santo da Serra (ca 2 km) where you will find good restaurants, supermarkets and a very nice marked on sundays.
The house is situated on the top of a hill beside an artificial lake. As it is almost the only house there, you will have a peaceful, quiet place just on your own.
The flat is equipped with everything needed and so many nice details where you can feel the warmth and hospitality of the owners Roberto and Helena. Both are really nice, welcoming people who completely respect your privacy during the stay.
As I stayed there during November where the weather changes a lot and is windy almost every night, the fireplace in the flat was perfect.

In summary, this cottage is a perfect choice for those travellers who want to avoid the touristic regions on the south cost of Madeira and who prefer a quiet, nice place in the middle of Madeiras beautiful nature. For me it felt like home on the first day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation of the flat, fireplace
Liked least: the bed is a bit small and short
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed February 14, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the wonderful host, who make you feeling welcome, the nice interieur
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing