We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Madeira”
Review of Casas Valleparaizo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casas Valleparaizo
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very comfortable cottage and made to feel welcome by both Leonor and Sofia. Not far from Funchal. Very tranquil and private. The perfect place to relax. Peacocks and chickens in the beautiful garden were an extra bonus!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 79 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

A lovely place at a central place! Close to Funchal, airport and the mountains. A little casa with privacy and a nice garden, good service, an open fire, really a dream! We enjoyed it very much and hope to come back in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in Casa Eira, the smallest casa. Not big, but cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

For the second time we had a wonderful holiday on the island Madeira in Casas Valleparaizo. The mountain lodges are wonderful situated in a beautiful and quiet botanic garden. Lovely casas to come back after a day walking or a visit to busy Funchal (20 min. by rental car). The welcome by Sofia and Leonora is warm and the care of both is excellent during the holiday. Definitely a place to go or to come back because the island is beautiful.
Greetings Eric and Yvonne, Netherlands
may 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voeten v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have stayed here for a week in January 2013 and have had a wonderful time. Very friendly personnel, beautiful and quiet surroundings full of flowers, away from mass tourism, excellent hiking opportunities (even a trail running directly from the estate), only 10 or 15 minutes by car to the capital. The cottages have basic but clean and cosy interiors, a nice break from standard holiday homes. The only disadvantage of staying here in winter is that it is uphill and therefore a bit colder and sometimes more cloudy than at the coast. Just bring some extra clothing and enjoy the fireplace inside! This is a number one place to wind down and relax.

Room Tip: Each cottage has its charme, they are all very nicely located on the estate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

In the first week of March we rented the beautiful cottage 'Palheirinho' from Casas Valleparaizo. Manager Sofia, housekeeper Leonor and the other staff make you feel welcome. Situated in a botanical garden that is well kept and quiet. Walk 5 mins higher up hill and you'll get a sea view! Recommended!

Room Tip: Casa Palheirinho fits two persons: recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillemvanSchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Casa da Eira on the estate of Casas Valleparaízo, Camacha, Madeira was exactly as described and absolutely charming. Set in wonderful grounds with apparently 7 other cottages (couldn't find them all!)and teeming with collected plant specimens it was peaceful, beautiful and a total getaway. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble for either Sophie or Leonor.

The cottage was small and basic but clean, tidy and perfectly adequate. There is no TV or wireless and it was lovely to have peace in the evening and sit by the fire and read and play games. The fire was a bit smokey until burning hot and there is plenty of wood available. Hot water and clean towels were abundant too.

The kitchen has no oven but there is a grill and microwave plus a couple of cooking rings. As we ate out half the time this was fine and there is a supermarket not far away and they delivered bread for breakfast every morning.

It is extremely hilly so flat shoes and a car rental are a good idea. I would go back and next time take a decent camera to capture the wildlife. The lizards are a delight and the peacocks splendid.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnoopyTheBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very near to Funchal (however you need a car in any case) this place called "paradise valley" is really a beautiful place! Surrounded by a huge garden you will find various small and medium houses; just check out the homepage of Casas Valleparaizo. We enjoyed our breakfast (quite often outside in the sun; it was December!) in a relaxed and easy going atmosphere. Because at night it was a bit chilly the rooms had electric radiators, in the living room we had an open fire. Friendly service, clean rooms and a good equiped kitchen. A perfect place for us to discover the island with all its beauty.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VHa1190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camacha
4.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
942 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#4 of 13 in Canico
487 reviews
5 mi away
Pestana Palms
Pestana Palms
#16 of 88 in Funchal
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,031 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
9.4 mi away
Casa Das Proteas
Casa Das Proteas
#1 of 3 in Arco de Sao Jorge
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casas Valleparaizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas Valleparaizo

Address: Estrada Regional 102 161 | Vale Paraiso, Camacha, Madeira 9135-060, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Camacha
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Camacha
Price Range: $79 - $1,594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casas Valleparaizo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casas Valleparaizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casas Valleparaizo Camacha, Madeira, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing