We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the laurel skewers”
Review of Vila Da Carne

Vila Da Carne
Reserve with
Vila Da Carne is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $23
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Don't miss the laurel skewers”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Traditionally the espetada (skewered meat) was prepared using a real wooden skewer cut from a Madeiran laurel tree. They were a protected species for a while and many restaurants went for boring modern skewers. This restaurant maintains the traditional style and you're rewarded with magnificent flavour.

I've never seen this restaurant busy. They will collect you and return you to your hotel. You have marvellous views over Camara de Lobos especially at night. The staff are charming and the food lovely. But it's still very quiet. Not complaining but it is a mystery.

Just one point, we usually have tap water but here it tasted so much like a swimming pool that we sent it back and bought the bottled!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    92
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good, but not as good as sister Peixe - sorry!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Ate here twice during 2 week holiday, Used mini bus once from Funchal - excellent service. Speciality obvoiusly skewered meat, with 'hangers' set at each table in preparation. I personally wasn't over struck by the steak - it was OK but not outstanding, but the pork and bacon combo I had the secoind time was delicious. Their sides weren't as good as Peixe - tomato and onion salad was raw, and even potaoes lacked a little something - I think the rolling in salt. Their fried maize was delightful however - I'm a convert, and the passion fruit mousse was tasty light but huge! Would visit agin no problem.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank broomsticklady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb Views of Camara De Lobos”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We ate a lot of beef in Madeira but this was some of the best we ate. We got the filet on laurel branches and I highly recommend this option. The waiter was super attentive and very helpful. The sides are bit blah but decent. The view alone is worth the meal. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great views, wonderful service, and appetizing food”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Visiting in the slow season (late November), the restaurant was not crowded; we were actually the only table - guests were at the adjoining Vila de piexe. Our host was also server, bartender, and cook. We were provided starters, the menu was discussed with espatada, and reviewed different wines to pair with the menu.
Two skewers of meat were plenty for the two of us. They were served at different times (we were told this while ordering so one wouldn't get cold while we ate the other). Dessert option included multiple flavors of mousse.
Using the restaurants' shuttle service from our Funchal hotel saved a few coins on the taxi...their driver was prompt and courteous, and vehicle clean.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ktkadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly restaurant, great view, amazing food.”
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Order the fillet beef skewers. Meat was so tender and served in an interesting way! Children happily ate everything. Ordered chicken, pork and fillet skewers with veg, sweet potatoes and molasses and yummy oregano fries. All cooked over wood ember fire. Highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovely71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vila Da Carne also viewed

Camara De Lobos, Madeira
 
Funchal, Madeira
Camara De Lobos, Madeira
 

Been to Vila Da Carne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing