We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Restaurante

Coral Restaurante
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow
Level Contributor
220 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We've been coming here for years - don't know why I haven't reviewed it before! The outdoor setting is great, looking over the sea and Cabo Girao cliffs. There are indoor tables, but the majority are outside and it always seems to be sunny in Camara de Lobos....
Every day there's a catch-of-the-day fish offer - obviously very fresh and looking delicious. But it's a full meal (with chips etc) and perhaps a bit much for lunch. In any case, it's hard to see past the fish soup, probably the best on the island. Octopus and squid are tender and delicious, and come in starter sizes which are generous.
Service is efficient and pleasant. Sometimes it can get crowded with groups from cruise ships, but it's popular with locals too, and always possible to get a table. Walk back to the outskirts of Funchal (Praia Formosa) if you think you've had too much garlic bread!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank G_M_NGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    76
    33
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good location and fresh food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This restaurant is well situated and very popular with locals. It is near to the church which is well worth a visit and is sited in a square that forms the end of a promenade that begins near the Regency Palace in Funchal. Therefore this place is a good terminus for walkers and one can get taxis easily as well as public transport

The food and service were good. yes they bought us garlic bread but that seems to be the usual thing here. It wasn't expensive as an item. The overall value was good and the fish was fresh and tasty

A good place to eat before catching a bus back into Funchal

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DPALTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, UK
Level Contributor
244 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“It’s those little things they get wrong”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

The location is great and there are lovely views, service was prompt and friendly.
Then things started to go wrong. They brought us and charged us for garlic bread which we had not ordered. Yes we could have returned it, but I didn’t want to start trouble.
The food was just OK. Chicken, we’ve had better flavour. Chips disappointing, not crisp, and the potatoes lacked flavour.
They were kind enough to give us a complimentary drink at the end of our meal. Oh dear, it tasted like sickly sweet cough medicine! We didn’t bother to finish it.
We won’t be going back. Shame, the view from the outside tables is great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HeatSeekerWrexham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good fish, friendly waiters !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Good fish, friendly waiters !! We had the daily fish called papagau, very tasty grilled ! Good price, good location ! We would come back here !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brechtje-Martijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Martins, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shocking!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Of all the restaurants that we have eaten at in our Madeiran holiday this was by far the worst. We should have known that this would not go well when we were served by a one-armed waiter (remember the one armed Irish dishwasher in "Robin's Nest" back in the 1970s?). The kitchen staff got my order wrong, my wife and her friend's fish was tasteless and my friend Jon's steak was served with reheated vegetables (which by the look of them were probably tinned). Avoid at all costs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coral Restaurante also viewed

Camara De Lobos, Madeira
 
Camara De Lobos, Madeira
Camara De Lobos, Madeira
 
Camara De Lobos, Madeira
 

Been to Coral Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing