We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Cabo Girao
from $8.40
More Info
from $29.00
More Info
from $52.30
More Info
from $40.70
More Info
Reviews (5,250)
Filter reviews
1,885 results
Traveler rating
1,084
634
135
21
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,084
634
135
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass platform the cliff viewing platform highest sea cliff in europe glass bottomed souvenir shops yellow bus above sea level sheer drop amazing views afraid of heights worth a visit fishing village hire car well worth the trip viewpoint skywalk
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,885 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Very odd to be standing on a glass panel over the cliff, especially when one of the panels is cracked!!

Thank soniacox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

If you don't like heights then stay away from the edge of the viewing platform! This is a seriously high place to be but the vistas of the coastline and down to Camara de Lobos are wonderful. There is a gift shop and café as you would expect. You can get here and back to Funchal by taxi but we enjoyed the inexpensive bus ride back after a walk along the Levada do Norte. Toilet visits cost 50 cents but you do get a receipt!

Thank robpenarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Visited the viewing platform at Cabo Girao recently. There were no crowds when we were there in mid-morning. I must say I was slightly under-whelmed by the experience. The glass floor was rather 'cloudy' and well-scuffed by so many visitors. The best view was out to sea, but then you could stand at the cliff edge and take that in..

Thank tourister10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Fantastic place to visit, but you do need a good head for height, as it is the 2nd highest sea cliff in Europe! Wonderful for sunrises and sunsets. Ok for sensible teens but avoid if not!

Thank tjkmBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Absolutely gorgeous views especially on a clear day .There is a lovely coffee and gift shop near by too. Recommended for wheelchair users too.

Thank 466biankab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you haven't got a head for heights this is not the place to visit. The highest cliffs in Europe and a glass floor to walk over a drop of nearly 7,000ft.

Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing panoramic view of hills being 580 Meters above sea level. Quite popular and crowdy, what doesn't help if you you are scared about robutness of the platform but it gives a very nice view of that part of the sea cost. Not easy to reach via tortuous, hilly and small roads.

Thank Bemaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Didn't find it too impressive. The media online and in print form makes it look a big area but found it to be really quite small & crowded. Very busy. Perhaps it would have been more enjoyable at a quieter time but it wasn't what I expected. The views, of course were great but there are many areas on the island with stunning views that don't get as much attention.

Thank Alderado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had to take two trips up to the Cabo Girao. No good on a cloudy day.
Great views with the added attraction of a glass walkway and its free!
We took the Yellow Bus up to the top. That was a experience in itself. I can't see our Whippet and National Express buses doing the same journey!

Thank LezliC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

during a weeks stay in Madeira we did three tours and were taken to much better view points than this.I think because of the glass floor it is hyped up .It left me wondering why we had come ? it was also so busy you could hardly stop for photos or a good look .If I were you I wouldn't bother with this view point but go to some other view points less fuss more beauty.

Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews