We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a tranquil setting”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Beautiful sunset
Patio for sunbathing
Wonderful sunset
Stunning view.
Traditional and familiar decor.
Equipped kitchen to cook your meals.
Living room in traditional style
Bedroom with bathroom
Bedroom with bathroom
Bedroom wc
Bedroom with bathroom and balcony
Bedroom with bathroom and balcony
Bedroom wc
Balcony of the bedroom
Beautiful flowers.
Levada walking in Madeira is an endless pleasure
You should go to the natural pools of Porto Moniz, are saltwater pools composed of volcanic rocks.
You can visit the lighthouse of Ponta do Pargo. Where can take beautiful photos.
Must visit and take a trip on the cable car of Achadas da Cruz.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ponta do Pargo, Calheta, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
PLR59
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a tranquil setting”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was our second visit to madeira having previously stayed in Funchal, but this time we wanted to be away from the crowds and traffic.

Well, Solar do Pargo was certainly that.

The pictures of the complex do not do it any justice but there were a few niggles.

Showers......they do work but not the surround effect that they look like
Pool......really could do with being heated as freezing cold
Unfortunately previous occupants had broken all the pool side loungers, which really should have been replaced

We were greeted by Jose at Pont do Pargo, exactly the time arranged, we followed him to the villa....no way you would have found it alone.

As we drew up, all we saw was a derelict house, and thought the worse.

BUT, walking down a small walk way, round the bend, you come to the main double doors, though these and Eden has arrived.

No neighbours, no screaming kids, no traffic, just peace and quiet

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom69...
1 review
“Quiet, Rural, Sea view”
Reviewed February 28, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Friendly welcome - included a maderia cake
Fantastic location for quiet beauty and easy access to NW levadas.
Friendly locals.
February is not the best month to take full advantage of the pool, house and viewpoint due to strong winds and chillier climes. But we loved our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2017
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the stay and the home.
It was pity during your stay that the weather was cold ... I hope you come back to visit us, maybe in the summer ...
Best wishes to you and your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It really is as good as it looks !!”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We spent two amazing weeks at this beautiful holiday cottage/house. Yes, it is on the western side of the island, but the rural/quiet surroundings were idyllic for us. The cottage/house has everything to offer - from fixtures and fittings to a peaceful ambience. The views are breathtaking, and there was nothing better than having a mid-evening drink whilst watching the sun go down over the Atlantic ocean, which is sprawled out before you. The pool is quite big, and Sue spent many hours swimming up and down; usually first thing in the morning and late afternoon/early evening.
A car is absolutely necessary though. I drove 1200km in our 2 weeks, visiting everywhere on the island worth seeing. Yes, Funchal is some distance away, but after just 20 minutes on the local road you join the express way .... then it's much faster and direct.
There are several places to eat nearby, but again you'll need your car to get there ... but no more than 5/10 minutes drive.
Bruno and his father were wonderful, and were just on the other end of a phone call if we did need to ask about anything.
Finally, I cannot emphasize enough just how lovely this place ( and the island ) is, but please .... make the most of your stay and get out and about, and especially get up on top of the mountains ... the views are spectacular !!!

Highly recommended !!!

Dave & Sue
P.S.
Just a suggestion - it would've been nice to have had the option of a ' welcome pack ', i.e. milk, coffee, tea, bottle of wine ( to enjoy on arrival ). The large supermarket at Calheta is only 30 minutes drive away, but if you arrive late evening, your shopping trip must wait till the following morning.

Thanks again - we had a wonderful time.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inselfan6...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franky V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing