We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Casa de Cha O Fio

Casa de Cha O Fio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tea House with amazing views over the ocean.
Stratford-on-Avon
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We've hired a car whilst in Madeira as we wanted to see as much of the island as possible........without being tied to organised trips. It's worked very well for us and one of the delights we found was this place! Breathtaking views and plenty of parking spaces so no problems there : ) We only actually popped in for a cup of coffee before setting off back to our hotel at the end of the day. However, the place looked so inviting and the staff SO helpful that we decided to check out the menu. We enjoyed the food and then tried their speciality tea, it was spot on......mint with a bit of lemon and fennel. Please try it if you visit. This place is run by several ladies and it really shows, it's lovely and clean and the loos are a delight! I would certainly suggest you at least pop in for a drink if you're nearby.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sophielouiseemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    115
    19
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Worth the drive for the views”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This restaurant which is run by several ladies is well worth a visit. The staff are very friendly and although we only had a snack were made to feel very welcome. The views from here are fantastic.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iceman123EastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect location for early supper”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Why five stars? Location and service. Stunning views as sun goes down and delightful service. Get there early as in March the kitchen shuts at 7. The food is very good we both had the scabbard fish. I think the herbs, garlic and wine version won out over the version in batter with banana. They do a great herbal tea made with herbs from their garden. In the end it is the view that does it. If you don't believe me read John & Pat Underwood's Walk & Eat Madeira where they have recommended walks with food, unsurprisingly this place gets a big mention along with the recipe for the herbs, garlic and wine sauce!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrStuffy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a tea!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Amazing location on the view point, easy to reach (go for Miradouro in Ponta do Pargo) and park your car. And after or before visit in the restaurant take a walk through the green fields to the light house, even if it is windy - the views are worth it, and you can always get your hot tea in the Casa de Cha!
The fresh leaf tea was amazing - orange leaves gave it wonderfull taste. I think we will get back to try the meals, not only the tea and cake.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ttiaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food in an unmissable location!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Excellent food in an unmissable location

The restaurant is located in Ponta do Pargo at the top of 600 metres cliff. The access and parking is easy. You follow the signs to the viewing point 'Miradouro' and 'Farol' lighthouse. Its the most south west point of Madeira and Portugal where the highest lighthouse in Portugal is!

We ate fish, the famous espada - the black scabbard fish. It was excellent. After our meal we birdwatched and enjoyed one of the famous sunsets.

We will return to this Restaurant and one time will have tea there with cakes!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madeirapaul189166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa de Cha O Fio also viewed

Ponta do Pargo, Calheta
Ponta do Pargo, Calheta
 
Ponta do Pargo, Calheta
 

Been to Casa de Cha O Fio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing