We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real Madeira”
Review of Casa de Cha O Fio

Casa de Cha O Fio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Tea House with amazing views over the ocean.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The real Madeira”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We always visit this quite area and this lovely restaurant/tea house. The views are to die for, the staff are so friendly and the food fresh and tasty especially the veg and salad. Tastes as if just dug up that day and cooked or prepared. Try the Espada in Red Wine. The homemade cake excellent . I recommend the lemon cake.
Maureen West Sussex UK

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    108
    18
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
108 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Views”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Quaint restaurant with gorgeous views. The food is typical of Madeira and served with a smile. Our waitress was super sweet and directed us to what she thought were the best dishes of the day. The food was good but the view was better. Pretty spectacular and worth the drive out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This is it! ...”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The books say this is the one! The reviews here say this is the one! Believe us - this IS the one to visit! ...

Excellent service, nice range of dishes and the view! We went back twice and when we return to Madeira will head straight back to this delightful restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottiesInUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
87 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Breath taking view”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Just came in for coffee and cake. We received a warm welcome from staff, and had excellent coffee and nice cakes.

This tea house is actually in the middle of nowhere.

Best part for us was the location. Magnificent scenery. Breath taking view over the ocean. When driving to or from the tea house, be warned for the small access road. Coaches loaded with tourists will naturally use exactly that same access road, there isn't any space to pass the oncoming traffic.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
“friendly place, great view”
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We visited this tea house a few times during our week on Madeira. It was always nice to sit there, enjoy the view and the peace and quiet (in March). By coincidence (?), everytime we visited, the sun began to shine. They have good sandwiches, homemade cakes and fresh leaves tea from their garden. They also serve lunch and dinner (fish/meat, salad, french fries). The staff was very friendly ("The moment is OK?"). The view is magnificent (the tea house is next to a 'Miradouro') and you can make a stroll to the nearby light house.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank visitorAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa de Cha O Fio also viewed

Ponta do Pargo, Calheta
Ponta do Pargo, Calheta
 
Ponta do Pargo, Calheta
 

Been to Casa de Cha O Fio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing