We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet efficiency, friendly staff and beautiful surroundings made this a holiday I will remember.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2011

I went with my son and daughter-in-law and we all needed a break and a bit of sun after the long, cold winter in Britain. We weren't disappointed - the temperature was pleasantly warm. The style of the hotel is colonial in the public areas and we were happy to chill and read on the big sofas indoors or sit outside and listen to the birdsong at any time of the day - nobody rushed us. The rooms were clean and comfortable and everything worked. The food was good and plentiful and drinks were available all day if you wished. We hired a car so we tended to go out in the afternoons. The roads are winding and steep so be warned! A lot of people caught buses to Funchal and other places so despite the location of the hotel being high in the mountains everything was accessible. It took us about 15 minutes to get from the airport to the hotel. There is a beautiful park next the hotel and the village is small but pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank broadbeanWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 388 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2011

A perfect location if you want to rest in a quiet place and a peaceful scenery.
The room was clean and comfortable. Common parts are decorated with taste (colonial style). The lobby is very pleasant. I appreciated the pool to relax after hiking.
The staff is friendly, most of them speak french.
Food was good in quality and various.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hikingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

we misjudged the weather in maderia end of Jan/Feb- was cloudy and bit cold in the area where this hotel is.Half way up the mountain, unfortunatly the hotel heating system does not seem up to colder temperatures at this time of the year.We asked for extra heater and got a pretty old oil filled portable one.which just took the room to 'tepid'. Others there at the same time also found the bedrooms cold, although they were very clean and well cared for and a decent size. The staff were in the main very helpful, but the bar closed at 10pm every night, and as the hotel had very few guests( I think those in the know stay down in Funshal in winter ), it meant it was very quiet !. Not really any local night life other than locals bars. But there is a lovely local park with fab views next to the hotel, and a good lavarder walk through the other side of the village. the free
Hotel bus only goes to Funchel 3 times a week - you have to ask about this if you want to book a ride. - local buses also go.- we will go back to Maderia we loved it - but sorry not this hotel- it's to far out of the way in the winter especially.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janlaw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

This hotel was a pleasure to stay in, staff were friendly and helpful, clean rooms and decent food. It is situated in a lovely location, excellent for a chilled out holiday only short stroll to local village, and there is a beautiful park next to hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex-Hadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Although we have a house on Madeira, we stayed 2 nights at this hotel for a weekend rest from hosting visitors. As a quiet retreat it suited us perfectly, as expected since we knew the area if not the hotel.
The hotel is high in the hills, probably around 3000 feet, so don't expect the weather or temperature of the coast, especially in the winter months. Having said that, it might easily be quite warm, 20 degrees or more if you are lucky.
Chilly or not, they do have a very nice heated, indoor swimming pool, steam room and hot tub.
On our weekend we reckoned there were probably less than 30 other guests although there are 100 or so rooms, but this was OK.
There is a very large function room on the lower ground floor and plenty of room for spilling over outside, so bear this in mind and ask if there is anything going on there if peace and quiet is important. Similarly, if there is an event at the adjacent golf course it would probably be much busier and noisier.
It is perfect for golfers as the course is top class, probably with prices to match, until recently it hosted the Madeiran Masters on the European Tour. Several of the other guests had played.
It's also good for walkers as there are plenty of routes straight from the hotel.
The village of Santo do Serra is pleasant to stroll around although fairly small. There are not many shops but the small supermarket is well stocked. The church is worth seeing. There is a largish park opposite the hotel with a few animals - deer, horses, birds - and a good viewpoint at the bottom. On Sundays there is a massive market which is popular with Madeirans because of the prices but, to be honest, the quality might not be great. (There seemed to be a lot of foreign traders which is unusual for Madeira).
There are a few bars in the village and a few restaurants around the area but we did not use them.
The nearest town, 5 miles, is Machico, the second largest on Madeira which is well worth seeing, there is a bus service. Funchal, the capital, which you will surely want to visit is maybe 10 miles also with a bus service. However, I would strongly recommend hiring a car so you can easily reach all parts of the island, particularly if you are staying more than a couple of days here.
Our room was fine, everything you need although a few more (English) TV channels would have been nice. It was clean although it had seen better days. There was a nice balcony overlooking a nice garden but it was too wet for us to use. The large twin beds were very comfortable. Best of all, it was incredibly quiet - no noisy guests and no traffic - only the rain woke us up!
The staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful especially in the restaurant.
My wife has a dairy allergy but they cooked special stir-fries for her and even provided a large plate of fresh fruit for dessert.
The evening meal was buffet-style with a choice of two hot dishes, meat or fish,and a vegetarian option wth soup, salads, a selection of desserts and coffee included. Not especially top-class but all perfectly palatable and acceptable.
We had a very pleasant stay and you will too as long as you don't arrive with the wrong expectations ( as two people we met had done, probably due to poor research).

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rufford155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We've been lucky enough to have just come back from our second holiday this year and we couldn't have been happier with what we found at the Do Santo Hotel.
The service was excellent, the hotel was clean with a modern decor and the food was never a let down. With the golf coarse next the hotel I was in paradise, but even if your no Tiger Woods, Funchal is about 10 minutes away by bus and offers shops, restaurants and a buzzing nightlife.
After experiencing what Funchal had to offer by night - one of the main facilities we made full use of was the spa and Turkish bath which was the perfect antidote to a night out.
I would recommend this hotel to families and couples alike and anyone looking to get away from it all wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

We booked this hotel because of its description on the web site - modern and elegant, with the restaurant offering a menu of traditional regional cooking as well as international specialties. Lunch and dinner menus supposedly offered Table D'Hote as well as A La Carte.
The first thing we noticed as we entered was the awful smell of damp. This was evident throughout the hotel. The reception area is pleasant, but the bedrooms are gloomy and have obviously seen better days. They too smelled of damp and the carpet looked distinctly grubby. The paint was flaking around the window, and there were patches of white fluffy mould on the ceiling. We had paid extra for a balcony room, but it was not a pleasant place to sit. The gardens had a neglected air - none of the lovely flowers I expected in Madeira - and the balcony itself was of painted concrete, but the paint was falling off in large chunks, and the rail across the top was rusty.
The next unpleasant surprise was the evening meal. We went to the restaurant and waited to be shown to a table. There were no staff in sight, just a few people helping themselves to a buffet. We waited for about five minutes until a waiter appeared and he just pointed to the tables. We sat at one and again waited because we wanted to order from the menu. There was no menu, just a buffet - some salad, one tray of fish, one tray of meat, some potatoes and cauliflower. I had to go to the bar to order wine. We stayed for a week, and there was a buffet every evening. We tried to eat out as often as possible, but there are very few places locally.
This hotel is obviously having problems. There are very few staff and those that are there have a hard time coping.
We had gone to play golf, and chose the hotel because it has been re named Enotel Golf and states that the golf course is "literally around the corner". It took us three quarters of an hour to walk to the clubhouse! We had to order a courtesy bus from the golf club each time we wanted to play. The club storage facility which they advertise is the cleaners' dirty linen cupboard at the bottom of the stairs, and this was never locked.
I like to be positive when I go to a new place, but it was very difficult to find many good points about this hotel. It is in a quiet area, and most of the guests seemed to appreciate the fact that it was a quiet hotel with no evening entertainment. The pool was very nice, as was the sauna and spa bath.
Don't believe everything that is written on this hotel's web site. It is either very old, or simply not true!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DevonHappytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Antonio da Serra Machico
0.2 mi away
PortoBay Serra Golf
PortoBay Serra Golf
#30 of 154 in Madeira
378 reviews
13.7 mi away
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sao Vicente
196 reviews
17 mi away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#2 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Madeira
Dom Pedro Madeira
#1 of 2 in Machico
888 reviews
8.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
3,010 reviews
9.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Golf Santo da Serra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Golf Santo da Serra

Address: Sitio Dos Casais Proximos, Santo Antonio da Serra Machico, Madeira 9200-160, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Santo Antonio da Serra Machico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santo Antonio da Serra Machico
Price Range: $56 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Enotel Golf Santo da Serra 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Enotel Golf Santo da Serra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Do Santo Hotel
Enotel Golf Santo Da Serra Madeira, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing