We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, just great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estalagem Engenho Velho

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Estalagem Engenho Velho to your Saves list
Estalagem Engenho Velho
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Ledo 21, Arco da Calheta, Calheta, Madeira 9370-073, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arco da Calheta
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great, just great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Great hidden gem for total relaxation! We stayed here for only two nights because the hotel we initially booked was overbooked for this period. When we had to leave it left a bad feeling! The hotel is situated in an oasis of tranquillity which provides ultime destessing. A rental car is essensial. The position on the island is excelent because of the nearby main road and the more rural costal road. Touring the beautifull inland, north or south coast is great from here. The hosts are easygoing and helpfull. The room is neat and spacious with two good beds, a little sofa and a good bathroom with a bath. Airconditioning is availible. The balcony, including ocean view, is great and includes a hangmat. We did't use the little pool because we were too busy exploring the island. The restaurant provides with lots of seafood from which the speciallities are grilled tuna and octopus. Try it! Also meat dishes are availible.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ginsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Very nice, relatively small family-run hotel with friendly and helpful service.

Rooms are very clean and of a comfortable size with good beds.
Also the balcony is spacious enough to accomodate not only a table and two chairs but even a large hammock, and the view of the sea and lots of flowers is great.

We can only agree to several other comments mentioning the delicious food! Fish and seafood plays an important role on the menu, but there are good meat dishes as well and the owners did not hesitate to provide excellent vegetarian options as well.

Having a car at your disposal facilitates a holiday in Madeira. - Engenho Velho is very conveniently located: with easy access to the new coast road, but at the same time absolutely quiet and surrounded mainly by gardens, orchards and a residential neighbourhood.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tapetenwechsler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stayed here a couple of nights as part of a walking holiday. What a surprise ! Management really nice ( let us borrow a fan and mozzie killer). Rooms, pool, and hammock all good. Food is fantastic. Could have stayed there a week and eaten the entire menu!! Special thanks to our waiter (don`t know his name but he lived in UK for a short time) he was absolutely fantastic. The staff were all lovely, and Jimmy the dog, who is a real character. First class place!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeira
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We have stayed at the Engenho Velho a number of times at the weekend and have really enjoyed the hospitality and relaxing surroundings.

It has a beautiful setting with lovely sea views, a swimming pool and great restaurant - definitely recommend the octopus and tuna which is excellent. There is also a really good selection of wines and the house brandy which is worth trying.

Would recommend a stay here to anyone and we will definitely be making a return visit - hopefully soon!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bristol1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arco da Calheta
0.9 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Calheta Beach
Hotel Calheta Beach
#3 of 8 in Calheta
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
3.8 mi away
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
#2 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Atrio
Atrio
#1 of 1 in Estreito da Calheta
5.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
4.4 mi away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#1 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
10.7 mi away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem Engenho Velho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Engenho Velho

Property: Estalagem Engenho Velho
Address: Rua Ledo 21, Arco da Calheta, Calheta, Madeira 9370-073, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Calheta > Arco da Calheta
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arco da Calheta
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estalagem Engenho Velho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Estalagem Engenho Velho Arco Da Calheta, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing