We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A&S August 2013 visit to Kapsaliana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapsaliana Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Adele
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A&S August 2013 visit to Kapsaliana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Kapsaliana is a beautifully restored Cretan hamlet, in the hills behind the coast. The "cottages" are a series of decent sized rooms, mostly with their own terrace or garden. Very quiet, with a lovely garden and pool, it also has a great restaurant cooking delicious local dishes. The bedrooms are simple but stylish, with quality linen. 20 minutes drive into Rethymno for good shopping and nightlife and only 90 minutes from Heraklion airport, Kapsaliana is a gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1949alexs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
144
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Presteigne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I have been going to the Kapsaliana hotel every year for the past four years. We have been twice in May, once mid September and this time in June.
The hotel has not changed at all since we first visited. It's still amazingly quiet and the best place for peace that I know. We stayed in the Altair again which is the room that has a very large patio area overlooking the pool and views of the sea.
The rooms are still clean and very comfortable and the staff there have only your pleasure and comfort in mind and nothing is too much trouble for them. Bridgette and Stelios have remained there since we first started going and its like going back to see friends.
There has been a change around of a few staff and I know that there is a new chef now. However, my only tiny critiscism is that the food in the evenings is sooo boring. I really dont think that its changed since we first started going and there is way too much pork on the menu. A few of the guests that we spoke to at the pool also thought that the menu was tiresome and forced them to look for somewhere else to eat. Don't get me wrong the food that you do receive is well cooked but there are not enough main courses to choose from and even with the specials it does not satisfy. However, the breakfasts are very very good, especially the greek yoghurt and natural grecian honey. I always look forward to going for breakfast.
The bar meals served from 13:00-16:00 are very good and a fare price. They also have a large selection of chilled drinks in the fridges and ice creams and lollies to choose from. All of this is done via honesty and you write what you have consumed during the day from the pool bar and its charged to your bill when you leave.

A warning to couples with toddlers. There are lots of steps and some of the rooms are above other suites. The first floor suites are not child friendly as there are no railings around the patios. Also the pool is very quiet and if your children are prone to crying or make too much noise you may get a few annoyed looks from others using the pool.

Word of warning.....take lots of Mosquito spray and bite cream. June is obviously the time when Mosquitos like to feast. My husband was bitten 28 times on one leg!!! Not suffered ever during May and September. It was probably just bad luck this year, but everyone got bitten.

I will keep going back there year after year. I love it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning and very individual....its a matter of price and taste. Choose a ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVEDINDIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Kapsaliana is a truly magical place. My partner and I have just arrived back from a ten night stay which we both agree is the best holiday we have ever been on. If you are looking for an extremely relaxing break, peace and tranquility, wonderful accommodation, amazing food and great service, this is the hotel for you.

I will try to keep this brief, although it's difficult because there are so many wonderful things to say.

We arrived late at night having foolishly followed our GPS instead of the map and having been rescued by Stelios (he drove out to meet us and take us to the hotel in the middle of the night!) to find that the hotel had prepared some lovely food as we had missed our dinner.

We stayed in Perseus which was very spacious, with an extremely large and comfortable bed, a beautiful bathroom and a lot of character.

The grounds of the hotel are spectacular. The pictures look fantastic, however the place has to be seen to be believed. It's the product of a clear, consistent and quite brilliant vision of the owner. We spoke to the owner on a number of occasions who was extremely warm and welcoming and clearly enjoys the fact that people are so enchanted by the hotel.

The food was some of the best we have ever eaten such that we rarely ventured out to any other restaurants. The breakfasts were fantastic and the chef Vassilis has done amazing things with the lunch, dinner and wine menus. Everything is extremely tasty, fresh, imaginative and worthy of the finest restaurants around. My partner has a gluten intolerance which they were more than prepared to accommodate. If you are staying elsewhere in Rethymnon, we would strongly recommend visiting for a meal. We'd also recommend doing the olive oil tasting with Vassilis.

Every member of staff was brilliant, from the extremely helpful girls on reception to the impeccable service from Stelios. We were made to feel welcome and looked after like never before.

If you are weighing up whether to visit this hotel, just do it, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I decided to spend our anniversary at KV and we are both so glad we did. I won't go into the details of the background to the village, as others have articulated it well but it certainly is the case of the owner's dream being turned into a wonderful reality. This is one rare instance of the website almost understating the beauty of the place. The atmosphere is almost hypnotically calm, all staff are friendly, helpful and professional, the accommodation is brilliant but I will save my final praise for the food; absolutely delicious and to my mind, excellent value.

I'LL BE BACK!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Pegasus. It has a huge terrace and views over the pool and the sea. Because it is fairl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Kapsaliana Village hotel is one the most unique boutique hotels we visited in the last 10 years. great big rooms, with a lot of privacy, peaceful location, nice pool, last but not least exceptional food. A new, young and very talented chef started at the hotel three months ago. He uses the slow food philosophy. Great local ingredients, the Greek kitchen combined with a lot of passion. Cook is (almost) working on Michelin star level!!! Prices of wine and food are in our eyes more than reasonable. We will come back one day!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Objective5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a review just of the restaurant of the hotel - we were staying in a villa just up the lane from the Kapsaliana and came down to the restaurant on a number of occasions when self-catering palled. We found the restaurant and the staff a delight. We were always warmly welcomed and given exceptionally attentive service by Stelios the head waiter. The cuisine is what I take to be 'up market Cretan' rather than rustic Taverna style. Vassilis the chef takes time to come round to diners to talk about his approach ('slow cooking), including the sources of the ingredients he uses and in particular the role of olive oil - about which he is clearly something of both an enthusiast and expert. We appreciated the imaginative way in which vegetables were prepared, the intriguing desserts and the way in which Vassilis incorporates ancient Byzantine styles in some of his dishes. The house wine is also very palatable and all things considered, good value. As other reviewers have said, the setting is marvellous and to dine surrounded by the enfolding hills around this fastidiously restored and extended holiday village is really very memorable. Not cheap, it's true, but at twenty-five quid or thereabouts a head for three courses and wine - and given the quality of the cuisine, the pleasant service and the charming setting - it all struck us as a very fair transaction.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Germain-en-Laye, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have stayed for 4 days in this hotel, and we strongly recommend it.
It's ideally located : many spots are at less than 2 hours (Rethymnon, Heraklion, Chania, Preveli, etc.).
The rooms are very pleasant, and we took a great pleasure just to visit the village/hotel that has been restored with quite a good taste. Wherever you look, it's so beautiful !
The staff members are very kind and helpfull and the restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerome L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adele
8.5 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#4 of 169 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
8.5 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 169 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
36.0 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#5 of 112 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.8 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#4 of 14 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
36.2 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 112 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
8.6 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 169 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapsaliana Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapsaliana Village Hotel

Property: Kapsaliana Village Hotel
Address: Adele, Crete 74100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Adele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Adele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kapsaliana Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the Historic Hotels of Europe, Kapsaliana Village Hotel in Crete offers accommodation profoundly different from any other in the Mediterranean. A holiday experience in a village which has been fully restored with high respect to the history and architecture of this land. Kapsaliana was part of the Arkadi Monastery. The story of the settlement starts in 1600 with the construction of the church, and continues with the creation of the olive oil mill in 1763. More people then came to the area to work on the olive trees and land, and built houses around the olive oil mill which, during the peak era, accommodated 13 families and 50 people. Nowadays, the settlement of Kapsaliana has been converted with love and artistry into a unique hotel. With particular care and diligent work the olive oil mill, the church and the utility rooms were gradually transformed into rooms and suites, restaurant, swimming pool and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookCyprus and Odigeo so you can book your Kapsaliana Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapsaliana Village Hotel Greece/Adele, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing