We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem in Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Callestock Courtyard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zelah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Callestock Courtyard
Sale UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gem in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you are looking for the perfect hideaway within beautiful Cornwall you would struggle to find better. As a family we have been enjoying a twice annual breaks at Little Callestock Farm since 2000. We have spent many happy holidays in both Orchard Cottage and Wheal Busy. Our daughter loved the farm aspects so much that she is now in the final few weeks of a 3 year Diploma in Agriculture (Reaseheath College) - thank you Nick, Liz and Ben (and Jack and Mary - Liz's mum and dad) for sharing your passion of working in harmony with nature and nurturing Vicky's love for your Jersey Herd. The barn conversions are all outstanding, all the luxury you might try to imagine and then some with amazing hosts. We have just returned from a week in Wheal Busy - whilst spring may be delayed - we had the welcome of a wood burning stove and endless Cream Teas to look forward to. Wheal Busy now has a luxurious 6ft bed and dressing room!

Room Tip: You need to book early - Little Callestock Farm is in great demand!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz093, Owner at Callestock Courtyard, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for your kind comments - as you know here at Callestock we care deeply about our guests and always try to provide everything just as we would want when we go away. We're thrilled that you have enjoyed your time with us over the years and look forward to seeing you again in August this year. Liz Nick Ben Jack Mary and all at Callestock Courtyard Cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
72
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have been reluctant to write a review as these days you have to get in early to book the cottage you want, when you want !! We have been almost every year during the last twelve years, which says it all. As other reviewers have said, you feel instantly at home and relaxed - everything about the place is first rate - including Liz and Nick who are the most fantastic hosts - nothing is ever too much trouble. Having been so many times, it's like going to visit family and we feel disconsolate if we haven't been able to go. I cannot see how anyone could possibly find anything to complain about - perfection as far as we are concerned.

Room Tip: All the cottages are great but choose a ground floor one if you have a problem with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ockbrooksider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz093, Owner at Callestock Courtyard, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for your kind comments - as you know here at Callestock we care deeply about our guests and always try to provide everything just as we would want when we go away. We're thrilled that you have enjoyed your time with us over the years and hope to see you again very soon. Liz Nick and all at Callestock Courtyard Cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

A wonderfully peaceful retreat. These are high quality properties that deserve their 5 star rating. I'd personally give them 6 stars!!

The owners, Liz and Nick are lovely and can't do enough for you, yet they are not intrusive and leave you to enjoy your stay in peace. We'll definitely visit again, in fact we can't wait to go back .

Highly recommended.

The Sugar Ridge Crew.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NigeTricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz093, Owner at Callestock Courtyard, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for your kind comments - here at Callestock we care deeply about our guests and always try to provide everything just as we would want when we go away. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again very soon. Liz Nick and all at Callestock Courtyard Cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our 7th stay at Callestock Courtyard in the last few years. Whenever we arrive there are fresh flowers on the table together with a cream tea and a very warm welcome from Liz. We always feel completely at ease here and relax the minute we come through the door. The lovely bathrooms and comfy beds make it extra special and we hope to return many more times

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz093, Owner at Callestock Courtyard, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Just a little note to say thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind comments - we're thrilled that you enjoyed your winter break and hope to see you again very soon. Liz Nick and all at Callestock Courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

The only thing you will long-for, is to come back.
The farm is a 20min casual walk down a lovely narrow lane to the bus stop in Zelah, (which is just 5 miles from Truro). Taxi from train station is 16pounds.
Owner Liz Down is kind and generous in every way. She responded prompty to all my emails filled with all the questions a first time traveler would ask. I felt completely at home. Watch the videos on her website - you will get exactly what you see. The jetted tub is a perfect way to relax after a full day of seeing the sites. Great central location to use as base to explore Cornwall. I've stayed 5 nights, leaving in the morning, and I'm planning on comming back to Little Callestock

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerrysBarbaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our second stay in Orchard Cottage this time in Autumn half term. Everything has already been said by previous guests...the place is lovely. Since our stay in the summer of 2011 the cottage has been upgraded with some lovely new bedroom furniture and a woodburner which was a welcome addition for a couple of chilly half term nights. Liz, Nick and family ceratinly know how to look after everyone. A joy to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miltonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz093, Owner at Callestock Courtyard, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your half term week and that you liked the new wood burning stove - it has really given the cottage a heart. It was great to see you all again and we very much look forward to seeing you again sometime soon. Regards from Liz Nick and family here at Callestock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have recently spent a week at Callestock Courtyard. I won the long weekend in a competition and extended it to a week so glad we did. The accommodation was lovely everything we could want including Wifi (this made our 15 year old son very happy). We loved the cream tea on arrival and treated ourselves to another on our last day. My husband went to see the cows being milked and brought back some lovely milk. We visit Cornwall every year and and our favourite places were easily reached from Callestock. The whirlpool bath was a great treat as was the huge walk in shower. Thank you Liz and Nick for your hospitality hopefully one day we will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zelah
4.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Degembris Farmhouse
Degembris Farmhouse
#15 of 78 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Fox Barn
Red Fox Barn
#1 of 11 in Perranporth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Whitehouse Inn
The Whitehouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Penhallow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callestock Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callestock Courtyard

Property: Callestock Courtyard
Address: Little Callestock Farm | Truro, Zelah, Truro TR4 9HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro > Zelah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Zelah
Hotel Class:4 star — Callestock Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liz Nick and family warmly invite you to enjoy a holiday in our 4 and 5 star Gold Awarded Cornish cottages which we have lovingly restored to provide exceptional self catering accommodation in Cornwall. This beautiful Cornish hideaway is set around our small Farm close to Truro, Perranporth, St Agnes and Newquay. We know how important holidays are and we guarantee that you will unwind and get into holiday mode as soon as you arrive. Kingsize and super kingsize beds and superb bathrooms with double size showers and fabulous whirlpool baths are only a few of the luxuries on offer here. Delicious homemade Cornish Cream Teas are a speciality made from the creamy milk from our herd of pretty Jersey Cows. This is a perfect place for couples to enjoy the peaceful Cornish countryside. Easy access to the A30 and only 45 mins from each end of the county. Our guests never want to leave! We are winners of the Travellers Choice Award and have achieved a Certificate of Excellence. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing