We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure relaxing!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada Vale do Gaio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pousada Vale do Gaio
Ranked #1 of 2 Torrao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pure relaxing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

If your wish is to relax and enjoy te Portuguese food pleasures, a weekend here is the greatest choice. Bike, cayaking or some reading are some of the choices. Decoration make you feel like home. Near Lisbon (1h30 distance) in case you would like to travel to the capital.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ines A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    39
    7
    11
    8
See reviews for
41
90
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

not bad for the price.
Really nice laidback hotel in a very reserved location. a little bit expensive but it's worth it.
the food is really nice but again, a little bit expensive.
really big choice of wines for a reasonable price.
the outside area is really really nice, to bad the water levels run pretty low on the dam in the summer.
but in the end is a nice place for a weekend getaway

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cst_Mgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, and really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. The surroundings are very peaceful and quiet, a real change from the hustle an bustle of the coast. We've been coming to Portugal about every 2nd year since 1997, but this must be one of the most chilled out places we stayed at, definitely very good value if you're looking for a bit of a rest from the tourist resorts.

The rooms are simple but spacious and very modern & comfortable, the area around the pousada is fantastic, between the lovely deck with loungers, been bags and misters, and the four-poster relax beds down the terraced area by the pool, everything seems to be designed to chill out and relax.

The on-site XL restaurant is very good too, we ate there both nights, local and fresh food, and very good service. One of us had stomach problems when we arrived, and the (young, tall) waiter was extremely helpful in selecting and adapting dishes that would suit an upset stomach, all in very good english. This man deserves a special mention for his efforts.

In relation to other comments, yes there are 3 dogs on the premises, but we never found them to be a problem at all, they are very well behaved, and would not bother anyone.
During our stay in high season, there were also families with kids, but due to the layout of the grounds that doesn't need to be a problem, there is enough space to hang out without being bothered by other guests.

In other words, if you come for an action packed holiday with plenty of nightlife action, this might not be for you. If, on the other hand, you are looking for a peaceful retreat in a beautiful quiet nature setting, and welcoming hosts that make you feel at home and comfortable, then look no further.

We had a fantastic time, and will definitely come back for more!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bringabong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed only one night with our family of five, but had we known how lovely it was we would have planned a longer sojourn. The rooms are comfortable and well thought out, unlike many hotels, with lights where you need them and hooks that work. Maria Jose who greeted us was charming and helpful, even though our reservation hadn't made their books the rooms were available and we settled right in with a lovely lunch on the terrace. After traveling in Portugal for almost three weeks without sun, we enjoyed the outdoor living, comfortable indoor space, and stylish placement of candles, flowers, etc. We used the kayaks and bikes but it was too cold for swimming in the pool. Views over the water were gorgeous and the dogs were delightful to our 3-yr old granddaughter. Dinner and breakfast were delicious and nicely served. We would go back to Vale do Gaio in a heartbeat for a relaxing vacation, and it would be a good spot to use as a base for touring (which we had just done and just wanted to relax before heading back to California). FYI we stayed in two superior rooms with views of the water and little decks, which I would highly recommend. It looks as though they are planning to expand but I liked the intimate size of it as is. I picture myself going back in sunnier times and dozing on the pretty "beds" arranged on the terrace, complete with pillows and quilts! Kudos to all involved.

Room Tip: Superior doubles with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagres, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

I stayed 3 days at Pousada Vale do Gaio with my family. The rooms are super comfortable, the staff very friendly and atmosphere is very charming. The view from the terrace is amazing and for me was the best waking moment I ever had. The sunrise over the lagoon along with the silence and pure nature makes this place pure magic. The pool is a very nice place to relax and there are some kayaks available to explore the lagoon/ dam. The food is outstanding and every meal is a unique moment. We had a great time at Pousada Vale do Gaio and I highly recommend this place for couples or small families. The very best of Portugal

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidZ_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Vale do Gaio is a wonderful place! I dare to say it is simply the best place I’ve ever been for the past 4 years in Portugal.

The landscape is breathtaking, the food is simply delicious and very well presented, the staff is very polite and makes us feel …at home!

The owners are excellent hosts; it really feels like home, surrounded by one of the most beautiful views you can have!

The two Labradors, Rodolfo and Rosa are great! If you leave for a walk they will keep you company! Friendly, friendly dogs with a great temperament! And they love to swim! And they love to play around with children - who simply adore them!

I first stayed there in 2007 and could never stop going back! It is in this beautiful Hotel that I can really relax, catch up with my reading and get away from all the stress.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but If you want a sup. view choose rooms n.12 and n.15!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trovisqueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

I've stayed in Pousada Vale do Gaio for a weekend with some friends and it was simply amazing. The views were breathtaking, the food was delicious, the staff was extremely friendly, helpful and polite . The pool area is not very big i think it is just perfect for the cozy feel of the hotel. A big big big big plus is the deck on the outside with chilout vibe and spectacular views (i could never get enough of that). It is perfect for getaway because you will find yourself far from everything.

We've stayed in a standard double room and a family room. The rooms were average but i was hoping that the spectacular outside matched the inside but it was not. The family room needs painting. Small downside.

I will definitely return. It the perfect place for a getaway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaMargaridaFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrao
14.6 mi away
Pousada de Alcacer do Sal Dom Afonso II
16.4 mi away
Pousada Castelo Alvito
20.0 mi away
Serenada Enoturismo
Serenada Enoturismo
#1 of 9 in Grandola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Sublime Comporta Country House Retreat
17.9 mi away
Herdade das Barradas da Serra
17.7 mi away
Sesmarias Turismo Rural & SPA
Sesmarias Turismo Rural & SPA
#1 of 6 in Ferreira do Alentejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Vale do Gaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Vale do Gaio

Property: Pousada Vale do Gaio
Address: Barragem Trigo de Morais, Torrao 7595-034, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Torrao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Torrao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Vale do Gaio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the deep heart of Alentejo, over a beautiful dam, you will find the stunning Vale do Gaio Hotel. It is the perfect place for those who appreciate the culinary delights of the region and enjoy hunting, fishing, walking and other sports such as biking, bow & arrow, canoeing and more. Surrounded by the natural beauty of the great outdoors, our guests at Vale do Gaio Inn share an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Vale do Gaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing