We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible hospitality and the best ocean view!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Cuidadosamente decorados...
Em funcionamento a partir de Abril de 2016, na Baia de São Lourenço, ilha de Santa Maria, Açores
Fotos do interior em breve!
Vigia da Areia serão duas casa de campo, em self-catering.
A Vigia da Areia é o local ideal para quem procura o contacto com o Mar nos dias de Verão.
Exterior com deck em madeira, com jacuzzi aquecido e espaço para barbecue.
O exterior dispõe de jacuzzi aquecido com vista para a deslumbrante baía...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Beach Rental -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Vila do Porto, Santa Maria, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Amanda D
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Incredible hospitality and the best ocean view!”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, 2 year old son and I stayed at the vigils da areia's casa da mar for a few nights in early July and fell in love with this place! Roberto greeted us in Sao Lorencao after our flight arrived late and escorted us to the little villa. The fridge/ kitchen was fully stocked with everything we could need (beer, wine, bubble water, butter, milk) and they left us a large basket of local delicacies including bread, cookies and jam! The little beach house was so comfortable for the three of us! We made use of the awesome tiny infinity pool. There are two restaurants within a short walk that serve food throughout the day. We made friends with the cute lizards that frolicked in the sun on the rocks! The unit had wifi and a tv. Most nights we slept with the windows open so we could fall asleep to the sound of crashing waves! Oh and they have a kayak you can borrow while staying there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2017
Dear Amanda,

We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you very much for your opinion, it would be a pleasure to receive you again in a near future. Kind regards from all of us,
Roberto, Mina and Carlos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne G
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking view!”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This rental was hands down the best location we could have picked for our trip to Santa Maria. Ideal for a couple (very romantic with hot tub and beautiful sunrises) but we stayed with our girls that are 8yrs old and they did not want to leave! The property is right on the beach and if you want to swim in the pool, its a 5 min walk up the beach. There is also restaurants right near the house so if you don't rent a car you pretty much have everything you need. The house was immaculate when we arrived, very modern which was nice (we found that other properties rented had plumbing issues but this house had plenty of hot water and great pressure). This house offers a kayak, snorkeling gear, fishing poles so there is plenty to do on your vacation. I highly recommend this property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2017
Hi Dianne,
Thank you very much for your kind words. Looking forward to receive you again anytime soon!
Kind regards,
Vigia da Areia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosRRo...
Sao Miguel, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Unique Experience”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a great holidays!

The kids loved the jacuzzi. We loved the sound of the surroundings.
We were not the firsts, and surely we will not be the last ones, but they really made us feel like unique guests.
They have a beach down the stairs were you can kayaking and snorkeling with equipment from the house. How cool is this? (very cool I may add).

Many many other positive emotions are left for you to discover. Go there! You will love it too.

P.S.
Do not miss a half day sailing on the "Allegro" with Elisa and Roberto!!

Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words! We are very happy that the experience fulfilled your expectations. Hope to see you back at Casa da Amora soon.
Mina, Roberto, Elisa and Carlos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bern14
Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful little paradise”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent five great days at Vigia da Areia. We were the first guests in this wonderful and beautifully located house. Aside from the sandy beach it offers the luxury of a Jacuzzi with superb views. The house is well equipped and the information provided in the booklets was helpful. The host was very helpful and friendly and the house manager, was very quick in responding and helpful. The basket with the regional products was a very nice thougt. It was very useful for us that a baby bed and a baby chair were provided.

We were really happy to stay in Sao Lourenco, which is a very quite and lovely place. There is no supermarket but two nice eating options. We rented a car, but almost didnt use it, as we did not want to leave vigia da areia. There is a nice hiking trail just starting in the village, with incredible views.

We really hope to return to Vigia da Areia one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2016
Thank you very much for the lovely words! It was a real pleasure having you as our first guests.
Hope to see back soon!

Mina and Roberto,
Vigia da Areia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
famillegp...
Lorient, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2018 for a stay in September 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpedr0g0n...
Cascais, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2017
Caros João e Maria,

Foi um prazer receber-vos nas nossas casas.
Ficaremos á espera duma próxima visita, em breve!

Cumprimentos,
Vigia da Areia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syldator
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2017
Salut! Merci beaucoup pour votre évaluation. C'était un plaisir de vous accueillir dans nos maisons. Nous espérons vous recevoir bientôt.
Roberto, Mina et Carlos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing