We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful service and great food”

Caldeiras & Vulcoes Restaurante
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Furnas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Caldeiras & Vulcoes, located on the center of the village of Furnas! It's a familiar restaurant that keeps all the local traditions, with an amazing passion for mixing flavours and aromas that will bring the nostalgy and memories of the original and famous "Cozido das Furnas" among many other traditional plates always with a contemporary vision full of amazing sensations!
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and great food”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Service was excellent - helpful with recommendations and very patient as we were one of the last patrons in the restaurant.

Food was wonderful - we had the Swordfish and the tenderloin, both were very flavorful and plentiful!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JayRo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    157
    51
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Blue Fin Tuna”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a lovely night at C&V. We sat outside on the deck and thought the atmosphere was very nice. We oredered a soup and the blue fin tuna which was excellent. We had a nice Portugese wine and the evening was quite enjoyable. They were having a special sushi night which seems to happen once a month. People seemed to really enjoy that. We have a lot of fine sushi at home so we were happy to stick with the local tuna.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SCagray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norttheast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awsome”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great food 5 star service, great atmsphire pool rooms dartboards and lots of compitition, and te owner i very personable also great guy

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank patsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“diamond in the rough!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

An extremely modern, contemporary interior which delivers wonderfully presented and delicious meals! We didn't expect to find such fine cuisine during our visit to the Azores, and this restaurant sets the bar high for the rest of San Miguel!
Very comfortable, yet elegant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“This Restaurant is a Must Visit!!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Upon ariving at Caldeiras & Vulcoes Restaurante, We first notice how modern and sheik the exterior is. Inside it's spacious and elegant. The staff are professional and eager to please, We were very well attended to duritring our vist. it was also nice that the staff spoke fluent English. I would recommend that you start with a 'fino' local draft beer, and fresh goat cheese to tempt your appetite. As for your entree, I would recommend a fish or beef dish, as the Azores features superior quality fish and beef. Or if something more locally traditional tempts you, inquire about the 'Cozido' a dish cooked soley using the heat of the volcanic ground, and is a Must try for anyone visiting Sao Miguel! The prices are very reasonable and our dishes were well prepared and delicious. From start to finish our total experience was a 5 star! I will definitely be back to Caldeiras & Vulcoes Restaurante on our next Vistit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnVieira79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caldeiras & Vulcoes Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to Caldeiras & Vulcoes Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing