We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit by B&D from Germany” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Furnas Research and Monitoring Centre

Furnas Research and Monitoring Centre
Ranked #5 of 14 things to do in Furnas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Furnas Research and Monitoring Centre (CMIF) integrates a broad transversal intervention, articulating in one single project, the programs and actions of the “Plano de Ordenamento da Bacia Hidrografica da Lagoa das Furnas” (Furnas Lake Developmant and Watershefd Plan), notably the rehabilitation of its margins. It was the winner of the "Premio Internazionale di Pietra Architetture 2011 - XII edizione" and finalist of SECIL Prize in 2013. It was the cover of the Spanish publication "El Croquis" and prominent target in some architectural websites. CMIF functions as an observatory and integrated centre for knowledge dissemination, playing an important role in the translation of scientific information to a language able to captivate visitors into better understanding nature, as well as in recreational and ecological rehabilitation activities, all in a landscape that is constantly changing. It includes an auditorium for workshops and seminars and a large covered area used for exhibitions that, through interactive mechanisms, tools accessible to users, multimedia platforms and guided tours, lead visitors to the discovery of the lagoon ecosystem as well as local flora and fauna. In addition, there are adjacent outdoor areas, including picnic and contemplation areas and a large green space with a privileged view over the lagoon, where visitors can enjoy the scenery and develop leisure activities.
DO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Visit by B&D from Germany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The visit was exellent and very interesting. The employers are very friendly and dedicated. The technical equipment is on the top of the modern visualisation.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank XX Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    74
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
“paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

the only problem is the smell of sulfur from the hot volcanic craters. Yet a wonderful experience must visit this place, it is unique anbeautiful with many fllowers and plants the gardens, paradise!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Alda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting background”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Did not aim to go here but came across it walking around the lake. Interesting displays about the ecological work going on in the area. Staff are well-informed and very helpful and clearly very committed to their work. Possibly not a destination in its own right, unless you have a particular interest in the subject, but well worth a visit if you are doing the walk.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Owenian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
“learn about the flora in the Azores!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was our first day on Azores and we were lucky to step in during our hike round the lake.
We learned a lot about the flora at Azores which helped us on our trip further to understand the necessary balance and which efforts are necessary to re-activate areas like Furnas lake.
Very good guidance - Thanks a lot!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MunichEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hike around a lake being reborn, with an explanation how!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We were just having a hike when we saw this new architecture near the south margin of the lake, it was Furnas Monitoring & Research Center which actually is not just about research and monitoring it also has a very user friendly area, with a reception hall where we were informed about some of our touristic doubts and then we were shown an exhibition room were the staff explained what is being done to restore the water quality of Furnas lake. It's worth to have a look at the project they have running to improve the ecology and economy of the place. The short walk to get to the Center is quite pleasant and we had such a nice break just taking a rest on the benches outside, looking at the lake. So we do recommend those who have some interest or concern regarding environment to have a short look as we did.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MiguelGCFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Furnas Research and Monitoring Centre also viewed

 
Sao Miguel, Azores
 

Been to Furnas Research and Monitoring Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing