We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and homey, with English-speaking host”
Review of Hotel Vale Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vale Verde
Ranked #2 of 5 Furnas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Sometimes it’s a special staff person who makes your stay memorable and especially enjoyable. In this case, Rui Medeiros, a member of the family that owns this establishment, stands out. Rui has lived in Canada and the U.S., and his friendliness and helpfulness, along with our ability to chat with him in English, made our four nights at the Residencial Vale Verde a lot of fun.
The 10-room hotel was absolutely spotless, comfortably furnished and simply decorated. We were in the corner room, #113, on the floor above the entry level and it was very spacious. There was some traffic noise during the day, but it was silent at night. Breakfast was included, with juice, several kinds of fruit, breads, cereals, coffee/tea. We also ate dinner there a couple of nights and had regional fare at very reasonable prices.
Furnas was the first of two locations where we stayed during our eight days on Sao Miguel. There are several attractions within walking distance of this hotel, and the eastern half of the island was within easy driving distance. Furnas and the Residencial Vale Verde provide a good base for at least part of your stay in the Azores.

Room Tip: We enjoyed having a corner room (#113) with nice views and extra windows and will request this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 77 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice family-run business and the family-member "employees" we spoke with were friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. We parked our rental car in the free parking in the back of the hotel. The price of our stay was very reasonable and good value for the service delivered, including the decent breakfast in the morning. I would definitely stay here again, and recommend to others looking for a good value stay in Furnas.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VANGS604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel some nights, it was amazing. A clean and friendly family business, very enthusiastic wet there customers, a young good looking boy (didn’t get is name) did our check in, and told us what to see on the village, the hot springs, the lake, the waterfalls, the terminal baths etc etc, he was very friendly, good Ingles speaking, and knew how to say some French words (what that was enough for us to enjoy is company) also in the bar.
This is in fact a good hotel to spend some nice vacation in some good company also. Au revoir.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueli S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a great experience at the Residencial Vale Verde. The hotel was a tremendous value with great customer service. Ask for Rui! We were touring the island by car and happened upon this clean and friendly family owned hotel. The room was very nice. It's really convenient to the town. There is free parking behind the hotel and we were able to park the car and walk to everything we needed to in town. Rui gave great recommendations on things to do and places to eat in town. The hotel has a restaurant and provides a typical Portuguese breakfast of bread and coffee with the room, but we were also able to get an egg and they cut up a pineapple that we brought for us. We really appreciated that they recommended a number of restaurants in town in addition to their own. Rui genuinely cared to make our experience in Furnas special. We highly recommend Vale Verde for travelers looking for a clean, high value

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed two nights in Feb. 2013. Found front desk clerk lacking in common courtesy..no hello or help when asked. Room was adequate but nothing special, place was clean. Restaurant not open for dinner but served mediocre breakfast..no eggs or hot course.
Location was good, free parking not on site but across street and was municipal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jscott646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I`ve booked this via Venere and didn´t regret anything. The room and the bath are very clean and well maintained. I had a strong rain period and on the floor some water was leaking in, however compared to the damage around everywhere this was nothing.

Breakfast and Dinner meals are quite ok and absolute standard for Portugal. The bar has some excellent local Aguardente, a must try.

The location is inside the village at one main entrances from the north coast, so some noise from traffic may happen over day. Everything in Furnas can be reached easily by walking.

Would come back always
Cheers
Herb

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herb_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice small hotel with friendly staff, very good big rooms, nicely equipped, clean. The breakfast is tasty and has a broad variety of products, lunches and dinners are also very good and for reasonable price. There is no reason to eat outside the hotel, it can be more expensive. There are also parking places at the hotel. It is located in the centre of the village close to the church and about 10 minutes of walk from the Terra nostra garden and Poça da Dona Beija.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nadiya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furnas
0.4 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Furnas Boutique Hotel
11.9 mi away
Caloura Hotel Resort
Caloura Hotel Resort
#9 of 41 in Sao Miguel
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Hotel Arcanjo
Hotel Arcanjo
#1 of 1 in Lagoa
127 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel do Mar
Hotel do Mar
#3 of 3 in Povoacao
103 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel Ponta Delgada
Hotel Ponta Delgada
#10 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vale Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vale Verde

Address: Rua das Caldeiras 3, Furnas, Povoacao, Sao Miguel 9675-045, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Povoacao > Furnas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Furnas
Price Range: $62 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vale Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vale Verde, in the center of the small town of Furnas, created for you a welcoming environment to guarantee a personalized service, always to make you feel good, unique and in tune with the surrounding nature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vale Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vale Verde Furnas, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing