We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Lovely”

Review of Casa Quintinha

From path over the garden and pool to the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
From path over the garden and pool to the sea
view from the terrace of pool  and annex area View from garden path
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
From path over the garden and pool to the sea
view from the terrace of pool  and annex area
View from garden path
Living/dining area
Dining area to upper floor
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Kitchen
pool terrrace
View from garden path
Terrace and house from steps
Garden looking up from pool
Top of the path through the garden
From path towards the hills
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sao Bras de Alportel, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
dizzybl0n...
East Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Simply Lovely”
Reviewed October 24, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in this lovely farmhouse for one week in Sept and had a great holiday. Everything was as advertised and the property is secluded with amazing views from the terrace. A car is essential as others have also confirmed. The owner lives in the UK and was extremely flexible on arrival and departure times. Communication with her was excellent at all times. Local shops/supermarkets are around 10 mins away. Lovely pool (unheated) with lots of sunbeds and 'toys' to keep adults and kids occupied! No real negatives apart from the fact that the dogs next door (3) woke us up around 4am each morning which is when the neighbour goes to collect fish from the port (he has a fresh fish van so no need to go into town for fresh fish!). I must admit we soon got used to it and just went back to sleep. I could not fault this holiday and would definitely recommend it to anyone so long as they wanted seclusion, peace and quiet but if its lots of night life and endless shops on your doorstep that floats your boat then this is probably not for you. It might also be a bit difficult if mobility is an issue for you as the farmhouse, pool and gardens are on 3 tiers and there are steps in between. For us it was perfect and it was definitely one of our best holidays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the terrace and the fact the farmhouse had everything we needed
Liked least: the next door neighbours dogs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would definitely go back”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great location for us. The villa is very comfortable with a great swimming pool. Nice quiet location with a friendly local bar just about an 8 minute walk away.
Really enjoyed the holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernadett...
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing villa”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Spent two glorious weeks in this villa 14th - 28th August and the house, pool and surroundings were absolutely brilliant. It was so private and tranquil and the gardens were beautiful. Everything you could possibly need was in the villa, beds were really comfy, kitchen really well equipped and the pool area was was really spacious, plenty of sunbeds and tables and the added bonus of the outside wet-room, laundry room, and a lovely green area in the back garden. I would recommend this villa and I will definitely will return next year. Great value for money for all the utilities you have there. Thank You Caroline for such a lovely time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like home
Liked least: Having to leave to go home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful villa, pool, location, facilities.”
Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Quintinha is a very spacious and well equipped villa in a glorious quiet hillside location. There is everything you would need for a relaxing holiday. The pool is the jewel in the crown with its shower room, laundry and storage annexe. The three bedrooms are very flexible so families and groups are well catered for. A car is a must and there are plenty of restaurants to suit all tastes in nearby Sao Bras. Communication with the owner Caroline has been excellent. For a relaxing break in peace and quiet, this is the place for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area
Liked least: We liked everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhona M
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another 14 days in Paradise”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our 4th or 5th return to Casa Quintinha - our now (nearly) teenage daughters have been visiting with us since they were babies and this year we allowed ourselves a 2 week visit instead of our usual week. And it was wonderful.
Long, lovely days in the most beautiful surroundings, the villa is quiet, well furnished, clean and well stocked. A wonderful honesty system has always been enjoyed and respected by regular visitors, happy to make use of cans, pasta, spices, cereals, flour etc from the already filled larders and replace on use. This is unlike any other villa we have ever rented - truly a home from home.
We began our days with home made crepes and Nutella, followed by swimming, pool volleyball, playing on the inflatables, reading and glorious naps on the comfy loungers. We enjoy cooking and eating outside when we are the villa - the stone barbecue at the poolside is also well used when we are there. As an alternative Cafe Correia, or 'Paulas' as we know it, is fab for food and the G&Ts spectacular!
The weather was hotter on this visit than ever before, however the stone villa remained cool inside and we were very comfortable despite temperatures at times over 40 degrees.
If you are looking for peace, quiet and relaxation in beautiful surroundings this is the place for you. The pool is a joy and from toddlers to teenagers our daughters have absolutely loved coming here. They are already planning for next year - bringing a friend each!
Quite simply Casa Qunitinha holds a happy place in our hearts. If you want sterile, empty and sparce, this may not be for you - but a beautiful family home, loved and enjoyed by our family and others, has always been good for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of being back in our happy place
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most relaxing holiday we've ever had”
Reviewed May 13, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous home from home in beautiful surroundings. Private pool and garden both perfect, we wanted for nothing, and have never stayed anywhere so well kitted out. This place is perfect for families and couples, a lovely bar/restaurant less than five minutes up the road, very peaceful and private, only 20 mins from the airport. We will definitely be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filskit
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed every minute of our stay”
Reviewed November 26, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed every minute of our stay in this sensitively restored farmhouse. The house was terraced down the hill from a quiet country road, with the entrance through the lovely garden planting round to the terrace and only a few steps further down to the large pool on the next level. The whole garden and pool area are completely private. The layout of the house has been cleverly planned, with extensive use of natural materials, retaining the original stonework where possible, with the use of unglazed terracotta tiles throughout, giving a seamless feel to the flooring on all levels. The tiling has also been used in the bathromm/shower room, which was maybe not such a good idea, as it stays wet and takes a long while to dry out, but this didn't bother us at all.
The kitchen was small but really well equipped, with a dishwasher, ideal for us eating in in the evenings, as we had a child with us. The weather was beautiful, even though it was late October and we were lucky enough to be able to have all our meals on the terrace, off the kitchen, with a lovely view past the pool to the valley below. We mostly used the barbecue by the pool to cook, with wonderful fresh seafood from Loule market, prawns, seabass, bream and squid our favourites. We appreciated the basics in the kitchen, especially the good olive oil! We loved the lounge with its comfortable sofas, high ceilings and stylish decor. We enjoyed the extra touches such as the dressing gowns, slippers, candles for a romantic dinner in and the pile of logs for the stove, which would have been great if the weather had been cooler. Central heating a huge bonus too for an off season break.
Best of all was the fantastic pool, with access to a shower and toilet and a poolroom full of inflatables and pool equipment, which gave us hours of fun. There was plenty of space around the pool and a good supply of sunbeds for relaxing. It was able to be floodlit at night, which looked lovely as the sun set, with a glass of wine on the terrace.
The location was great, only 20 minutes from Faro, and a few minutes drive from the small inland towns of Loule, with its excellent Continente supermarket and Sao Bras to the east. The coast is an easy drive, with Tavira and Olhao delightful day trips. Paula and Fernando's cafe with internet access, was a few minutes walk away for those who want to eat out and not have to drive home. Thanks to Paula for her help while we were there.
We weren't bothered by the neighbour's cats, we just ignored them, didn't feed them and didn't let them them in the house.
We don't often return to the same place on holiday, but this would be the exception. A wonderful place for a relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The absolute privacy, the fantastic pool, the house, terrace and garden planting.
Liked least: Nothing, except leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing