We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Back Again”

Review of Casa Quintinha

From path over the garden and pool to the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
From path over the garden and pool to the sea
view from the terrace of pool  and annex area View from garden path
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
From path over the garden and pool to the sea
view from the terrace of pool  and annex area
View from garden path
Living/dining area
Dining area to upper floor
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Kitchen
pool terrrace
View from garden path
Terrace and house from steps
Garden looking up from pool
Top of the path through the garden
From path towards the hills
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sao Bras de Alportel, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Norma C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Back Again”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Life is too short to return to the same place twice but you just can't keep me away from Casa Quintinha.From the minute you walk in the door you are confronted with this beautiful spacious farm house which is lovingly looked after. No need to bring anything as everything has been thought of but if you really want you can order a great starter pack just so that you waste no time in getting to the pool.

I love this villa. I have taken my family and gone with friends and on each occasion returned home wih wonderful memories of laughter fun and relaxation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to sit out and eat dinner overlooking the pool and the countryside beyond
Liked least: Leaving !!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow What A Suprise”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This has to be the most homely villa/farmhouse that we have stayed after years of renting in the Algarve. This villa has everything you need for a comfortable stay and it all works. The pool is lovely and the pool terrace and barbeque area is well thought out, it is obvious that a lot of money has been spent to make this a wonderful place to stay. The cats from the farm are not a problem if you dont fed them.You ignore them and they will ignore you. Anyway I would thoroughly recommend this property for couples or families . Brilliant

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon123201...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rustic Beauty”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful holiday with family and friends over a two week period. Everyone loved it, kids especially loved the pool and kept them entertained throughout.
Relax by the pool during the day, BBQ's at night, fun bar at the end of the road. Winner!
Also, great value for money and every angle had been covered. The weather was great and the starry nights shared were a sight to behold. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paddy428
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb villa with excellent pool and stunning views!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Recently stayed here with my family and had a fantastic, relaxing break. The villa has rustic charm, each room was spacious, the lounge area cosy and outdoor area had all (and more) for a brilliant family holiday. The pool was a perfect size and the views over the local area made for a perfect location. Loule is a short trip by car and local restuarants are in easy reach. Paula's bar at the end of the road is a great place for a traditional local experience.
Would definately come back another year.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shonah U
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“We didn't want to come home!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A second visit to Casa Quintinha proved delightful for 3 friends who wanted to chill, eat local food, talk nonsense and drink local wine! The absolute peace provided by the house and the pool / garden proved to be the perfect retreat for 3 very busy ladies to totally relax. To the point that we got stressed about being away from it all and couldn't wait to return, even to the nearby supermarket but especially when we went to Seville for the day (far too busy for us!).

The house provides everything you need for a perfect holiday away from mainstream Algarve albeit the practical proximity to the airport, local facilities and 'commercialism' is there if you really want to venture down that road. We did not feel the need - Casa Qunitinha provides a unique, delightfully rustic and comfortable break from life which in our view was absolutely perfect.

The fantastic pool was an essential part of our day, with the additional benefit of the poolhouse and BBQ completed what was a brilliant holiday that we genuinely did not want to return from!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quite
Liked least: The steps - too much effort!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros1702
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Welcome Return”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just returned from our 4th consecutive visit to this fabulous peaceful haven in the quieter, rural hills behind the more touristy resorts of the Algarve. The setting of the villa with the spectacular views across the valley and gorgeous pool is our ideal holiday venue of choice - I feel the tensions of daily life lift as I go down the path & see that view on arrival! Lazing poolside, relaxing, devouring books, over-indulging in food & drink, whiling away evenings at Paula's local bar, switching off completely from work & home; add to this, the beaches, people-watching bars, endless choice of local restaurants within easy driving distance; "tourist" attractions if you so choose all on the doorstep - what more could we ask for? We've visited as a couple for a romantic break and enjoyed other holidays with various combinations of teenage kids and we have never failed to enjoy our stay, find different trips to do, new restaurants to try, making each of our holidays so enjoyable and restful for all of us.

This is a family home from home which we are delighted to share and hope to continue to do so.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsSparty
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Checked out early”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
5
people found this review helpful

There is a cushion in the sitting room which says something along the lines of “You never know how many friends you have until you have a house in Portugal”. I suspect that many of the people (and there are many) who signed the Visitors’ Book are friends of the owners and if you look carefully at the online reviews you also see that many have only contributed one review on Trip Advisor and also seem to hail from the same part of the world as the owners. Perhaps the majority of these guests therefore did not want to offend the owners, but I have to be honest and describe what we found to be the case. (Please see my other reviews and you will see that I am not just a moaner who picks faults in everything!)

I can appreciate that it’s hard to keep a house that’s not being used all year round, but the end result of locking things up for the winter months - if that's what happens here - is that things smell. Whether there’s an additional damp problem or not, the soft furnishings in the house have clearly not been replaced for some years, and with the sheer volume of people going through the house, the result that they – cushions, pillows, sofas, beds – smell. There is also a sticky film over all the door handles and the dining table which made me rush straight out, in the absence of seeing any suitable cleaning materials, and get to work on scrubbing the place: something I would have preferred not to be doing having just arrived from Lisbon to celebrate our wedding anniversary!

The kitchen cupboards were so stuffed with things that we had our food stored in carrier bags on hooks and in the fridge (which I also had to clean), as there was no space in the cupboards for any of our food. When we arrived there was uncovered food lying about, half-finished packets of biscuits and a baguette so stale you could have played cricket with it.

More importantly, whatever problem exists that gives the bathroom walls and bedrooms that horrible smell should not be denied any longer. One bathroom we didn't even venture into. Frustratingly, we were also unable to sleep in the main bedroom and had to hold our noses in the master bathroom due to a different problem - the overwhelming stench of cat pee, with the result that we had a week of sleeping in separate single beds, all of which was hardly romantic on our holiday.

There were numerous things broken in the house – dining room chairs, sun loungers torn – and many of the appliances were from the dark ages and/or covered in that horrible layer of stickiness again (as was the book that explained it all, together with the quirks of the various appliances and boiler). We even had to de-stickify the remote control of the tv (that wasn't worth turning on anyway) and scrub the outside and top of the kettle before we could have a cup of tea. I have never washed my hands as often as I did while staying there.

It's a shame, as the house is in a very nice position and the garden area is lovely – beautiful views, quiet and with a relaxing pool area that would make it a really good holiday getaway, were it presented properly. But it’s either a holiday rental or it’s someone else’s house and if it is to be rented out to the public the owners simply have to clear out some of their personal belongings from the cupboards both in the bedrooms and kitchen. If people are paying for a house, they would like space for their things, not be welcomed with grotty bottles of shampoo turned upside down at the end of the bath, drawers stuffed full of cosmetics and all manner of other things crammed into every available space. We felt like we had sneaked into somebody else's house while they were away, rather than enjoying a neutral space as our own. We didn’t even fully unpack.

Finally, after some days of enduring the smell, and hoping perhaps we’d get used to it, we had to finally admit defeat. So we checked out early and went to a lovely guest house nearby - a little disappointed, quite tired from not being able to fully relax, and me in desperate need of a good manicure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2014
Following this contrasting review we have carried out a thorough check on the property and taken on board the comments and actioned what needed to be addressed eg. the broken chair, the personal items, food in the cupboards. We have had the assurance that all is as it should be from 3 recent and separate bookings that our holiday home does indeed reflect the advert and guest reviews to date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing