We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all round”
Review of A Lagosteira

A Lagosteira
Reserve with
A Lagosteira is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 53 Restaurants in Olhos de Agua
Price range: $13 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good all round”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice in an 8 day holiday. Excellent food and great service. Price is above average but you get what you pay for. There is a great display of fish and crabs etc in the tanks, and the restaurant was very busy on both occasions. There is a nice seating area outside but was a bit chilly whilst we were there, to eat out. However, the staff offer you a blanket to put around your shoulders etc which is very sweet. One aspect that was odd was that there was a large TV in the restaurant, with no volume, showing a football match-very out of place. Would recommend and visit again if we were in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SallyGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    177
    69
    42
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Mediocre food but friendly staff and relaxed environment”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

After spending 4 days in Algarve, we had visited a number of fantastic restaurants all of which had been recommended by locals. The food we had eaten was brilliant and the prices were so cheap compared to what we were used to in London. So when we were recommended A Lagosteira by our hotel, we were sure it would be a hit.

Unfortunately, it missed the mark on a number of fronts. The food was OK (not good but OK) but not what we had expected from the prices on the menu. I paid 21 Euros for a "fillet" steak (to be cooked medium) with sauteed potatoes and a side salad. It was very over priced for what i got on the plate. The steak was not fillet steak (it would have been rump steak at best, was overcooked to well done and was slightly chewy) the potatos were nice as was the mushroom sauce but the side salad was literally a pile of lettuce with 3 slices of onion and a slab of tomato. I would have expected more particularly when i paid less than this and i was sitting on the beachfront in Albufeira eating a proper fillet steak. It was very disappointing.

What made up for the mediocre food was the warm, friendly atmosphere (perfect if you have young children as there is a decent outdoor area) and the approachable staff. The staff were attentive which was a positive and we were offered free port before leaving the restaurant which was a nice touch. We were advised that they have live music some nights during the week and were told to come back and visit. If i do, it will be for the music and the port only and not the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pumbaa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to eat with friends or family”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were staying at Vale de Carros resort just down the road from this restaurant. A neighbour recommended us to visit the place. The staff were very welcoming and gave us a large table for our group of 7. The restaurant was a relaxed environment to eat at and the tables were well spaced so we had our privacy.

Since we were in a place near the seaside we wanted to try out the seafood. My friends tried out the Sea Bass and Cod dishes while I had the Golden Bream and a side order of Calamari. The food was served very quickly and the waiter brought us some homemade Piri Piri sauce to try. It had a rich taste with a spicy kick to it... I wanted to know the secret recipe!

The Golden Bream was a full cooked fish which it had some bones, however it had a lot of flavour and was very filling with the cooked vegetables it came with.

For desert we had a Romantica (in the UK it's called the Fantastica) and a Cappuccino. The staff were helpful, they spoke good english and regularly checked to see if we were happy with the food or to see if we needed anything else.

The price cost a little more than some of the other places, however the food tasted good and we were always served with a smile by the different members of staff that were dealing with us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimblebits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

wonderful restaurant, food was excellent, staff very friendly and helpful, maybe a little out of the way but well worth going to, great value for money......taxi driver May 00351 918 025 015 recommended this restaurant and it was the best we ate at so if you have a chance visit

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LEIGH r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tour d Aigues
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Special experience”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went as a group of eight on a Friday night in April and sat in the garden. As it was chilly we started to pull out sweaters etc. One of the staff saw tgis and within a minute three staff arrived with car rugs to put round our shoulders! What a start!! The rest was just as good if not better. Delicious Cataplana, excellent vinho verde, and a great atmosphere. Two very professional singer/guitarists provided the local touch with some typical portuguese music as well as a few gloden oldies. Overall a wonderful evening at extremely reasonable prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jr84240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Lagosteira also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 

Been to A Lagosteira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing