We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TUI BLUE Falesia
Nearby Hotels
$210
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Clube Humbria by 3HB(Olhos de Agua)
$220
$213
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Falesia Mar by 3HB(Olhos de Agua)
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Falesia Garden by 3HB(Olhos de Agua)
$118
$101
roomertravel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartamentos do Parque(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PortoBay Falesia(Albufeira)
$134
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (2,848)
Filter reviews
2,848 results
Traveler rating
1,735
839
229
28
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,735
839
229
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriu palacea la carte restauranthalf boardgala dinnermassive bedglass of sparkling winea partial sea viewpool arealovely hotellow keyshow cookingtable servicerelaxing holidaywalk in showerthomson repplenty of choiceplenty of sunbeds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,546 - 1,551 of 2,848 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous week here, and agree with a lot of previous reviews, including the beds being hard.
Reception staff very efficient, and when checking in, you are offered a glass of sparking wine, whether it was a bus load of travellers, or just one person.
On arrival for our evening meal, the hotel manager was there, along with the restaurant manager, and other waiting staff. We were warmly welcomed, and one of the waiters showed us where all the food items were, and took us to our table, which is ours for the evening meal. Later on, the restaurant manager came along and asked us if we were happy with our table, or did we want to move.
The food is excellent, very good quality and well presented. Everything was freshly cooked, and a lot of the chefs are in full view doing the cooking.
I really liked the choice of desserts, a lot of them are like mini belgian chocolates, and there are between 12 and 15 per night, very difficult to choose!!
The hotel manager and his assistant can be seen around the foyer and in the restaurant. The manager spoke to us at the welcome meeting, and told us he was available at any time.
Phill, the Thomsons rep, was very helpful, knowledgeable and approachable, and gave us a little tour of the area, just after our welcome meeting.
There is no music played around the pool area, no-one trying to cajole you into joining any games, no bingo or mini disco, so it is a very quiet and peaceful hotel, as it is on a cul-de-sac so no passing traffic.
We would definitely go back and will recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank holidaygirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Visited this hotel for the first time in Feb 13. Staff very nice and helpful. A spotlessly clean hotel. Beautiful food, both cold and hot food could not be faulted, lovely selection every day and also beautiful choice of two soups every day... oh and champagne, plenty of it if you wished at breakfast!!. The beds were not comfortable but we requested mattress toppers and within 10 mins of our arrival a maid came to the room and made up our bed with the topper and we found this made a massive difference, and created a very comfortable bed. We had a room on the top floor, located overlooking the tennis courts at the side of the hotel, when we stayed in February, it was very quiet. The gardens were beautiful, so nice to see the flowers and herbs, and oranges and lemons in February, when we had left behind ice and snow!! The indoor pool was fine, a little low in temperature as was also the jacuzzi, the steam room etc was fine. My only disappointment was the spa. It was a cold room and also no atmosphere was created, no lovely aromatherapy candles burning which emitted a relaxing scent, no oils burning and the most disappointing of all no HEAT. I was absolutely frozen, I had a body treatment and the towels were not even warmed up, my partner after my experience cancelled the treatment they had booked. No free WiFi, bit of a disappointment. The village of Olhos de Agua we are familiar with and enjoy a few places on the seafront for lunch of sardines and salad and a small coffee and cake shop on the hill down to the beach. Apart from this we loved the hotel and we would stay again if we wanted to stay in a hotel in Portugal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kaz8898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is great. Really clean, lovely open areas and great pool area too. There are two separate pools; one for children specifically. The food was buffet style but despite that was very good! Really, really impressed with a great choice. My son, who has a dairy allergy, was able to eat easily. Generally the staff was fantastic too!

There are a couple of things to mention though. One is the location. It is a 9 euro taxi ride to Albufeira and a 20 euro taxi ride to Vilamoura and so if you want a decent range of restaurants or want a selection of bars you will need to go to either of those places. We were on a holiday with a couple of young children so it was not sure an issue for us but for others you might decide to go and stay in one of the other resorts. There is really not a great deal in Olhos d'Agua itself; a few restaurants, a couple of bars and a supermarket but little else.

The other thing is the entertainment. During the day it is a quiet hotel, and so is nice and relaxing. In the evening there was some entertainment. In the bar was a guy who played piano; he was fantastic. Some of the other entertainment though really needed a revamp and needed a bit of an update!

Other than that the hotel was great. For a relaxing time, it's a great choice!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichasUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Palace for 1 week in April. What a gem of a place in an unspoilt resort! It was our first visit but we will definitely go back at some time. We agree with a lot of the reviewers who say the staff are excellent. We found that the hotel had an air of professionalism about it, which may be due to the strong presence of the management at most times of the day. (Not a bad thing in our opinion).

The room was of a good size, and kept spotlessly clean. We had one day when the maid didn’t appear at all so the room was left untidy and we had no change of towels, but everyone deserves a day off don’t they? We don’t agree with the reviewers who complained about the beds being hard. Its not really a big issue.

The hotel is well situated in a quiet spot, and well served by restaurants and bars if you want to experience life outside the hotel. The resort centre is a 15 minute stroll away. It is very small, but there are bars and restaurants aplenty. There is a bus service which will take to Albufeira in one direction or Vilamoura in the other, and taxis are plentiful and quite reasonably priced.
The hotel food is excellent. Plenty of choice with show cooking. The restaurant staff really looked the business in their black uniforms. One thing we weren’t overjoyed with was the close proximity of the tables. We felt obliged to strike up a conversation with our ‘neighbours’ so as not to appear rude, but really we wanted to enjoy time to ourselves over a leisurely dinner. We don’t want to sound negative at all so we’ll leave it at that. One thing we thought was a particularly good idea was that there were two sittings for the evening meal, which stopped the restaurant getting over crowded. Well done Riu Palace for that!

The beach is a bit of a trek away, which was a little bit disappointing, but well worth the effort. As mentioned by a previous reviewer you can reach it either by wooden steps from the hotel, or by taking a more roundabout route through a disused hotel. However, at the time of our visit the sea was a little too rough and too cold for our liking so we stayed around the pool.
The pool area is well set out with a bar and separate restaurant and plenty of sunbeds with mattresses for extra comfort. (The area around the pool, as well as all the public areas, is kept very clean). We found the restaurant by the pool a little too formal and a touch expensive for lunch, so we took a short walk down the road where there are a few restaurants selling snacks and a fabulous Italian restaurant, which has a ‘Happy Hour’ menu for lunch. Well recommended!

All in all a fantastic week in the sun, and a very relaxing holiday. Please don’t go to Olhos d’Agua if you are looking for the high life as you will be sorely disappointed. However, if you seeking a well earned rest and some sunshine and a relaxing stay in a well run hotel, then the Riu Palace is the place for you.

Room Tip: Higher floor better for views.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mikky_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Have just returned from a two week holiday for trhe second year running and enjoyed it so much have booked again for next year.
The hotel is without doubt the cleanest we have been to and all areas are regularly double checked by a supervisor to maintain their very high standards. The rooms are comfortable and nicely equiped with table and chairs on the balcony. The beds large and comfortable and mattress toppers are readily availble from reception if required. You do need to take tea making facilities if required. There is also a mini bar, ceiling fan and good air conditioning. Plenty of wardrobe space and hangers. Old type TV with plenty of channels to choose from.The bathroom has a hairdyer, shaver socket, bath, shower with loads of hot water, sink, biddet and towels.
Excellent reception staff willing to help in any aspect of your holiday.
The restaurant has an allocated table on arrival for dinner at 18.30hrs. or 20.30 hrs.. On the second day if not satisfied this can be changed via the head waiter. The restaurant is very well staffed with quick and efficient service. Two soups, enormous salad bay including meats, seafood etc. Several hot starters, large Italian food bar, approx 4 fish courses, 4 plus meat courses, chefs special meat course, plenty different veg dishes, hot sweet course with a good variety of other sweets to choose from. Then if enough room chheses and biscuits.
Bottle of beer app.2.55eu. wine full bottle 14 eur. and 25cl at app 5.6e.
The large gardens and pool area are a joy with plenty of loungers etc. to go around.
A good 5 minute walk will take you to the supermarket near the vuillage car park/taxi rank. There are two nect door to one another. By far the cheapest and best is the one to the left when facing called Carrotte are similar next to the cafe. They will even open the wine for you to take out and phone cards can be bought there too.. There are 2 bank machines turning right to the main road t junction, then left towards the Pharmacy and on a couple of hundred yards. Next to Marbles Cafe is also a a superb gift/ladies clothes shop..
Buses run in either direction app.every hour to Vilamoura/ Faro or Albufeira.
Turning left at the car park and down the hill takes you to the beach with a splathering of gift shops and restaurants, (Try Azul excellent quality special meal at 6 euros choice of 5 main courses) . Superb sandy beach to walk along. Very relaxing.
If you want the more busy/energetic resort then Albufeira and not Olhos has to be the choice especially with children.
Forgot to mention WI-FI to my knowledge is available in reception area for a charge of app 3 euros for half an hour or their are 3 PCs at 1 euro for 15 mins near reception.
I think if you have a laptop (not tablet) you can use it free in the bedroom.providing you bring your connection.
Loads of car parking nearby.



Th

Room Tip: Rooms to the East get morning sun and those to the West afternoon evening sun
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank spinone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews