We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow”

Nelson's Restaurante Bar
Ranked #10 of 52 Restaurants in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Tried this place after reading the reviews on here. On walking up to the restaurant it does look a little bit more like a ice cream parlour/roadside cafe, BUT and this is a big but, go in and enjoy good food, in a friendly efficient establishment. you must try it!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holli666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    76
    21
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Came here after reading the reviews , glad I did.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went twice during our recent holiday.
Great food , great service , will go back again.
Try the "Suckling Pig" not cheap and had to order the day before , but amazing.
Located on the main road through olhos d'agua next to tavertinos restaurant.
10/10

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank imaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great meals and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Been to Nelsons numerous times. Great selection of food for everyone's taste. Casual surroundings so you feel at ease there. Booked my birthday party in september. Nelson won't disappoint. He's preparing a buffet for us all. I've seen his buffets -they are wonderful. And the desserts - - we'll, what can I say .....amazing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank windymill18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent food, brilliant service”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A great place for a good meal with top service. The food is excellent value for money, particularly the daily specials which are 'different' and well worth trying. Also if you get the chance try the suckling pig though you do have to order beforehand.

This is not 'fine dining' with posh waiters and table settings, and not the place you'd probably choose for a romantic night out. More of a cafe atmosphere and nothing wrong with that.

There is clearly great affection for Nelson and his family among regulars: several we've seen more than once, and they clearly enjoy the food and atmosphere of the place.

We've known Nelson at various restaurants in Olhos over the years and love his positive attitude and pride in giving the best possible service he can: I don't think I've ever seen anyone work as fast or as hard as him.

I don't think even he would ever really claim his was the best restaurant in Olhos (as at least one person has, and results sometimes from the odd Trip advisor system). Well he would but tongue in cheek... but it is well worth 5 stars.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in Algarve!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Nelsons is the place to go, and the best Piri-Piri chicken in the Algarve. We stayed a week but had to visit a few times, as well as being our first port of call after arriving! Also Nelsons wife makes the most amazing homemade deserts, my son highly recommends her Lemon Meringue Pie :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Snorbitz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelson's Restaurante Bar also viewed

Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 

Been to Nelson's Restaurante Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing