We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but could have been great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
High Peak Derbyshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good but could have been great”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a week at the Adriana Beach Club. First impressions were fairly good. Reception was well presented and the staff were very helpful. We were handed a map of the complex and shown how to find our room, which luckily wasn't too far away as it was raining. The place was heaving which was a little daunting, I hadn't expected it to be so busy. Later we discovered that it was mainly due to the rain - everyone crammed inside. We didn't realise that the 3 bars and restaurants advertised had actually been reduced to one, half the complex being closed down for the season, leaving just one of each. I think this should be pointed out by travel agents for people booking at the end of the season.

The bar was good - the staff were excellent, special thanks to Carlos! The restaurant was ok. Excellent salads and a fair variety of hot food - at the beginning of the week. It was cleanish - I hated the leather look covers on the tables at breakfast and lunch as they always seemed sticky, and the windows needed a good clean. Niggle - not enough teaspoons! I don't want to stir my morning coffee with a desert spoon! The coffee in the machines was disgusting, but fortunately I found sachets of nescafe decaf and stuck to that.
Beginning of the week the restaurant was great, towards the end, the rooms started closing - ok less people - but standards started dropping and food started shrinking. Chips all over the floor not cleaned up and it seemed strange that as the staff had less people to cope with, they never seemed to around. The salads started to look tired and by the end of the week I was totally bored with the menu.

The complex itself is very nice. The grounds are well maintained - the staff fighting against the bad weather we kept getting - sweeping leaves became a full time chore! The walk along the cliffs is stunning and the beach is very nice. They were clearing all the beds from the beach as the weather wasn't so good - a little premature perhaps as it improved greatly towards the end of the week. We walked along the beach to Villamora which was exhausting but very pleasant.

The pool area was very good. Never got to swim in the pool as it was always full of kids, but they enjoyed it although everyone said it was freezing. It was nice for sunbathing although the beds were always wet due to the rain either in the morning or over night!

The beds are very uncomfortable. My partner and I ended up with twin beds whist pushed together were made up separately which it turned out was a bonus as we didn't necessarily keep each other awake so much with the restless nights. The room was very basic but ok. I was glad to find channel 5 and BBC1 on the TV as some days we had bad weather and couldn't always be out of the room.

Overall it was a nice place. The staff are great, the place is very nice, there are just a few niggles that make me want to down grade it from a 4 star to a 3 star, but that could be simply down to it being end of season. Having said that; I'd still recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LoonyPrune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    728
    254
    68
    39
See reviews for
1,058
530
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a bit of an issue when we arrived at the hotel; I spoke to the manager who was fantastic. He helped us sort out the problem and treated us like VIPs afterwards. The staff and facilities were wonderful. Best food I've ever had at an all-inclusive. Definitely 4 star plus. I am so impressed that 1 week before they close for winter they are still operating a full kids club and animation team. And to top it all, my husband won Mr Adrianna! Thanks to the hotel, staff, other friendly guests we met who were on their repeat visit (I can see why) and On the Beach who we booked with - a superb holiday and we would love to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank GloucesterLeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Remember it's the last week of the season, so things could be brighter there in the summer months, the weather played a part in our enjoyment of this holiday.

Highlights where very clean rooms and if you pay that bit more for a upgraded room you get much nearerer the main Hotel complex and better amenities, flat screen TV etc.

English TV chanels, and a good size balcony, fantastic views (except the rubbish and skips outside the main restaurant rear window) and lovely well kept grounds which where a highlight to behold.

The beds, as reported, are hard to sleep on but it didn't retract anything from the room at all.

Good bar service and waiter service (a bit stretched at times in the restaurant) and Reception.

A good outside pool area and surroundings to relax in. A nice beach with cleanish shore lines but not for the faint hearted on the access front, very high steps down onto the beach.

Pleasant and helpful staff.

Negatives, very important for everyone is food, all I can say is there is a selection, but does get a little repetitive at times, also I think there needs to be a bit more imagination and less of the off beat food that is served in the main buffet restaurant, I can't put my finger on it but sometimes less good food is better than lots of mediocre dishes you just wouldnt try.

Also wet seats in the restaurant and cob webs round all the table lights are not nice !

Coffee machines stop working due to lack of refil through the day, this happens a lot, in the snack area.

Lack of maintenance on the mini golf course, needs some money and love spending on it, also don't let your kids lean on the fences in this area some posts have rusted through/buckled and it's a drop on the other side! Also watch out for the trip hazards, moving path stones and tree roots/cables exposed round the course, also if it rains you will be playing water polo with golf clubs as the holes flood.

What this complex needs is a injection of money in the right places, update the tired areas and restaurants and it could pass for a 4 Star Plus.

Room Tip: Upgrade ! Don't go basic or you will end up in block z, a mile away from most of the action, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We emailed the hotel before as one of group had a wheel chair and needed to be on ground floor if possible,on arrival ,yes we were allocated ground floor but to get to the room we had to go up two flights of stairs then down two to be on ground floor,the man who drove the golf buggy to our room ,said no problem and radio in to reception.We were then transported back to reception and the problem was sorted our friends had a room on ground floor with no stairs,whilst at recepition another couple had similar problem and the problem sorted.The rooms were spacious and very comfortable and very clean.The whole complex was very clean and gardens kept to a very high standard,the swimming pool had plenty of lounges the spa ,indoor pool,and jaquzzi were also clean,and the spa part which we never used did look clean and resonably price.The hotel put on diffrent enternament mainly for a muli national audence.during the day a full programme of activies ,The food in the resturant was very good , with plenty of fish pork,pasta and salads,deserts was mainly cakes, fresh fruit and ice cream.The hotel while we were there also had theme nights Mexician,far east,deep south america and portugese all the staff dressed up.As it was one of our parties birthday during our stay the hotel made a cake and presented a bottle of sparlking wine a nice gesture,The drinks from the bar were served in glass near the bar and plastic near pool ,some moaned about this I see this as complety perfect as a first aider, glass can cut feet very easily and can be very painful.The hotel also provide a mini bus to the town free of charge and also will phone a taxi.Good tip the reception provides a what's on in the area free book and can advise on markets ,golf courses place's of intrest.I would recommend this hotel to all types we stayed in October 2012 with friends.Please note during our stay the Miss European 2012 girls were staying and were very polite and cause no problem.

Room Tip: If offered a room over the road do not worry it about a one minute walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davebeachclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were very disappointed with the resort. Not 4* by English standards. Lights out on the stairs, other things not working. It took a long time to walk anywhere as it was a long way from both adjacent towns, even going by way of the beach which is reached by lots of steps from the unfenced cliffs. There was not enough room for people to sit in the communal areas when it rained so we ended up going back to our room which was v. basic had no tea/coffee facilities. No comfortable seating in the room either so had to use our pillows on the hard chairs or sit in bed to read or watch TV. Room /linen clean. The food was plentiful but repetitive and not very hot so by the time you got back to your table it was almost cold. There was quite a bit of frozen and processed food. Often had to hunt for missing cutlery,cups, tea bags etc. All beverages from vending machines.Cold meats every day on just a side table was left uncovered not kept chilled. Only 1 restaurant open very little evening entertainment but plenty for children. Don,t bother with packed lunch for trips! Snacks were left out for a long time keeping warm, burgers still pink inside. Staff helpful & polite. Did not enjoy our stay would not go again. Beware the walls are thin noisy neighbours can be a problem when bar closes & TV on in early hours!

Room Tip: Some rooms are a long way from main areas not all have baths only shower. Lots of steps to all room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in the beginning of October. Check in was very quick, we got rooms close to our friends as requested. Our room was triple, had no bath tube and it was very hot since air conditioning was switched off because of cold nights recently. At the reception we were asked to wait for ten minutes and got another room in same building.
We liked all in this hotel, especially quite zone close to Grill restaurant and Aqua Marina bar. Spent days by laying on grass zone close to the pool. Pity it was closed in few days because of low season.
We liked SPA center a lot, jacuzzi and Turkish bath.
Animation team is doing their best, really, great job.
Restaurant is excellent in all meanings.
Bar staff is doing great, also. We didn't understand why they always request guest cards id we were wearing AI bracelets, but it's nothing to do with good impression.
Beach is nice, take a walk to Villamoura. Toilets are only on the hill, it was only one minus.
Housekeeping workers are invisible and rooms are spotless.
We rented a car to visit Sevilla, it was great experience.
Thanks to Lowcostholiday we saved money and had great holiday in Portugal. Lithuanian travel agencies have to learn a lot :)
And at last one really bad experience - it's transfer company Greenbus. On the day of arrival we had to wait for 3,5 hours in the bus without water and toilets nearby by waiting for other pssengers who never showed up. On last day it took 4 hours trying to reach Greenbus company to confirm departure time. So all in all 7,5 hours of our holiday was spent on them. Shame.

So in total we are very happy and sincerely thankful to Lowcostholiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenataAndGedas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

one of the best hotel/resorts ive stayed in staff are freindly and happy seems good managment is the key the resort is huge well kept gardens plenty to explore great for kids plus kids on resturaunt food for the youngsters plenty of space in the main dining area food well spoilt for choice pasta lovers heaven good selection of dishes and deserts starters etc all inclusive deal is best ive seen by far many may wonder why they scan you room key is purley to ensure those paying all iclusive package arnt being out done by those who arnt and to check you are A/i thats all the wrist bands are purley for security purposes location is ok inbetween albufuriea and villanova later is easy to walk to along the beack or cliff tops taxi to bothe areas £15 euros or by bus or hotel bus must book day before car hire if you want to explore or organised trips as location is remote beach 5 mins down oath the steps down to beach some bars were closed but that happens anywhere at back end of season note all iclusive deal gets you beer spirits liqures coctails wine champange for brekie ice cream tea coffee snacks all day soft drinks international drinks are not A/I some may moan but its great plact go relax explore you wont get a better deal you get what you pay for this was by far a good resort

Room Tip: all are good blocks ab and aa are just across road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
2.5 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
1.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
2.3 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
1.8 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
13.2 mi away
Be Live Family Palmeiras Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort

Property: Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort
Address: Apartado 6115 Rocha Baixinha, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-379, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an area of 17 hectares, Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort has 439 rooms, providing family environment, diverse service offer and quality care. Situated in Olhos de Água, in the municipality of Albufeira, in the Algarve, this Resort is housed in natural environment and enjoys a privileged location next to the beach, guaranteeing the peace and privacy of our guests, yet ideal for holding events. The proximity of the city of Albufeira and Vilamoura tourist complex, two tourist destinations and animation of the region represents an alternative for those who prefer to explore the potential around the hotel. The All Inclusive concept takes in this hotel its highest expression, given that waiver include the diverse range of services provided. Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort offers a huge variety of buffets in our 3 Restaurants: A main Restaurant and two theme restaurants(availability and time-tables may change and are subject to seasonal demand), which include meat and fish dishes, as well as vegetarian options, freshly baked pizzas,soups, pasta, salads and desserts. Throughout the day, in addition to the main meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner), there are snacks. Drinks are also included, throughout the day and during all meals. There is water, soft drinks, beer, wine and other alcoholic drinks. In our hotel, the All Inclusive offer theme nights, where our buffets change and give you the possibility of enjoying new dishes: Portuguese, asian, tropical, mexican and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquamarina Beach Club Hotel Olhos De Agua
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Albufeira
Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort Olhos De Agua, Portugal - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing