We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agua Marinha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agua Marinha
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just returned from a 5 night break with my sister. A lovely little hotel hidden away in a peaceful and tranquil area.Lovely balconies with beautiful views of the surrounding area. Very clean with comfy beds but the pillows need reviewing. A very simple breakfast but the fresh bread is lovely.

Maria and her son that checked us in are lovely people very warm and genuine.
There is a lovely little pool area with plenty of beds, the pool is small and very cold but good on a very hot day.

The only negative was checking out on the last day my sister returned the safe key which required a 5 euro deposit which we paid to Maria's son when he checked us in and I must say what a lovely guy. Anyhow because we were not issued a receipt the father Maria's husband was not very pleased about returning our money for some reason. We obviously got the key when we paid the deposit. We did feel a bit uncomfortable at his reaction.

Any how would we go again! definately.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    134
    33
    5
    5
See reviews for
23
289
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

My 3rd visit to this hotel in 3 years. Every year the building is improved showing the dedication required for continual success and it's is not expensive to stay here. See the reviews for local amenities. This is a family business, and the more times I visit this place the better I like it. It is unsuitable to children but great for couples/friends who want a chill out holiday. It has a bar, serves food, (breakfasts are traditional but if you want and English breakfast you can get one at a lovely little café 3 minutes walk from the hotel), has a pool and sunbathing facilities. Bedrooms have balconies, fridges showers and some have baths, safe locks and air-con is a little extra. Sunshades are available to borrow if you want to go down the beach. For those who want to visit the Algarve there are plenty of trips/adventures/ available to book from the hotel (Brochures available), or the local excursion shops. The staff have never tried to sell anything to me but always been very helpful and courteous whenever I needed help, and are on call throughout the day. Any little problems that you may have are resolved without any problem just say. You can dine in or out its not expensive. The town is spread around the road from Albufeira and has numerous cafes, shops newsagents and some supermarkets. There is a top beach with few amenities and the main beaches which are a 20 minute walk away, through the town and down the hill at the traffic lights. Directions to the long beach are available from the staff. Most of the prices have gone down in the area from last year except the taxis, but then the fuel has risen by quite a lot (15%) according to a taxi driver. I'm finding Olhos a better resort than Albufeira, but its each to their own. Every time I've been to this hotel there are always people there on a repeat visit (says it all). See also my last years review.

Room Tip: I would like to try all the rooms. each room has its own individuality, They are easterly southerly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

My bf and I stayed for 10 nights, it was a good area near the town but not central so it was quite. The hotel was full of couples no kids. There is a bar & snacks. The breakfast is ok nothing special but does the job. The pool is small but good perfect for a dip in the heat. Supermarket & several restaurants v.close to the hotel. 3miles from albuferia taxi are roughly €7. The couple running the hotel are v.friendly and happy to help.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Had a 2 week holiday there end of May/June. The rooms had been up dated from last year. Cleaned each day by a wonderful lady called Maria. We received a warm welcome. Pool was clean, the surrounding garden was beautiful. We were sorry to come home, going back next year, a lot of the people we spoke to will be doing the same.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Lovely small hotel with a pool. The room was fresh & clean, the hotel is a family business & all staff were very friendly. Simple buffet style breakfast was pleasant, food is available throughout the day at reasonable prices too. 10 minute walk to the wonderful beaches. Lots of bars & restaurants around the corner. My husband & I had 3 days here and we intend to go back. Lovely area to stay too.

Room Tip: Supermarket around the corner. Take teabags or coffee as they are not supplied in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Ostfold, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have just come home from a holiday in Algarve-our first in Portugal.What a wonderful part of Europe.We had great weather and enjoyed our holiday from the first minute we come.The little hotel is nice with a wonderful garden,nice family take care of us all.But some small things we must mention,the room was allways very clean,but the pillows were terrible,so hard and not made for Norwegian heads-try to change them.
Breakfast could be better-we had gladly paid a little moe,just ham,cheese,jam the whole week-what about eggs,omelette or bacon some times?
We travelled around,nice people everywhere,lot to see in Algarve-we surely come back,but sad no other Scandinavians around the village we lived.The nearest beach around 20 minutes to walk was really great.We loved the towns Lardos and Loule-hope many others from Norway want to travel to Algarve-just do it-it is great and the airport in Faro was easy to use.So all godd wishes to Rose and her family from to men in Norway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjørn Atle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking big, uniform, bland.... Forget it! This hotel was small, quirky, friendly and clean. It's a Portuguese family run hotel not an international chain. It's a little out of the way if you've mobility problems but a pleasant 1km walk to the town and beach if you don't. Continental breakfast but ample. Small but clean pool but often you were the only one in it. Would definitely go back! Lovely relaxing holiday

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
0.0 mi away
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Velamar Boutique Hotel
#11 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 7 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#21 of 161 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort
0.8 mi away
Porto Bay Falesia
Porto Bay Falesia
#5 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.6 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 7 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Marinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Marinha

Property: Agua Marinha
Address: Torre Da Medronheira Caminho da Alfarrobeira, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-602, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Olhos de Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agua Marinha 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Agua Marinha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Marinha Hotel Olhos De Agua
Agua Marinha Olhos De Agua, Portugal - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing