We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”
Review of Agua Marinha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Agua Marinha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is a great little hotel and as it is generally adults only we found it just fantastic over the christmas period. The whole of the main floor has been refurbished and it is really nice. The beds are clean and comfy too.
The family are fantastic and so helpful and friendly. We would definately recommend this hotel to people. They laid on the most fantastic Christmas dinner which was a really fun and entertaining day. It was not cheap but definately the boat was pushed out on effort and quality/
It is easy to walk to the beach and to the strip from here although everyone else seemed to get taxi's. We loved the walk and the area far better than any of the other places we visited. You can walk all the way to Vilamoura marina on the beach which is a long way but beautiful. Have lunch then walk back to see the sunset. Fantastic. You can also enjoy a walk along the cliff tops in either direction which is also stunning.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms on the first floor are good we have been told. We were 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 393 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We booked this as a budget hotel and whilst it was cheap, it was wonderful.
The room was large, very clean, had all the facilities we needed and had a view of the pool.
The hotel is family run and they make the effort to speak to you and will do anything to ensure you have a nice stay.
Breakfast is continental and sufficient. There are snacks and drinks available throughout the day.
The hotel is relatively small but never feels cramped and there is a great community. Many people come back annually, just because it is so good.
The area is lovely too, 10 minutes walk to restaurants and the beach. We travelled around but the immediate beach is the best and most convenient.
We will come back next year and recommend you to do the same.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bigboybrowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Just enjoyed a 6 day break after Christmas. Small friendly hotel very clean and comfortable with basic continental breakfast. The refurbished rooms are lovely, with great views from the balconys. Ideally situated to explore the local area with lovely beaches 10 minutes walk away. There are a few shops and plenty of cafes and restaurants to choose from, all good value and good food. the pastries are delicious. A taxi is 10 minute ride to Albefuera. but we enjoyed the less commercial experience off Olhos de Aqua which we loved.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a spiral staircase to them, not suitable for less able bodied
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RendalSouthTyneside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had a lovely stay over the New Year period. Not very many facilities but it was clean and the hosts were very friendly. Our room was perfect for our needs, somewhere to sleep and was before exploring the area. Only issue was that the breakfasts could have had more variety other than that perfect.

Room Tip: To have the sun all day on your balcony room 205.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichaelandAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

In summary, this is a good value & quiet, friendly little hotel from which you can explore the local area, having enjoyed a really good continental breakfast!

The room was perfectly adequate, with enough space & enough clothes storage, including hangers. There was a kettle, a fridge and a safe & the bathroom was fine. There was always enough hot water for a good shower. Our room didn't get much sun so it felt a bit gloomy to me, but I suspect that if we had been in another room I'd have felt happier as lots of the rooms got more sun than ours did.

The pool area was nice, and didn't ever get too crowded plus it was sunny & relaxing

The breakfast is the thing that we really raved about here - it was really good, particularly considering that this is a cheap & cheerful hotel. There were always oranges to freshly squeeze, ham, cheese, bread, cake, fruit salad, coffee, tea etc. We really enjoyed the breakfasts. We ate lunch at the hotel only once because after the good breakfasts, we found the lunches they served just too much for us. We used the local supermarket to get a few provisions in the fridge & that worked out well for us.

The family running the hotel were friendly and helpful.

The location was probably a bit of a disappointment when we arrived because it's just off a fairly busy road, with no view of any beaches. However, it was quiet.

During the week we explored & walked to several lovely local beaches, which were impressive: long, clean, unspoilt and relaxing. Most beaches had a beach bar with toilets, snacks & drinks. We found that you can explore a fair way around the coastline by scrambling around the headlands from one beach to the next, which was fun.

We also explored a few of the local restaurants and cafes, which were all very good (including the Indian around the corner).

The walk to Olhos De Aqua centre & beach was about about 15 mins, and there are several nice restaurants & bars around there. We particularly recommend Restaurante O Manuel up the steps at the top of the road down to the beach.

We also recommend trying the local vino verde as well as the local rose wine - both very drinkable as well as not too pricey.

Overall, a nice little place and the hotel is good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
5  Thank Sunlover38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a great hotel to spend Christmas at (or any other week of the year probably)! It's a friendly, family run hotel which is currently being updated. The room we had had recently been refurbished with a new bathroom - we were the first to use it, and it was clean and had good storage facilities. The room also had a small fridge, air con and a balcony. Breakfast was basic, but good quality and was a buffet so you could choose what you wanted. All our queries and questions were answered by Paul & Rosa and they also opened breakfast a bit early on our last day so we could have something to eat before we left. There was a Christmas day meal at the hotel, which took most of the afternoon & evening and clearly involved a lot of alcohol. I'm vegetarian so as Portuguese food is mostly meat based, we didn't participate, but those who did said the food was delicious. The hotel bar was open most evenings and stayed open late managed by Paul and overseen by Troika (the cat) who sits on her favourite stool. Olhos is a quiet place at Christmas, so there weren't a lot of restaurants & bars open, but if you fancy more action there are busses to Albufeira and Vilamoura. The beach and the coast are beautiful and well worth a visit, the sea was too cold to go into, but but great to watch as it crashed over the rocks on the coast. Well worth a visit at any time of the year, thanks for a great holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amber665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

the hotel needed freshening up you could not lock the patio door in the room we found the room was small the toilet and shower needed modernising as they were shabby and it really nee4ded a lick of paint but I will say the owners were very friendly and also the maids

Room Tip: do not choose room 6 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daffybullduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Velamar Boutique Hotel
#7 of 154 in Albufeira
1,416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#24 of 154 in Albufeira
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
TUI BLUE Falesia
TUI BLUE Falesia
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,776 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
1,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clube Maria Luisa
Clube Maria Luisa
#4 of 13 in Olhos de Agua
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Marinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Marinha

Address: Torre Da Medronheira Caminho da Alfarrobeira, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-602, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Olhos de Agua
Price Range: $34 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agua Marinha 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Agua Marinha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Marinha Hotel Olhos De Agua
Agua Marinha Olhos De Agua, Portugal - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing