We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back again”
Review of Agua Marinha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agua Marinha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

went back to the agua marinaha again 22nd september and once again couldnt fault it,apart from the weather which wasnt very good but still had a relaxing time. rosa had the karoke on and i sang a few songs with her which was a good laugh as i didnt know half the songs, always made welcome at this homely little hotel me my partner and our2 friends will again be back next year .

Room Tip: try to get a room that dosent look into the private villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 390 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

After visiting this hotel last year and being really pleased we decided to pay another visit.
On arrival the owner seemed a little lost as to what room we should be given. We were eventually allocated a room on the gound floor which proved to be very dissapointing when compared to the room we had last year on a higher floor.
The main problem was proximity to the bar (see later) and the fact that the so called balcony was actually a back yard surrounded by a 6ft hedge that was generally shaded and had no views.it felt very claustrophobic and was not a pleasure to sit out on. The area seemed to flood when it rained and there was a constant smell of damp .
We booked a trip to Lisbon which meant getting up at 5am . This should have been no problem but the hotel has introduced Karaoke which didn't start until 9.30pm the previous evening. We had hoped for an early night due to the early start but by 11.30pm the noise was getting louder and the very small number of drunken guests were getting more roucous. At 11.30 we requested that the noise was decreased due to the early start and we were told that it was only for another 5 minutes. When it got beyond midnight and the noise was actually getting louder we had to ask again for some peace.The Karaoke eventually stopped but 2 guests thought it funny to make as much noise as possible on there way back to there rooms.
The beauty of this hotel was the peacful location and the good standard of considerate guests that fequented it. However there now seems to be a different philosophy and Karaoke and noisy nightlife appear to be on the hotels agenda.
The hotel still has it's good points but the owners need to re-evaluate what it wants to offer to holidaymakers.
If you want to hear 2 drunken geordies screeching out Summer Nights fron Grease this is the ideal place for you

Room Tip: Insist on rooms on a higher floor for a better balcony and peace. This is a very small hotel and any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nottsguy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

At first we were pleased with our first impressions of the 2 star hotel but became dissolusioned as the days went on. Having booked a room with a balcony we had to stay in one without for the first day before we could move to room with balcony. This room was very nice with a great bath/shower room and a small balcony, unfortunately it overlooked a large private villa with a pool which was occupied by 3 families with children so we had a lot of noise when in our room and on balcony. Probably the worst part of our stay was the breakfast, we were not expecting much as only 2 star hotel but were very disappointed with what was on offer and the running out of items. Breakfast for the whole 2 weeks consisted of a choice of fruit juice,yoghurt or cereal (choice of only 2) tea or coffee, fruit cocktail (a bowl of fruit cut into very small pieces) which regularly ran out, bread roll, slice of cheese, very thin slice of ? ham, toast and jam (ran out of marmalade).The pool was nice with no problem getting sunbeds . A nice touch was being able to borrow sand mats and umbrella for the beach (hire of sunbeds on beach 15 euro). Eating out was great, in 14 nights we only had 1 poor meal and prices were very reasonable.
We understand that others staying at same hotel were paying less than us so perhaps it was ok for them but we found better hotels locally for less than the £600 plus that we paid just for the B & B for 14 nights in September. We loved the area and will be going back next year but to a different hotel.

Room Tip: make sure you do not get a room overlooking villas as we found that 3 families with children were s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike/sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here after reading the positive reviews. It's a little away from the very small village of olhos d'agua about 15 mins walk but a pleasant walk. We also walked into Albufeira town. The walk to the strip is approx 30 mins the walk into old town another 30 after that. The old town is lovely with many bars and restaurants and very busy. If walking isn't your thing a taxi to the old town is 7 euros and well worth it. The beach is approx 15 mins walk too, this is the beach signposted GNR. The hotel itself is kept very clean the pool area is nice with gardens and the sunbeds are plastic however you can grab the mattresses which are comfortable. There is a kettle but that's it so even though your self catering this is strictly room only. People obviously stay here more than once as was evident on our stay and all were friendly. Restaurants we ate at included fratellis, acqua, martinos, never had a poor meal in 10 days to be fair and for 7:50 euros at the Cantinho do mar near the hotel you get starter, main with good choices, sweet, glass of wine or beer and a coffee unreal! For a quiet and relaxing holiday you can't go wrong, we would probably stay nearer the old town if we returned but it's a choice you make on booking.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luma4146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Chose this Hotel after reading all the great reviews. It was just as described. A nice size and run by a lovely family. Rosa works really hard to make her guests feel really comfortable and nothing is any trouble. There are so many repeat guests here who have enjoyed it so much that they keep coming back. The beds are particularly comfortable which is a bonus as it is so important. Breakfast is continental with bread selection, meat, cheese, fruit, cake, cereals, yoghurt, jams, honey etc. all you need to set you up for the day. You can squeeze your own orange juice too which was a highlight for me. There is a bookcase stocked with books in the lounge area which is great, saves you using a lot of your luggage allowance carrying books. The free wifi was a real bonus and the signal was very good even in the upper rooms. The Hotel is in a nice quiet residential area and is close enough to the beach, restaurants etc. Cleanliness in the hotel is perfect too. All in all, the Hotel ticks all the boxes and you won't regret staying here for your holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floor are better and a room facing the side road gets the sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Small family hotel with a great staff and nice surroundings. Nice garden pool, cozy room, nice lobby with a free wifi and free parking. The location is also great, its situated in a quiet residential area but still close to the beach and town. Everything was perfect. You found what you are looking for! Stay there!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakubPechar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have been holidaying at the Agua Marinha twice a year for the last 7 years, so it must be good. The family are very kind and helpful, if you are looking for a fun happy holiday then it must be here, well situated for the beaches and various restaurants.

Ian & Joan Marinello

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmarinello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
0.1 mi away
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Velamar Boutique Hotel
#7 of 154 in Albufeira
1,412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#24 of 154 in Albufeira
712 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,765 reviews
0.9 mi away
Falesia Mar by 3HB
Falesia Mar by 3HB
#4 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clube Maria Luisa
Clube Maria Luisa
#4 of 13 in Olhos de Agua
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Marinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Marinha

Address: Torre Da Medronheira Caminho da Alfarrobeira, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-602, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Olhos de Agua
Price Range: $37 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Agua Marinha 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Agua Marinha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Marinha Hotel Olhos De Agua
Agua Marinha Olhos De Agua, Portugal - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing