We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“very well equipped and spotlessly clean”

Review of Villa Sereia

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Veranda overlooking garden & pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Veranda overlooking garden & pool
Front of villa sereia
Double bed room upstairs
Pool at sunset
Downstairs lounge
Upstairs ensuite shower bedroom
Upstairs queensize bed room overlooking pool
compact gym
Large L-shaped swimming pool and rear of Villa Sereia
Downstairs dining room (table converts to pool table) and multi gym
Siesta Barn
private pool
Outside covered terrace with BBQ and Pizza oven
Garden picnic area
Downstairs marble bathroom
Upstairs BBQ
Downstairs twin bedroom
Pool / dining table
Picnicking table in the garden by the pool
A villa Sereia group having fun in the pool
Local beach to the villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 5, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: heated pool
Liked least: cant think of anything!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2013
Thank you for a great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hayleigh...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A holiday to remember!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Great stay with family and friends!

We had a lovely time in this spacious villa with all the facilities you could ever need,. The villa itself is very large and easily fitted our group comfortably. Split into 2 parts the upstairs has a self contained kitchen and great ensuite bedroom, the bottom half which leads down to the large pool area had a large sitting room, a pool table,mini gym and fully equipped kitchen . We spent a lot of time around the pool area and made good use of the bbq and spent many happy hours in the pool. The villa was located in a quiet resort but had easy access to Albufeira and the Strip – brilliant nightlife! The local village, Olhos d’Agua and beaches were fabulous.

We were well looked after by Margarida and Arture, who were very helpful and attentive.

I don’t know why anyone would want to give it a bad review, it had everything we needed and we all enjoyed our stay and would happily return to this Villa.

Thank you Joe & Birgit for all your help and making this a memorable stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2013
Thank you for having booked your holiday with us and very happy to hear you had a great stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paula d
london
1 review
“Amazing short break and villa”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Highly recommended family friendly villa.

Great living space and great location close to shops and amenities.

All the family was entertained regardless of age with the facilities provided with various activities for adults and kids incl. pool table, play station, table tennis, etc.

A fantastic kitchen with a bonus pizza oven and bbq, great for family bonding. The kids loved it.

Clean and large swimming pool accessible for all ages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious living area and facilities available at hand
Liked least: The only recommendation would be to have internet access, especially for the kids
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and happy that you enjoyed your break. Look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WallerD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Think again - disappointing”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This villa is described as luxury and although it is well finished in parts the remainder of the villa is dirty and in some areas dangerous, particularly for children. We paid £3500 for a week here for a family celebration - 6 adults and 4 children.
We arrived on our much anticipated family holiday in August and on arrival were immediately disappointed by the villa's presentation. We immediately found a kitchen cupboard door hanging off, dirty washing under one of the beds and a dirty sock in the swimming pool - not a great start.
The downstairs bedroom containing the bunk beds is a badly converted garage and is not very pleasant. Not somewhere you'd feel comfortable leaving the kids.
The kitchen area was dirty and none of the appliances had instructions for use - these were needed, as the labels on the oven and dishwasher had rubbed off. The dishwasher didn't actually wash and we spent the rest of the week washing everything by hand. There is also a major ant problem, so go armed with plenty of Raid!
The bathrooms were nicely finished, but the shower temperature controls did not work and at times the water was scalding. The plug mechanisms had also broken, meaning we had to rely on a plunger and knife to remove them. The towels provided were more torn off strips of rag, mismatched and we couldn't decide which were clean and which were dirty.
Outside the villa the garden and pool were generally well kept, although you need to watch out for the cat faeces! The swings for the kids are broken/missing. The pizza oven does not have instructions and the barbecue was dirty and still had the remnants of the previous occupants meal in the coals. The outside shower does not appear to be completed, so is unusable. The missing and broken lights, mismatched bulbs and exposed electrics detract from what could be a very pleasant area. The maintenance man was very responsive and did deal with the issues reported quickly and the broken travel cot that had been supplied was replaced.
If you have a hire car you cannot use the drive as the owners old BMW is being used as a home for the local cats. Without a car, you will need to rely on taxis to get to the nearest bar, restaurant, supermarket and beach.

All that said, in true British spirit, we made the best of it. We just don't want others to make the same mistake....................

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2013
As a family, we thank you for the information you have provided us with in this review, as it has alerted us to many serious issues which we were previously unaware of, but which have now thanks to you been resolved.
We always strive to maintain the very highest of standards and we are sure that you will concur from the very many positive reviews that we have had previously on this and other review websites (e.g Holiday Rentals) that these have largely been upheld.
Although we live in the UK, we do visit the villa at the beginning of each season to refurbish and improve the property. Thereafter, we entrust the majority of the upkeep, maintenance and cleaning to a managing agency, whom we have utilised now for over 20 years without difficulty.
Obviously, the issues raised in your narrative have caused us much concern and have compelled us to investigate how these problems have escalated so dramatically from the feedback you provided us in your email dated 1/9/2013, wherein you concluded that you had had “a great time”, that our rep had resolved all the issues that you brought to their attention, and we’re “not going away with any negative thoughts”.
Nevertheless, we have now conducted a thorough check with our people in Portugal and have certainly highlighted areas of concern which we can assure you have been addressed.
Your stay in our villa in August came towards the end of a very busy summer in the Algarve and it would appear that our Agency took on extra help in the form of temporary staff, to assist with their workload.
Many of the disappointments you have drawn attention to resulted from unsupervised cleaning and working patterns from inexperienced staff. This practice was without doubt, contrary to our high principles and something which we were ignorant of.
We have been confidently assured that this issue will not arise again and that our important specifications will be adopted once more.
As far as ‘wear& tear’ issues are concerned, this is something that we take on board regularly as this is a self-catering villa and the contents do get used!!
Once again, thank you for your focussing our attention on these latest projects. Steps are already underway to replace the linen and ALL kitchen appliances and repairs have been made to the showers, lights etc. as stated in your review.
Unfortunately, there are some events which remain out of our control.
In a hot country, the presence of dust and external cobwebs is not that unusual. If a full clean of the exterior is carried out before the start of a holiday, it may well be that the outside lights etc. will still attract natural elements such as dust and cobwebs after a couple of days.
Ants aren’t usually a problem, but we are aware that they could be, and eradication methods are normally made available to visitors.
Regrettably, feral cats do roam all around the Algarve. We have addressed the cleanliness aspect already and in our “Welcome Pack”, we do make strenuous efforts to inform our guests not to feed the animals as this continues to attract them to the area. Alas, not all villa owners do the same and so they remain. Even though you are the first to complain to this level, we will take steps to deter the few cats that we have seen from time to time.
We are sorry that you did not like our new “family room”. The villa is advertised as having 7 bedrooms and this latest addition is a ’bonus’ room complete with bunk beds and an en suite, thus providing an eighth bedroom, should our guests like to use it. Again, yours is the first review to criticise our extension built 3 years ago. Guests normally compliment this spacious accommodation as a welcome addition to the property!
As already mentioned, we were in total ignorance about the extent of your disappointment.
As a matter of courtesy, we always make a point of contacting our guests for feedback and the response we received in your case did not fully convey the content of your review.
We pride ourselves on our rapport with our guests, both before and after their holidays. Without exception, we give each and every one of our clients our contact numbers for their use during their stay should any problems arise.
Had your disappointments been brought to our attention at the time of your holiday or indeed during our later correspondence, they could have been dealt with more appropriately.
We feel sure that following the remediation work we have undertaken as a result of your comments, future guests will have a superb experience and any further reviews will mirror the many positive ones we have had over the past 20 years.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAN6656
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed here for a week in August 2013. The villa is average, many things that could have been easily sorted out but weren't.
The kitchen area was dirty, no wine glasses to start with, we had to request these several times before they finally turned up. There was no key provided for the patio doors for the first 3 days, we had to tie them shut with a scarf. The outside area was dirty, cobwebs on all the light fittings. The outside lights were broken or left with bare wires. The pool shower didn't work. The bedrooms were left with lightbulbs out and sheets that didn't fit. All minor things that could have been easily solved but put together can be disappointing when we paid £3500 for a week in a property that was most definitely not luxury.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: position
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2013
I am really sorry to hear that the villa didn't meet your expectations. Thank you so much for having pointed out a few issues which have now been fully resolved as you can see from some really positive new reviews recently posted.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 7, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 9, 2013
Hi, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are extremely pleased you had a wonderful time and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
We have now completed the refurbishment of the interior of the villa and our plans for early 2014 is to re-landscape the garden increasing the sunbathing area and building an outside bar with stools and outside wc.
Best wishes, Jose & Birgit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 21, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space for 16 people to live comfortably with each other
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2013
Thank you! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$402
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing