We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Beach”

Praia dos Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The soft sand & red rocks & cliffs are quite dramatic. When the tide goes out it leaves great rock pools which we liked to look in for small fish. Access is by steps or ramp. When we were there in May it was quiet but I think it probably gets busy during the summer. The bars & cafes are near the beach therefore handy for ice creams & drinks! A lot of the bars in Olhos de Agua had large TV screens showing 24/7 football, which we avoided, but great if you're a fan.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Somersetsilversurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    902
    619
    174
    31
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were a short walk from the beach which was amazing. I am not brave in the sea but it shelved so gradually that I felt totally safe and really enjoyed myself.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lakelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Pretty beach, not too big, sandy, cafes on the beachfront, sheltered from the wind because of small cliffs. Near the strip in Albufeira old town but was surprisingly empty when we were there in May.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank abcde613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great beach for relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Small beach. Steps and ramp down to it. We were there in May 2013. Very quiet so plenty room for sunbathing. Watch out though sometimes the tide sneaks up on you and soaks your towels. You have been warned.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieO070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean sands and imposing cliffs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

The beach seems to go on for miles (which it does of course) all the way to Villamura. We enjoyed the cliff top walks more, in places access is restricted by private hotel grounds but access via the beach can be gained further along. Scenic and peaceful - well worth a look.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cactusjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Praia dos Olhos de Agua also viewed

Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Praia dos Olhos de Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing