We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuine home cooked food and great service”
Review of Jollies Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Jollies Restaurant and Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Genuine home cooked food and great service”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a great little place! Travelling along the main road in Olhos de Agua, you could easily blink and miss this place....it does not feature a slick looking and expensive premises like so many of the larger 'bland' establishments littering the sprawl of Albufeira. Instead, what you have here is a family run smaller premises offering honest food at a good price.

The atmosphere is good, the service is great, its no wonder so many people obviously come back to visit this restaurant again.

We had two nice meals here, the owners were working hard, especially as on our second visit the place was full for most of the evening. I can especially recommend the Piri piri chicken; it was a relief to finally find an establishment that could serve piri-piri without it being small dry shrivelled pieces of chicken wing!!

All the best to the owners!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    59
    23
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Did not enjoy at all”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Went here on the strength of its esteemed reputation on TripAdvisor. Did not enjoy the food (chips were hard), didn't feel the cutlery/dishes were in the best condition. The service was OK and the staff were friendly but I did feel a sense of relief when I left. I would not visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank NewportSlewth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must try”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My daughter and I recently had a week`s holiday in Olhos d'Agua and visited Jollies restaurant 4 times. It is the best in the area and reasonably priced. The welcome and service was excellent and we enjoyed traditional Portuguese food especially the lamb shank and creme caramel. The wine was very cheap and we enjoyed the Casal Mendes rose. If we ever return to the area we will certainly return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneTr56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A little gem”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have just come back from a wonderful holiday in Portugal and we must fully recommend Jollies Restaurant, A lovely friendly atmosphere, our children Matt and Becky were made to feel so welcome and the food was excellent.It was our son's first experience of Proper Piri Piri chicken and he loved it. Home cooked and perfect portions, I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claire u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“restaurant”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The food was excellent at a very reasonable price. Service really friendly the best out of all the restaurants in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jollies Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing