We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“FANTASTIC HOTEL” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Guarana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC HOTEL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Just returned from Riu Guarana and let me tell you how great it was! First I want to get rid of the negatives: the food variety at times was not that great and the quality was okay, the free WI-FI was horrible, and last but not least some people appeared a bit stand-offish. Aside from this, the cleanliness was great! The staff was very curious, engaging, and careful. There are shows for almost everday of the week. I got to hangout with one of the performers (just me and him, no one else), and this is a very popular hotel that everybody knows in town. Tourist coach buses come to the hotel like no problem. Beside the hotel, a nice street full of shops that leads to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetraveling88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    628
    198
    34
    15
See reviews for
720
816
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Fab hotel lovely service the only thing wrong was the beds are quite hard and I was looking forward to getting home for a decent nights sleep!! Food is lovely and lots of variety would defo return again for a long weekend break but couldn't stay longer than 4 days if the beds don't get changed!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelz7683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Just returned from 10 day holiday at this hotel. Super welcome from Staff and Thomson rep Phil. Hotel room good size, very clean and modern, but beds very uncomfortable even after topper was put underneath mattress.
Food in restaurant excellent with a large variety at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Grill restaurant especially excellent.
Staff very friendly, and no queuing at the bar both day and night. Excellent service on collecting glasses and cleaning tables.
Swimming pools are good and are not overcrowded in both smaller and bigger pool. But sunbeds became like sardines in can as the week got busier. However no problem getting a sunbed providing you were up early enough!
Location of Hotel is in a quite resort, with the pebbly, small beach being 10 minutes down the road. Be aware of taxi expenditure around local area especially at night.
Entertainment by the entertainment team both day and evening, is geared to young families and older generations. Nothing for teenagers! Low budget entertainment made the evening a long night.
Overall we had a good holiday, just the hotel needs to refresh the entertainment to bring it more up to date.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank g00gleb0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have just returned home after two weeks in this hotel. The hotel is spotlessly clean, staff helpful and friendly, rooms spacious and comfortable. The evening shows were ok and the entertainment staff work very hard on these. To see the show you have to get there early because of shortage of seats due to the fact that there were so many children and pushchairs, despite the fact that there was children's entertainment early on in the evening. An adults only area with entertainment would be ideal.
The hotel is Situated quite a distance away from the beach so everyone stayed around the pools and we were packed in like sardines, no chance of moving your sun bed and if you left it for any length of time it could be taken by someone else!
The food was ok, plenty of choice but because the hotel was so busy and crowded sometimes you had to queue to get in the restaurant.
We have stayed at many Riu hotels over the years and this is one we will not unfortunately be returning to because of it being so overcrowded.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smudge817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Just returned after a week's holiday with 2 teenage children. Hotel very clean and well maintained, rooms fine - we asked for 2 adjoining rooms and got them, food and drink VERY plentiful with lots to choose from, bars and public areas nice - lovely flowers around the edges of the paths etc. Gym and indoor pool fine. Evening entertainment .... entertaining, even the awful karaoke. However the main pool area seemed cramped and was very crowded -though we were there in peak time. It is worth walking down to the beach for a bit more space. Town itself nothing special. Lovely 3 mile walk along beach to Villamora (taxi back!). Saturday trip to Loule market was worthwhile though we booked through the tourist office in town which was half the price of the hotel trip.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main block overlooking the road. It was a bit noisy and kept us awake the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen1657605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandybie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Our family of 5 have just returned from the Riu Hotel Guarana after a week's holiday there. The foyer is very impressive and the check in was second to none. They explained everything to us, and we were also given a bottle of water. The room was excellent for starters, and this continued with the food, staff and entertainment. Even the general manager was on duty during breakfast and dinner. The pools were also brilliant with plenty of loungers, even though some were past their sell by date. Don't bother going to Vilamoura, but go to Albufeira at night. What a brilliant square and streets. Would we go back to this hotel ? DEFINITELY

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Returned from our holiday last night, the hotel is spotlessly clean, the gardens are a credit to them. Pool area was quite full most of the time, so the usual early morning bed savers were out in force. The hotel do state that they will always find you a bed but this didn't happen to our daughter and her friend.

Good points
Lovely hotel
Very friendly management & staff
Loads of good fresh food
Free transfer room at end of stay
Great beach 10 minute walk away
Free bottles of water

Bad points
Evening entertainment very poor/child focused all week with loads of kids about until 11pm
Plastic liners to mattress which mean the bed sheet gets damp due to sweating all night
Mattresses thin and not very comfortable

Overall we had a good holiday it would be good to have an 'adult only' bar with suitable entertainment, the same childish songs on a nightly basis gets very monotonous... very quickly

Room Tip: Plan evenings out if you dont have kids, the entertainment is based around them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacktenforty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
0.2 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 7 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
2.2 mi away
Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort
0.1 mi away
Porto Bay Falesia
Porto Bay Falesia
#5 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 7 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
1.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.6 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Guarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Guarana

Property: ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Address: Quinta do Milharo | Olhos D'Agua - Algarve, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Guarana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened summer 2008. Located in Olhos d'Agua in the Algarve. 6-Storey main building and 2-storey annex building. 15 Minutes' walk from Praia da Falesia beach. Access to a small cove from the hotel Riu Palace Algarve is via cliff side steps (an approximate 10 minute walk). 8 Km from Albufeira. 500 M from various shops. 35 Km from the airport. 500 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Guarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Albufeira
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Hotel Albufeira
ClubHotel Riu Guarana Olhos De Agua, Portugal - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing