We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and staff *****”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and staff *****”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful week spent at this hotel and we could not praise it enough. Having read previous reviews we are appalled at the negative comments which are posted in other reviews.
We decided to go to the 'welcome meeting' and it was great to meet the Hotel Manager and all the heads of departments and not just get the spiel about tours for sale etc.
We found the hotel spotless and the staff were faultless. The restaurant served good quality food, cooked in front of you and the choice was limitless. Each day there were special local dishes many using fresh local produce. If you do go, try the extra large piri piri prawns they are yummy! It was good to see that the management took food handling seriously and were always on hand to oversee cooking etc.
The bedroom we were allocated was large, air conditioned with a ceiling fan as well. Each day there were clean towels and sheet change, the rooms were actually cleaned throughout everyday and everything was clean and shiny.
The pools were cleaned more than once a day and the loungers and umbrellas regularly inspected for damage etc.
Having fully inclusive basis was a great advantage with all drinks and food included, anything you could wish for. Endless supply of bottled water was available from Reception foc.
Hotel is only a short walk to the beach and local village.
We cannot wait to return............

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank jh07gph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    665
    206
    38
    15
See reviews for
763
869
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent uk
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Overall no real complaints but this was not our main holiday, booked as a very late jolly in mid April at a bargain price and so would rate it as good value.
The hotel was only about 20 to 25% occupied while we were there and to be honest I can see there being problems at anything over this with sunbeds, restaurant access and lift use as the main hotel is over five floors to name but a few things.
The food was repetitive but then most all inclusive resorts are especially if you are there more than a week, but overall the range that was served was of a decent quality.
The rooms overall were good with all the usual facilities and were cleaned daily to a good standard.
The bars were of a good standard with soft drinks and beer being taken self service or from the bar there was also a wide selection of spirits and cocktails available, even including port and sparkling wine.
The general service across the hotel was good but also efficient.
The entertainment team tried there best to involve as many people as possible during the day in the various events and in the evening they provide a nightly one hour show which is a might amateurish considering the facilities they have to hand.

Room Tip: A lower floor room if hotel has a high occupancy although this would be at the expense of a good sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kensington76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have just returned from a 7 night stay in this hotel 14th - 21st April 2013. I can honestly say it is the worst all inclusive hotel I have ever stayed in. Please read and take note. I checked out this hotel on tripadvisor and read a lot of the reviews before we booked. I must admit that I disregarded the bad food comments of other people who have stayed there recently. Please, please if you still have a taste bud left in your mouths do not go to this hotel.

Bedrooms: I will start with a positive and say that this hotel is spotless. The cleaning staff are fast and unobtrusive. However although the rooms are cleaned everyday - the beds are a complete joke, do not expect to get a good night’s sleep at this hotel. I am a reasonably fit person but awoke each morning with aches and pains in my joints as a result of a night spent on the hotel’s rock hard bed. We also had a problem with the air conditioning in our room, it took 4 days to get it sorted and then only as a result of a chat with our Thompson rep. We reported the problem with the room on the first day but were told by reception that it took two days for the AC to work when you switched it on!

Food: this is the worst part. The main restaurant is nothing but a glorified canteen, think school dinners, yuck! They make a big speech when you first arrive saying the food is on a 14 day rotation, WRONG! They served the same thing: fried belly pork or fried fish every lunch and dinner. Spaghetti Bolognese and pizza were also the other standard daily options. And don’t think I’m sure they made up for it with nice desserts. Think again, same stale cake and different coloured Blancmange served each day. As it was April and therefore not high season none of the "Special" restaurants mentioned in the brochure were open and despite the fact that we were all inclusive, just to get away from the bland menu, we did eat outside the hotel on a couple of evenings . This was the worst part of our holiday - the food.
Entertainment: is pathetic! There are 6/7 entertainers that, as with other hotels do bingo, shooting, volleyball etc. during the day - and in the evenings in the main bar area they do a entertainment show. The shows we had were a complete joke, and were more about polishing the egos of the animation team rather than actually entertaining people. Miming to a few Queen and other Rock and roll band Songs is not a talent, and an over exposure of the rear-end of one of the girls in the troupe is not entertainment. I’ve seen better acts on a wet Tuesday afternoon in Bullins!
I have stayed all inclusive over the past twenty years in many many countries around the world and I understand that some hotels are better than others. however I can categorically say I would NEVER stay at this hotel again. This is the first time I have stayed in A Riu hotel, can’t say I would ever stay at other one ever again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank accountants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I won't bore you with a summary of my trip. I would definitely return. and I recommend this hotel if you go during spring and you just want to lie next to the pool, get a lot of sun, eat nice food and drink piña colada. Here are the pros and cons.


The good:

* Great food. There's a lot of variety, the main dishes are always very good. Great salad bar and decent amount of desserts. Their pizza was surprisingly good but the pasta was below par.
* Great bar and very nice staff.
* Amazing sauna (although very tiny, for like 3 people)
* Super clean hotel and rooms
* Room was nice and clean and had a balcony.
* The beach is close and it is wonderful.
* The sea was excellent, nice waves and nice temperature.

The bad:

* NO FREE INTERNET (for an all inclusive this was quite disappointing).
* Some of the shows are cringe worthy, others are terrible and a couple of them are tolerable.
* The nightclub was EXTREMELY bad, after one hour of music they started repeating the songs and they have no sense of how to switch music genres.
* Pool was too cold.
* Gym has 3 weight machines (not enough for all the muscles), a broken rowing machine, 2 stationary bicycles in poor state and an elliptical machine.
* The hotel was packed with only 500 guests. The hotel staff said that they get over 1 k people during summer. I have no idea where they would fit them.
* The room had the air conditioning shut off because they said it wasn't too hot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Internetor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Six of us, two grandparents, two parents and the kids 11 and 15 just returned from a great value holiday in this cliff top hotel. Clean, comfortable. excellent staff and entertainment team,good food, super pools, excellent beaches. Ok it's a Club rather than a Palace where we older have been and so not quite as much choice or luxuries which we older ones are used to in a Palace and of course pay extra for. But the wines and drinks were OK'ish. food good, as much as you wanted and just the ticket for a family. The all in concept was a revelation for my daughter and her hubby who realise just how much the kids drink etc., can rack up a bill. They are totally sold on it and will be returning to what they describe as a perfect holiday in the perfect spot. The seemless organisation, flight and transport by Thompson impressed as usual.
The walk down the wood steps through the gorge with brilliant views to the wonderful beach became a morning regular. The kids loved the rock pools and playing in the incoming tide and with life guards in evidence on part of the beach took away any worry about the kids safety. Instead of coming back up the steps which is a bit steep if your an oldie, we took a stroll along the beach to the local fishing village stopping for a coffee or tipple and then a gen tle stroll back to the hotel via the road.
After lunch it was round the excellent pools for a relaxing afternoon. What could be better? A great value family holiday.

Room Tip: A balcony room overlooking the pool may be tempting but hot as hell in the summer. We were happy wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Very clean
Great service
Travelled April therefore quiet in resort as not peak time
Family of 4,kids aged 9 and 6
Kids enjoyed the kids club which only had 5 to 8 kids using it
We booked two twin rooms
Had a very chilled out holiday and enjoyed indoor pool when it was too cold for outdoor one.
No problems getting a subbed when we wanted one.

Room Tip: Pool view for sun But other side for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shah9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is immaculate, the staff were great and the food was excellent for an all-inclusive hotel.

We were surprised that we were not told that the speciality restaurant and the outdoor bars would be closed but this did not detract from the holiday. The entertainment team work really hard and make strenuous efforts to involve guests in the numerous activities around the complex. The selection of food on offer was excellent and fresh, though a week was enough given that the other restaurants were closed.

The rooms and lobby's were quiet which really helped the sleep quality, though being on the upper floors probably also helped. Free wi-fi would be a bonus (currently 9 euros per day , per device, and only available in reception) but this was only an issue for our teenage children !

All in all a very good hotel, and we would go back.

Room Tip: Upper floors in main block overlooking the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank youdsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
0.2 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
1.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
2.3 mi away
Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Guarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Guarana

Property: ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Address: Quinta do Milharo | Olhos D'Agua - Algarve, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Guarana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2017. Located in Olhos d'Agua in the Algarve. 6-Storey main building and 2-storey annex building. 15 Minutes' walk from Praia da Falesia beach. Access to a small cove from the hotel Riu Palace Algarve is via cliff side steps (an approximate 10 minute walk). 8 Km from Albufeira. 500 M from various shops. 35 Km from the airport. 500 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Guarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Albufeira
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Hotel Albufeira
ClubHotel Riu Guarana Olhos De Agua, Portugal - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing