We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
presston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We visited this hotel at the begining of July 2012. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful especially Alex at reception. The food was excellent. There was lots of choice for all of us one of us being a vegetarian. The salad bar was full of choice and there was a good selection of cheeses and meats daily. The entertainment staff couldnt do enough for people. Mateo was particularly good with the older teenagers when they attended the nightclub. The all inclusive also ran onto 1.30am.
Overall a very good high standard four star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    644
    204
    37
    15
See reviews for
746
832
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The food was very good, typical riu, they had everything. The rooms were also typical riu, if you've ever been at a riu hotel then you know what I mean. But the beds were really hard, I slept very bad because of it. Wifi is available in the lobby for a fee. Evening entertainments are indoors, which is very good for those who want to stay in a hotel that is quiet in the evenings.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great choice for a 24 hour All inclusive. Nothing had to be paid for - drinks on tap throughout the hotel at varying times. Great choice of foods in all restaurants. Lovely rooms - requested pool view and got one! Beautiful views. Hotel and rooms clean and staff attentive - sometimes reception staff a bit officious but they just want to do a good job and make sure everyone's happy. Very busy during summer holidays but managed to get sun beds, even though one day we had our towels removed & handed in to reception! Soon sorted. Pools lovely with beautiful gardens. Recommend walk down to beach - lots of steps, Villamora, Zoomarine - super day out with our 7 year old but (DO NOT GO to Aquashow/land - waste of money, tatty, dated, in poor state of repair & dirty. Did not care for the animals but used them for photos just to make money). Evening shows okay with cocktails and drinks readily available and not too long a wait at the bar. Had a good time & would go back for another week.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view as front of hotel looks over road and some rough land.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jules G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Just returned yesterday from our first family holiday abroad with our 18 month old daughter. If I'm being honest I've not normally felt the need to review hotels through Tripadvisor but we loved our week in the Hotel Guarana so much that thought we should add our thoughts to the reviews online.

Hotel caters perfectly for both families and couples and is perfectly located in a quieter location away from the hussle and bussle of Albufeira but close enough should you want a day/night trip into town. We spent most of our week around the poolside, which with 3 pools and being all inclusive catered perfectly for our little girl. The rooms were nice and clean (would recommend upgrading to a double room as we did), the restaurants were good with the quality of food and service being great (2 a la carte restaurants if you want a change from the main buffet although with the amount of choice at the buffet we were not bored with the selection on choice during the week) and finally, the staff were lovely and couldn't do enough to make you feel welcome. I would particularly like to applaud the entertainment/animation staff who were great with both our little girl (who loves the 7 foot turtle mascot Calou and can't stop talking about 'tortoise' since she has come back) and with the adult cabaret entertainment at night.

This hotel definitely gets a 5 star rating from us, great value for money and we'll definitely be coming back!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel is fantastic!! It is so clean and excellently presented and all the hotel staff are wonderful. We emailed the hotel to request a pool view room to be told we hadn't booked a superior room and they would try their best....we had a 4th floor room with pool and sea view! Food here can be a bit repetitious and manic in the main restaurant so we chose to eat in the grill restaurant most nights. Entertainment is average and that is dependant on if you can actually get a seat in the theatre with a view of the stage. We had no problem getting drinks from the bar, although some staff were friendlier than others. All in all a truly fantastic holiday so please let me know if I can give you more information about this hotel and our stay

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bromsgrove2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Have recently returned from this hotel, and I thought it was brilliant. We were greeted with a glass of orange juice and explained everything we needed to know. The food was great and there was plenty of choice - meats, fish, pasta, chips, pizza, rice etc. There was also 3 restaurants to choose from!
It was my Mothers birthday whilst we were there, were we received complimentary champagne with our dinner, and when we returned to our room, there was some there too!
However, I will say is that the wine was a bit 'ropey' and there were no crisps or things available, which would have been nice. Also, people are selfish and 'reserve' the sunbeds which are all gone by 9 in the morning. It says in their welcome book that they are allowed to remove towels from the beds, didn't see anyone doing it once! Also, the beds were quite hard and so some nights it was quite difficult to sleep and our sheets weren't changed once!
Entertainment was a bit repetitive and at times extremely childish. Also, some women dressed in next to nothing, when there are children sitting at the front watching!
But overall I would recommend this hotel and we are thinking of going back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAKE197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Have just returned from 11 nights at the hotel (2nd August 2012). Excellent hotel run by a very good management team - was good to see the hotel manager and assistant manager visable throughout the day and evening, keeping an eye on the day to day running of the hotel.

All hotel staff were indeed very friendly and approachable. Bar service excellent. Bearing in mind you are catering for lots of different nationalities, the food was okay in the main restaurant and you also had the option of the Grill Restaurant (is as it says) and also the Asian Restaurant (excellent). The whole hotel was very clean and the bedrooms of a good size. Would certainly recommend the hotel.

No probs getting a sun bed. The beach was not too far away if you wanted the beach instead of the pool.

The only downside was in the evening with the entertainment which started at around 9.45 pm - the taped background music to the entertainment team doing various dance routines etc lacked, in my opinion, atmosphere. Much better when they had the 'live' singer. I would add that this is my 4th stay in a RuI hotel and the entertainment has not been too good in them all.

No problems with getting a sun bed !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
0.2 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#7 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
1.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
2.3 mi away
Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Guarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Guarana

Property: ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Address: Quinta do Milharo | Olhos D'Agua - Algarve, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Guarana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened summer 2008. Located in Olhos d'Agua in the Algarve. 6-Storey main building and 2-storey annex building. 15 Minutes' walk from Praia da Falesia beach. Access to a small cove from the hotel Riu Palace Algarve is via cliff side steps (an approximate 10 minute walk). 8 Km from Albufeira. 500 M from various shops. 35 Km from the airport. 500 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, RIU Hotels and Resorts, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Guarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Albufeira
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Hotel Albufeira
ClubHotel Riu Guarana Olhos De Agua, Portugal - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing