We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quinta das Achadas
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$261
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Travelocity
View Deal
$182
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tivoli Lagos Hotel(Lagos)(Great Value!)
$116
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
160
23
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
23
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestswelcoming hostsmemorable weekbase for exploringspent a lovely weekfootball pitchlocal walkslovely homeshort driveself cateringhome comfortswest algarvemet some lovely peopletable tennis tablewithin easy reachsized poolfriendly dogs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 187 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Another memorable & enjoyable week with Jill & Julio, blessed with fine, but at the start, windy weather. It is a real pleasure to return to the friendliness of the Quinta & share dinner around the table with the other guests. Thank you both once again. Geoff,Eileen & the Terrible Twins.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a great time staying at Quinta das Achadas back in March. Jill and Julio are fantastic hosts; they’re really what makes this place special. Convivial, delicious dinners, ‘name that song’ competitions, good advice on local eateries, you name it...we even managed to squeeze in some walking, despite the so-so weather. Make sure you eat at the piri-piri in Odiaxere; highly recommended!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RichardSE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was a great place to stay, although it was advertised as a B&B the apartment was so well equipped you could cook a 3 course meal in there if you wanted to.

Breakfast was great with a huge choice of cereals, freshly squeezed orange juice from the trees in the garden and egg and bacon if you wanted it.

Our hosts couldn't have been more welcoming and as we were there in spring we came home in the evenings to find the wood burner lit. I felt like a guest at a really good house party rather than a customer. Jill and Julio each cooked us a wonderful evening meal and were great about coping with a food intolerance.

After a day walking a relax in the hot tub was most welcome and the pool was warm enough to swim even at the end of March. The scenery of the west coast was wild and wonderful and the beaches superb, it would appear to be a wonderful place to go if you are a surfer and I would highly recommend a visit in March and April if you love wild flowers, they were stunning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 159CarolS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Even in the rain Quinta das Achadas was beautiful with the leafy gardens starting to come to life. Everything that you could want for a relaxing holiday was provided – even cotton wool balls and a tea cosy! A very efficient wood burner kept us warm and comfortable on the still chilly early March evenings – and we didn’t even have to light it ourselves. The ‘English’ breakfasts were superb; it was all local food including freshly baked bread, eggs from the Quinta’s own hens, and marmalade made by the owner. Julio and Jill were marvellous hosts, welcoming and friendly, and nothing was any trouble to them. Our package included two evening meals but in the end we actually dined in four times and enjoyed some very convivial company and excellent food. For the remainder of our dinners we ventured no further than the village where we had simple but very good meals. We had gone there to walk and despite the showers we had some superb walks focussing mainly on the coastal paths - where the early spring flowers were quite spectacular - but venturing inland on a couple of days, all helped by advice from Julio and Jill, and some good if somewhat outdated walking guide books. A great holiday.

Room Tip: We had a suite which gave us a great feeling of spaciousness. We made little use of the well provided kitchen but loved the cosy lounge area
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a great little find. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Quinta in late February. Jill and Julio could not have been better hosts. From ensuring we were well stocked with logs for our cosy wood burning stove to providing fresh eggs from their chickens for breakfast and providing home cooked meals and fine wine. Julio booked our hire car which we picked up at the airport and used on our excellent daily walks in the mountains and coast. A lovely February escape from the British winter. Must go back in the spring/summer when we can try out the pool, jacuzzi and outdoor lounge. Have no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite which provided the morning sun.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews