We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta das Achadas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Odiaxere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quinta das Achadas
Ranked #1 of 2 Odiaxere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carrabassett Valley, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

After long stressful travel, Jill greeted us (2 couples) with beer and wine and we immediately felt like friends. It only got better from that time on. Jill and Julio prepared dinner and we joined them and the other quests (all repeat guests, now friends, of Jill & Julio) for dinner on the rooftop patio. What a great evening! .... That evening was one of the highlights of our 2&1/2 weeks in Portugal! It was a great meal, with great wine, interesting conversation and lots of humor! ... A fun way to start our vacation which included an 8 day bike trip in Northern Portugal. Or rooms were great with breakfast served on the patio right outside our door. Jill & Julio were extremely helpful in recommending and giving detailed information as to how we might optimize our three days in the area ... restaurants, activities, hikes, etc. .. If looking for a place to stay in the area, stay here ... Julio will take your breakfast order then walk to the hen house to get the eggs ... BUT, he will humorously recommend that you carry your dirty dishes to the kitchen. :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    20
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
71
86
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was our third visit to Jill & Julio's but our first 2 week stay and with our friends from California in tow for part of our stay. We love the peaceful setting of the Quinta and the apartments and rooms are superbly appointed and very comfortable. Of course we have our favourite but if that wasn't available, we would stay in any of the others. The location is perfect for exploring the quieter end of the Algarve. Each year we still find different coves, villages and new restaurants to visit, all delightful but with some of our favourites actually being in Odiaxere itself. However, one of the highlights of our stay is always the camaraderie between Jill & Julio and the rest of the guests, particularly at the evening dinners they host either up on the roof terrace or down on the covered patio, depending on the temperature. The food is always delicious and plentiful and conversations often hilarious. Jill and Julio continue to work with passion and commitment to make the Quinta so successful and holidays there such fun. We will be returning again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BWHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed a week at the Quinta das Achadas, a delightful oasis in a rural setting yet with easy access by car to all the attractions of the Algarve. Laze by the pool or visit the nearby beaches, resorts, mountain villages and restaurants.
The relaxed and friendly atmosphere created by the hosts achieves a good balance between impersonal self-catering resort properties and the constraints of hotels. The Quinta has the freedom of excellent self-catering facilities but the luxury of leisurely breakfasts provided each morning and the option, about twice a week, of a delicious evening meals, prepared by the hosts and shared with the other guests who were all great company.

Room Tip: Although we were allocated one of the two double room apartments, the single room one would have bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We came to Quinta das Achadas via InnTravel and a planned walking holiday. We fell in love with Quinta as we drove up the track to find a glorious setting for this relatively small B&B. We arrived at 10.30am and were imediately offered breakfast (booking in was 2.30pm!!) and the hospitality continued throughout our stay. Others staying were excellent company, The position in the Algarve is such that one can get almost anywhere relatively quickly and our hosts were always available for advice. Fawlty Towers has nothing on Julio's fun and humour which all added to a great holiday. I am sure we will return

Room Tip: All rooms have their own features but from choice I would chose the double room suite near the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We have just had a wonderful 10 days at the Quinta. We had been given rave reviews by our friends and our accommodation and welcome backed these up in spades.
We thoroughly enjoyed our communal dinners - the cooking was excellent and our hosts and fellow guests made for lively discussion and rather late nights.
We loved the gardens and pool and the friendly dogs just added to the overall ambience of the place.
The Quinta is in a perfect place to explore the whole of the Algarve. During our stay we visited Tavira in the East and up to Odeceixe on the West Coast. None of our trips involved driving over an hour in any direction - perfect.
Thank you, Jill and Julio, for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Triona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here in early June 2012 and absolutely loved it.

We saw the Quinta reviewed on Alistair Sawday's website and read all the Trip Advisor reviews, but despite that, we were a bit concerned - "is it too small?", "too far from the beach?", "will the kids hate it", "is 10 days too much" etc. As we drove up the driveway we thought we had screwed up. But the dusty road up to the Quinta actually adds to the "hideaway ambience" of the place.

From there on, everything was fantastic. We met wonderful people, we had great fun with Julio, Jill and Isabelle and we loved the pace of life at the Quinta - having an 0900 breakfast on the patio outside your own room/apartment gives an almost village-like atmosphere. The communal dinners were the three best meals we had while we were in the Algarve and the fun and banter amongst the guests was wonderful.

I have always had difficulty disconnecting from work and turning off the devices - not at the Quinta.

Is this place the Ritz Carlton? - hell no! But as a farmhouse B&B this is as good as it gets. The only problem now is trying to suggest anywhere else to our kids. They are already assuming that it will the Quinta next year.

Room Tip: Take one of the the two bedroomed apartments. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcriordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

If you're looking for something more off the beaten path than mainstream, tourist-packed Lagos, come here.

This was my second Portugal vacation. Before, I was younger and did the bar and singles scene in Lagos. This time, I came with my husband and another couple. We came just for the weekend, because we were living in Germany. This villa is perfect if you want to experience the local culture and have some more unique amenities -- like a pool, jacuzzi, magazine - ready decor, quiet country setting, truly Portuguese locale, kind & helpful hosts, the list goes on...

Stay here! But don't tell anyone -- you'll spoil it!

PS -- this is a long overdue review. Our trip was in June of 2010.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchTravelJunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Odiaxere
0.0 mi away
Quinta das Barradas
Quinta das Barradas
#1 of 1 in Odiaxere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta das Achadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta das Achadas

Property: Quinta das Achadas
Address: Rua da Barragem | Lagos, Odiaxere, Lagos 8600-250, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos > Odiaxere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Odiaxere
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta das Achadas 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Quinta Das Achadas Hotel Odiaxere
Quinta Das Achadas Lagos
Quinta Das Achadas Portugal/Odiaxere, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing