We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel in a delightful setting”
Review of Casa Vicentina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Vicentina
Ranked #1 of 8 Odeceixe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pays d'Ajaccio, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A comfortable hotel in a delightful setting”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The room was spacious and very comfortable, the welcome from the owner and his team was good. The atmosphere was generally very relaxing and we spent the afternoon both lounging by the eco pool listening to the frogs in the reeds and sitting reading on the bourgainvilia shaded terrace. Great spot for either families or couples to chill. Dinner was pleasant but rather than relaxing and being able to leisurely enjoy the food etc, the service was rushed despite it being early, the only downside to our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbelbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    16
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tavira, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We already have stayed at Casa Vicentina a few times.
Last time it was with our son and he loved to play at the yard and the animals are very friendly. Lots of space to run.
the only thing to say is that if you want to cook the exaustion equipment is very noisy and not very efficient.
Very friendly, and breakfast is very completed with fresh products.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent our first night in the Alentejo region at Casa Vicentina. It was a great start to a great trip. The property was very pretty with a pool and lake that was filled with frogs. The room was pretty, spacious and comfortable. We had a very nice little patio outside our door to enjoy the fresh air. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast, all of which were simple but tasty. The wine with dinner was very reasonably priced. Overall, this was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darlene08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, Scotland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We've just returned from 5 nights in this delightful property. We were self catering and found the facilities excellent, even washing up liquid, salt, sugar, oil and vinegar were provided. The pool was lovely with plenty of sun loungers and the adjacent pond replete with lilies, fountains and tiny frogs was an added bonus. There was a lovely terrace on which to eat, table tennis and washing line at the back of the apartment, and bikes to borrow. There was a lovely well equipped communal lounge, which we didn't use as our own lounge/dining kitchen was extremely comfortable.

The staff were delightful and very helpful, and the breakfast was delicious. Imagine starting your day with a jug full of freshly squeezed orange juice!

The beach at nearby Odeceixe is absolutely stunning, completely unspoilt with plenty of shade from the cliffs and superb surfing. Definitely a place to which to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulandmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a few days in the Costa Vicentina and decided to try this kind of getaway. And it turned out to be even better than the website showed.
The suite was wonderful. The adobe walls preserved our privacy and of the other guests. We heard ABSOLUTELY nothing coming from other rooms or from the outside.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, always trying to make us feel at home. The atmosphere was of complete oblivion regarding the "outside world". We had gone there to rest and rest was what we did... :)
There were bikes available (free of charge) and we took the opportunity to explore the surroudings. The coastline is breath-taking...
They don't serve meals, which was a shame, but that "forced" us to get to know the neighbouring towns.
Breakfast was good (great variety of bread and cold cuts and fruit). Just found it a pity that regional produce didn't stand out. Also a shame - they didn't have eggs, even though it was publicised on the website. And we are crazy about eggs.
The resort has a number of cats and dogs but they never intrude or annoy you. And I didn't see poo anywhere!
The pool had a very acceptable size for a resort like that. It was next to the natural lake, which gave it an extra spark.
All in all, we found it amazing and, if are able to, we will definitely go back!

Room Tip: The corner suite (nr. 3) was excellent - only one neighbour and facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicMestre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our family of 4 spent 10 delightful days at Casa Vicentina. When our time was up, we wished we could have stayed longer--who'd have thought that doing very little would be so satisfying! It normally takes me a week to "detox" from work, but at Casa Vicentina it took just 24 hours. The location on the Alentejo coast, a world a way from the overbuilt Algarve, is wild and rugged, situated in a beautiful natural park. Although it isn't much advertised, there is a 13th century castle of historical significance in nearby Aljezur, and the town of Odeceixe is charming. My husband surfed the amazing sand beaches on the Costa Vicentina, while the children and I (aged 3 and 6) enjoyed the beautiful fresh pool, complete with frogs and lilypads in the pond surrounding it, the swingset, and the countryside setting. Highly recommended for those looking for a family holiday that is for the whole family, not just for the children!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tinatin1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
Level Contributor
268 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Went there last weekend and enjoyed a lot!
Place is managed by a couple and we loved it!
Rooms are very well decorated and clean, the gardens are beautiful and its just 5 minutes away from the beach!

It is a very quiet place for people who like to stay away from the crowds and from the noise.
The breakfast is very nice, served nearby the pool.

Recommend eating in Restaurant Chaparro (Odeceixe), typical food and cheap.
They accept pets in some rooms

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GFLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Odeceixe
5.2 mi away
Enigma - Nature & Water Hotel
Enigma - Nature & Water Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sao Teotonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cerro da Fontinha
Cerro da Fontinha
#1 of 3 in Sao Teotonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.0 mi away
Canal da Agua
Canal da Agua
#1 of 1 in Odeceixe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monte do Cardal
Monte do Cardal
#3 of 16 in Aljezur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casas do Moinho
Casas do Moinho
#1 of 11 in Odeceixe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monte Joao Roupeiro
Monte Joao Roupeiro
#6 of 16 in Aljezur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vicentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vicentina

Property: Casa Vicentina
Address: Caixa Postal 885 L | Monte Novo, Odeceixe 8670-312, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Odeceixe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Odeceixe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Vicentina 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Casa Vicentina - Turismo Rural oferece 12 confortaveis Suites com cores alegres e terraco com vista para a piscina/jardim/relvado. Dispoe de 6 Suites Junior (2pax), 2 Suites T1 com kitchenette (2 pax) e 4 Suites T1 com kitchenette & Mezzanine (3/4pax). Todas as suites possuem, casa-de-banho privativa com produtos de higiene, aquecimento central, TV de ecra plano e Internet Wifi gratuita. Para promover o convivio e momentos de lazer, a Casa Vicentina oferece ainda uma sala de estar com TV, DVD'S, Jogos e livros, um parque infantil, um servico de cafetaria/bar (bebidas e snacks) com esplanada ao ar livre, sala de pequenos-almocos e piscina outdoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Casa Vicentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing