We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb club”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Four Seasons Country Club
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Quinta do Lago
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superb club”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I have been coming to the Four Seasons Country club for over twenty years and love it. I have stayed also at Fairways, where, although the villas are bigger, the experience is second-rate compared with the Four Seasons. The staff is professional and friendly and nothing is ever too much trouble. The grounds are beautiful. The villas are not huge but are kept spotlessly clean. The food in the restaurants is among the best in the area. It is also a club for both the very young and the rather older. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    54
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
361
207
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I've been back here year after year - I confess, I own a timeshare here. However, as they also rent out property I feel justified adding my comments!
I am always so impressed with the friendliness of the staff - they really make the holiday. It was the 25th anniversary of the opening of CC whilst I stayed there this year, and the long serving staff were also being acknowledged with a celebration evening in the main bar and restaurant - which was extremely well attended.
I stayed in a 2 bed 3 bath villa which is well equipped and comfortable - although not snazzy and brand new, it is completely adequate. The kitchen has oven, hob, microwave, a vast selection of cooking implements and a huge fridge (and small freezer) so if you fancied self catering you're well set up. There is a mini market on site and a larger supermarket about 30 minutes walk.
I recommend eating at the restaurant several times during your stay - wonderfully friendly staff and a good selection of dishes. I think it is a good price - chicken piri piri is about 9 euros. I have always wanted to try the desert trolley (a good selection of freshly prepared dishes)....
The outdoor area around the pool is well cared for even in winter (the indoor pool is much smaller but nicely heated).
Come and join in the quiz evening (Monday night the week I was there), first prize is a very nice bottle of fizz and its free to join in!
I stayed in Nov 11 - I know that there are renovation works during part of Winter 11, so check before booking.
ALSO - Faro airport is currently rebuilding its car park and in Oct 11 the roof came off the arrivals hall. We landed in heavy rain and then had to get ourselves and the cases across to the far end of the car park, across unmade paths and with no real signage and poor lighting. I have never been so wet and was surprised at the lack of assistance offered by airport staff. Our trip home was much better, but the arrivals hall currently appears to be a tent in part of the car park building site. The car hire places which used to meet in the arrivals hall are now in a portacabin in car park 4.

Room Tip: take ear plugs - the heating/air con is quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

In 1985 whilst on a golfing holiday I had the good fortune to be shown details of a new Club which was being built at Quinta do Lago. It was called Four Seasons Country Club. I was so impressed with the plans that I immediately purchased Units for 2 weeks. The dream came true and I purchased a third unit. I am still a proud owner after 26 years and have never missed a year. The standards of service and maintenance have always remained at the highest level. Four generations of my family along with friends have enjoyed some of our happiest holiday moments at Four Seasons Country Club. We look forward to many more at such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Shortly before setting off on our annual holidays at the Four Seasons Country Club one of my Grandchildren read with utter disbelief the comments headed “Don’t Go”. Surely this lady could not be referring to our beloved Villa 22 which our family have owned for a four week period during the summer for the past 17 years. In cumulative terms we have now stayed in that villa for over a year, rather longer than this person who left almost immediately. Let me analyse her complaints and compare them with our long term experiences. With all the security now at airports one’s journey time from home in the UK to arriving in Quinta is likely to be not less than six hours. When you eventually arrive at reception it is almost inevitable that others, often off your flight, are doing likewise. Rarely if ever have I only seen one receptionist behind the counter, but in any event compared with the travelling time this delay is trivial. Most people after a stressful journey “chill out” at the adjacent bar area with a coffee, orange juice or stronger beverage before checking in. “Granny” with her two adorable Grandchildren then complains she had to ask for a map to find her villa which is only down the steps and then almost directly opposite. Now they have NEVER handed us the keys before the maids have ensured the villa is in pristine condition. Walking in wearing designer sunglasses may well give a dark impression but allied with the air conditioning it provides a welcome relief from the blazing sun and heat outside. All the windows are covered with a mesh to prevent flies and insects gaining access, so can you believe she actually counted fifty or sixty flies behind the curtains and as for mozzies in the middle of the day…well well well! Her next comment relates to the pool area past all the tables not cleared after lunch. Let me assure all readers the restaurant is absolutely brilliant and the tables are cleared constantly during each meal by experienced waiters who are meticulous in their work. You do not walk through the restaurant to get to the pool area, just past a handful of tables serving only bar snacks. So what could possibly be messy about the pool? Maybe she objected to the sight of people having fun and as for sunbeds all being in use after lunch what does she expect? Patience is a virtue and a quick word with the lifeguards and they invariably find some for you. I have stayed in many of the World’s finest Hotels including Caesar’s Palace in Las Vegas but nowhere compares with the friendliness, honesty and total commitment from ALL the staff at The Four Seasons Country Club. We love it there, as do the people we always meet who return year after year.
Ken plus Doreen, Stuart and Karen, Hannah and Megan. SEP 2011.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Ken3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My family and I have owned a 4 Seasons villa for 24 years and the quality of the resort has been consistent during this time. I've used a number of timeshare villas through Interval International and this is one of the best, upper quartile. The villas are very spacious and well kept with a daily cleaning service. The staff are generally helpful and pleasant (although some cleaning staff don't speak English). The General Manager has been with the property for a long period of time and has good attention to detail. The grounds are well kept and a pleasure to walk around. September is a nice time of year to go - you avoid the school holiday crowd and the weather can still be very warm. Lots of choice for eating out, book a seat at Julia's and watch the amazing sunset over the Atlantic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

It's a very good resort. Not new but very well conserved. Enjoy very much the stay

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Been going there for over 15 yrs originally with my parents and now with them and the grandchildren. First class in all aspects ! Villas beautiful, location beautiful, safe and secure for families, staff have worked there for many years and are lovely. Beautiful clubhouse , pools and gym etc ..... Not far from Quinta beach and val de lobo .... Love it and will continue to go there .... Roll on October

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Macmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quinta do Lago
1.2 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,545 reviews
20.2 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
8.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#2 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
294 reviews
11.7 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
191 reviews
20.2 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Country Club

Property: Four Seasons Country Club
Address: Av. Andre Jordan, Quinta do Lago 8135-024, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quinta do Lago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quinta do Lago
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quinta do Lago
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quinta do Lago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Seasons Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1986 the club enjoys a privileged location, nestling within the pine forest and golfing greens of Quinta do Lago, which is renowned as Europe’s most upmarket residential and leisure resort. The 1800-acres of the Quinta do Lago estate are partly embraced by the Ria Formosa Natural Park, a protected nature reserve of world importance. The park is the habitat for a wide range of resident and migratory birds, some a threatened species, and other rare flora and fauna.The master plan of Quinta do Lago allows for an environmentally friendly balance between residential construction and green space, so helping to preserve one of the largest pine forests in Europe. The resort is flanked to the south by the eco rich estuary and sand dunes of the nature reserve and this is crossed by a wooden bridge that leads to a vast, sandy, unspoiled beach stretching for several kilometres just a few minutes from Four Seasons Country Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Four Seasons Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Country Club Hotel Quinta Do Lago
4 Seasons Country Club
Four Seasons Country Club Quinta Do Lago, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing