We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful, relaxing holiday.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Martinheiras

Salt Water Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Salt Water Pool
Master Bedroom 1 Sleeps 2 - Casa Do Jardim Private Salt Water Pool and View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Salt Water Pool
Master Bedroom 1 Sleeps 2 - Casa Do Jardim
Private Salt Water Pool and View
Outside Terrace Casa Do Jardim
Arial View of Martinheiras
Master Bedroom 1 Sleeps 2 - Casa Do Jardim
Bathroom 1 - Casa Do Jardim
Bathroom 1 with Shower Toilet and Biday  - Casa Do Jardim
Living room - Casa Do Jardim
Sofa Bed in Living room Sleeps 2 - Casa Do Jardim
Kitchen - Casa Do Jardim
Outdoor Terrace
Products
Paths and Walks on the land
Misty Morning View
Views
Outdoor BBQ for all to Use
Paths and Walks on the land
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Odemira, Beja District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Traveldoc...
London/Lisbon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have a home in Portugal so we know the Alentejo well and take holidays there quite often. Martinheiras is certainly the nicest place to get a real break that we have found yet. Well away from anything, up a 2 km track on a hilltop, it offers wonderful views over the hills and silence apart from the wind and the birds. Totally solar powered and eco orientated, no television – bliss! There is phone signal and the Wi-Fi works fine, so you are not out of essential contact though. The owners, Tiana (Amari) and Shivam are in the process of making a positive dream come true. They are wonderful hosts, warm, present whenever needed, but sensitively absent when not. Shivam is a great cook and we much enjoyed an evening with sardines and another with an Arroz de Peixe (fish rice) that was as good as any dish you would get in any restaurant anywhere. Tiana is a brilliant yoga teacher, making basic techniques doable and enjoyable even for those of us previously unfamiliar with it. Take advantage of a lesson when you go there. Overall, six stars. You can’t do much better than this if you want some genuine relaxation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, hosts, food, pool, accommodation
Liked least: What's not to like?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2016
Thank you for this beautiful review. We greatly enjoyed your presence and we welcome you back anytime. Please keep in touch wehad so much fun!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebeccaok
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible experience”
Reviewed December 7, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Peaceful, serene, and remote setting in the beautiful Alentejo region. Amari and Shivam were so warm and hospitable. The food was delicious and the yoga was fantastic. We loved it so much and would definitely go back in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
Thank you so much, Rebecca! We loved having you and Jacinta here for the yoga retreat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin...
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“i don t like it, i love it!”
Reviewed October 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Off the main road near Funcheiras, a dirt track will lead you up to Alentejo s heaven.
Martinheiras offers amazing view over alentejo s mountains, where silence is only broken by the singing of the wind in the trees and the sounds of nature.
If the view is amazing, the house is also very great, totally solar powered, rooms are clean and nice.
Shivam and Amari have been wonderful hosts, they took really good care of us, food was delicious (ask the chef for sushi, home made pastas, or portuguese classic cod fish or octopus, u won t regret it!)

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda R
Fremantle, Australia
1 review
“A warm welcome from the heart”
Reviewed October 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Staying at Martinheiras was a romantic adventure.  The drive through farmland and forest over an unsealed road until we reached the homestead 'on top of the world' invoked a sense that we were leaving one world and entering another. We were greeted with such friendliness by hosts Amari and Shivam and the warmth of this welcome continued throughout our 6 week stay. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms fresh, the view panoramic, the swimming pool delightful, the gardens lovely and the meals delicious to itemise just a few of the many details that were so lovingly attended to. Amari and Shivam were always generous with their time and ever helpful to guide our touring. We found Martinheiras to be the perfect sanctuary. You can well see that we very happy with our stay!

Linda and Martijn
Fremantle, Western Australia
September, 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tianahari...
hong kong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed October 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Quiet, isolated and completely amazing. Hand made paths this place is worth the drive up the 2.5km road. In this day and age to find something like this is pretty rare. We will go back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, peace quiet the hosts
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2015
This review was written by a guest using our account
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakshmi H
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“AMAZING ACCOMMODATION & POOL”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I really enjoyed my stay at Martinheiras, the surroundings are breathtaking and the staff are absolutely lovely. The food is delicious and I would highly recommend this stay to anyone wanting to get away and experience nature.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food, the people and the stars
Liked least: the internet speed
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabella...
1 review
“Unique experience”
Reviewed February 28, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

This has to be one of my all time favorite experiences to date. If you are up for blissful isolation with breathtaking views and peace on a different level then this is the place for you. I was so impressed once I got up the 2.5km dirt track road - that In itself was a spectacular feeling. The hosts are amazing individuals with a great sense of charm and uniqueness to them. They embody everything they say and are completely open and caring.

I chose Quarto do Sobreira located at the top of the property - the stars at night were amazing and this room is right next to the gorgeous and well spaced and well equipped communal kitchen. It had a fireplace inside and as I stayed off season, this was enough to keep the room very warm. The owners helped me light the fires in the evening

A delightful and incredible experience I'm telling everyone !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing