We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quinta Do Chocalhinho
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
“A wonderful place”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week with my parents in August. We had just flown from the US, where we live, and we wanted to take my parents out of Lisbon, to spend some time with them, and to rest. In all accounts, our stay was excellent. The area is naturally beautiful (we knew that), but the Quinta is beautiful too, decorated with a lot of taste and care. The rooms (and the beds) are excellent. The place is quiet at night, and in the morning you wake up with the rising sun and the smells of the aromatic plants of the Alentejo. We really rested. The breakfast is superb: you have to make an effort not to try everything. The pool provides an extra plus: in the morning there is no one there but the water is still warm from the previous hot day and you can actually swim. Margarida and Luis run the place impeccably, the personnel is all very friendly and nice. This is certainly a place we would come back to. Strongly recommended. One more thing: ask Luis for restaurant recommendations in the area; all his suggestions were excellent. Cheers!

Room Tip: We had two separate rooms (not an apartment). Both rooms were excellent. You can't really go wro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
37
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed here on 28 May while walking the Rota Vicentina (Vincentina Route). The property is in a beautiful rural setting just outside Odemira and is run by the very charming Luis who is from the area and his wife, the "always smiling", Margarida who comes from northern Portugal. These people have travelled themselves (they lived for 15 years in China) and are the kind of people who are very comfortable in their own skin and who know how to connect with their guests. The rooms are very comfortable, the lounge area too where tasteful music is always on the stereo and the pool area is just perfect. Dining here is a real treat and breakfasts are delicious and abundant. Lots of local produce and an amazing advocado smoothie which I´d never tried before but it really works. Highly recommend this property for a long or short stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelecg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We spent a week in Quinta do Chocalhinho in the end of May, beginning of June 2011. It was a great time to visit as when we checked in the place was empty so we had the Quinta pretty much for ourselves for a few days (mind you, after a couple of days it was fully booked!). The owners are very relaxed and helpful and just gave us the key to the main clubhouse which we could use at our convenience.
We stayed in one of the large duplex guest houses and were very confortable during our stay. The main club house area is absolutely beautiful with a very tasteful decor and a massive fireplace. The breakfast was divine with a lot of local produce especially the local jams.
The tennis courts were also a plus for us were we could knock about when it cooled down at the end of the afternoons and then into the swimming pool for a dip.
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Having travelled around the world and stayed at everthing from high end hotels to 'cheap B&Bs, Quinta Do Chocalhinho is our all time favourite place to stay.

We initially intended to stay for a couple of nights, but soon decided to extend our stay - both because of the lovely spacious room (we were upgraded), the beautiful surroundings, the friendly owners, and homely atmosphere. The facilities are also very good with a nice pool and a tennis court (there are lots of animals for kids to play with including a couple of cats and a very friendly dog), and some truely amazing beaches about 25 minutes away by car.

We are usually quite fussy when it comes to breakfast, but this was absolutely wonderful. Fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, fresh baked bread, local cheeses and butter (think it is produced at the farm), home baked cakes, fresh juice and smoothies, and eggs to your liking. Really good!

The price for a room was EUR 75 night which was excellent value as the quality compares to 5 star hotel. So if you visit Portugal and want a few relaxing days, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasWilliam402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Had a lively relaxing weekend in this beautiful hotel, breakfast was lovely and the owners are very welcoming. Plenty to do in the area but not many exciting restaurant options.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madgenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
199 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

This place is simply unbelievable. Classified as aggro-tourism and priced at well less than 100 Euro/night with a fabulous breakfast and free WIFI included it offers 5star accommodation and services with excellent facilities and decoration. We know 5star properties which don't have such beautiful and quite surroundings, such well fitted bathrooms, such generous towels, such great breakfast and certainly not such pleasant and devoted management providing the best of local knowledge and recommendations. Don't miss staying there if you can.

Room Tip: N° 6 is, we think, the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed here for 3 days during the summer holidays. The place is fairly new (opened in 2008) so everything looks freshly painted and clean.
There are quite a lot of rooms (we counted at least 8) and during peak times the pool area can get somewhat crowded. Rooms are comfortable with good quality bathrooms. There is no air-conditioning but the fans in the rooms are sufficient to keep out the worst of the heat.
Breakfast is really very good, they even cook to order and there is a lot to chose from. Only problem is that it starts at 09:30 which is rather late but luckily they accomodated us as we often wanted to leave early.
Probably the best are the hosts who are very hands-on and friendly. They are very wlecoming and go out of their way to give information or to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eh_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Odemira
19.1 mi away
Herdade da Matinha
Herdade da Matinha
#1 of 2 in Cercal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
18.8 mi away
Enigma - Nature & Water Hotel
Enigma - Nature & Water Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sao Teotonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
19.4 mi away
Casa do Adro
Casa do Adro
#1 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
HS Milfontes Beach
HS Milfontes Beach
#2 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
18.5 mi away
Herdade do Touril
Herdade do Touril
#1 of 12 in Zambujeira do Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
15.7 mi away
Herdade do Amarelo Nature & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Do Chocalhinho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Do Chocalhinho

Property: Quinta Do Chocalhinho
Address: Estrada 123, Odemira 7630-028, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Odemira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Odemira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta Do Chocalhinho 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Chocalhinho is a centenary estate located near Odemira, with 10 double rooms and 5 suites T1+1, framed by a beautiful landscape and a very interesting culture.Luís Freitas is the name of the owner, the same as his grandfather’s, who left him these 70 hectares of land, with a very old house, now rebuilt with a drawing very close to the original one. Photographs and oil paintings show the resemblances, and the old pavement that surrounds the house, the schist walls and some “taipa” (lath and mud) walls, make us relive other times.After a happy childhood in this estate, and many years working in different parts of the world, Luís Freitas and his wife Margarida have decided to put all their dedication into this agro-tourism, with body and soul. The furniture has been carefully chosen during several years in the East, and tastefully combined with the rural and sober environment of the house. The rooms are very comfortable, with central heating, TV and private WC and the suites spacious, all with 1 double room, living room with fully equipped kitchenette, private WC, mezzanine bedroom with twin beds, and an exclusive patio by the pool. The breakfast is composed by regional products, and the biological kitchen-garden is loved by the smaller ones as well as by the grown-ups.The house is totally surrounded by olive trees and cork oaks, and a stroll will transport you to the true essence of the Alentejo, amongst old watering tanks, wild boar trails and a wonderful view over the estate.You may also enjoy the tennis court, the salted water swimming pool and a small playground for the youngest ones. Besides you’re only 2 kms away from Odemira, were you can find all the facilities you may need, and 20 minutes from the Vila Nova de Milfontes and its beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quinta Do Chocalhinho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Chocalhinho Portugal/Odemira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing