We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Western House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Western House B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Llangennith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“a wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We went to Western House after a particularly harrowing few months, for a break. We simply could not have chosen anywhere more healing and uplifting. The hosts, Steve and Pippa are fun, quirky and charming. We felt that we had known them forever. They were so welcoming and nothing seemed too much for them. The atmosphere is incredibly relaxing and the decor just magical. We stayed in room 1 which has the most amazing views, and we had our spotty dog by our bedside, which was lovely. Pippa and Steve are such fabulous characters with a wealth of knowledge about the area, surfing and places of interest. Breakfast was superb, needless to say`it`s back to the Ryvita` after our stay. We were so lucky with the weather, it was brilliant and we were able to walk and take advantage of the gorgeous beach, a 15 minute walk away. Our son is looking forward to returning with friends to test the surf !
Oh and special thanks to Bongo, the chihuahua puppy for all the lovely cuddles, we all fell in love with him.
We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. Thank you.
The Raven family

Room Tip: Attic room was quiet, peaceful with fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    25
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
61
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Western House for what was probably the best week of the
year weather wise. The house was an absolute treat. The house is very tastefully
decorated and simply exudes character. The owners are also very genuine and
welcoming. We were able to sit in the garden and on one night we had our tea
at a wonderful picnic table surrounded by a wonderful variety of plants etc.
The rooms are well appointed and provide a good degree of privacy. We had
the room at the top of the house and we were on our own floor. The view is
simply spectacular, we could see Tenby and far west Wales. We slept with the
velux windows wide open and probably had the best nights sleep that we have
had in a while.

When we got home, we looked at each other and both said the same thing,
'that was just perfect, we can now handle another three months at work before our next holiday.
Thanks so much for a wonderful stay.
Top tip, simply good value.

Dr I Goldberg

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have just returned from our stay at Western House amazing place to stay fantastic decor excellent location we were greeted by a very friendly and warming lovely lady on arrival we took our dogs and she let us keep them with us in our room we had a first class breakfast and was greeted with a lovely smile i would reccomend western house to all my friends and family and we are going back next year thank you pippa and steve for making our holiday special i would give 11 out of 10 perfect

Room Tip: every room is magic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We recently returned for our second stay at Western House this year. Absolutely fantastic place to stay, great location, wonderful decor peppered with Tibetan pictures and prints and a super breakfast. Steve and Pippa are great with a genuine passion for hosting, we look forward to a third visit sometime soon.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband a I stayed at Western House on the weekend just gone, we were hoping for sun filled weekend, unfortunately mother nature delivered us a full Westerley storm. We were in room 2 which overlooks the yard and from which you can see the sea. The room was small but more than adequate for the weekend. The brass double bed was so comfortable; when the storm blew we thought that the whole house was going to shake but the room and bed gave us a sense of cosiness that is difficult to describe. When we came down in the morning we were served breakfast in front of an open fire that the owners had lit. Breakfast was very good value, I tried the lavabread (seaweed) which the owners had picked and cooked themselves, It was delightful. We were given good information on which beach to visit and we were delighted to discover a small beach call Fall Bay. We will be back in the 'summer' and despite the weather the accommodation, owners and value for money made the weekend worthwhile.
I have attached some photos of the chandeliers and lights from the house, what more can I say, spectacular!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crickhowell
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at Western House last weekend to celebrate my birthday,it was the second time we stayed there. We choose this B&B because it has such a lot of character and a great location. The hosts, Pippa and Steve, go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and cater for every need, even dietry ones.We tend to book the same room each time as it is big and light and very private.Everything is provided from clean towels to films to watch when you are staying in! Sitting in their garden last Friday evening, with chickens walking around and their dogs keeping us company felt relaxing and homely!! We often go away for a weekend and we have stayed in many expensive B&B's and hotels but although many are spotless, they are often plain and boring! Western House is different and might have the odd cob web but the great breakfast and hosts make up for it!! May i add that we are middle aged so it shows that they cater for every age,we have already booked for August!!

Room Tip: Room one,upstairs has a double bed and a single, great for when we take a grandchild
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanneCrickhowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just spent a wonderful weekend in Llangennith at Western House.
We were looking for somewhere to stay to combine a little surfing with a lot of relaxing and this was just the place!
Steve and Pippa were fab hosts... making us feel at home immediately, helping us with Surfboard hire and everything else we needed. And the newly built barn conversion we stayed in was amazing.

Perfect escape from the city - Llangennith has just a pub and a surf shop, breathtaking coastal walks and surf just a 15 min walk away, and awesome views in every direction!
Can't wait to go back... :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J543210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangennith
5.2 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
4.0 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
12.6 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
12.1 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#1 of 7 in Llangennith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western House B&B

Property: Western House B&B
Address: Burrows Lane SA3 1HU, Llangennith SA3 1HU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Llangennith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Llangennith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Western House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Western House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western House B&B Llangennith, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing