We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No ordinary cave”

Modric Cave (Modric Spilja)
Ranked #30 of 163 things to do in Zadar County
Attraction details
Netherlands
1 review
“No ordinary cave”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Think you have seen all caves already? Visit this one, and you'll probably be surprised. No large numbers of visitors, no fluorescent lamps, no stairs - it's all still as it was when discovered. The guide gives you all time to take as many pictures as you wish, there's no rush at all. Modric cave is not very large, so don't expect enourmous spacious chambers of 50 metres in height, but it is a very unique experience with exellent guidance. A must-see when you're in the area!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim_dB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
182 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very inspiring and breath taking”
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

The cave is really nice. I am not an expert, but going through the cave it reslly each of the rooms is different and interesting. Guide was excellent. If in the area, I recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank Krpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breathtaking !!!!”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

When we decided to visit cave Modric we had no idea what to expect. It was our first time to visit a non commercial cave with a guide, with helmets and possibility to have claustrophobic attacks.
Than we met Marijan from Zara Adventure agency - not quite classic tourist guide - he is speleologist and above all nature lover.
We got helmets with carbide lamps, jumpsuits ..... and there we were - tiny entrance. Marijan explained that there is nothing to be afraid - it is small entrance but not long. He was right - not scary at all.
There we were - little flames from our helmets opened a whole new world before our eyes - breathtaking , amazing, out of the world experience .....
Marijan was talking about cave: discoveries, formations, his wish to keep cave as it is (no concrete paths, no lights.....) 2 hours passed so quickly !
After getting out, our little group made a photo - looking at it now - all of us with a big happy smile !
So, if you ever find yourself near Zadar - call Marijan and enjoy !

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ela_Rijeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This was a highlight of our trip. Really! The whole experience from the very start of meeting Marijan(the guide), getting all the gear (overall and the helmet with the light) throughout the adventurous exploration of the cave till the very end, when we were full of emotions and peacefully enjoyed the beautiful view of the sea from the entrance of the cave.
This place is protected national park and you can get in there only with qualified guide. There is a good reason to that as this is a very long cave with long of paths and you will definitely need an expert to accompany you. The beauty of stalagmites and stalactites is indescribable! Millions of years they have been forming to impress you now with all different shapes. The path itself doesn't get boring at all. It is very dynamic, with winding route, a couple of challenging passages, and a treat of taking a break at the end, sitting around and experiencing for a couple of minutes what is complete darkness and silence :) moment to remember.

I would categorize this activity as beautiful, fun and off the beaten track. You get to crawl a couple of times and get through the wholes(from first sight I didn't think that I could go through, but Marijan showed us the right way and even my 186cm bf made it through quite easily.

It is also very informative, our guide seemed to know everything about caving in general, how/when these wonders were formed,etc.

I also liked that this is a small group activity. There were only 4 of us and a guide. I called him a couple of days prior to see if I could sign us up for excursion and he agreed to guide us despite the fact that no group was planned for this time. Good customer service. :)

Highly recommended!
Only 30 min ride from Zadar, it is a must see for an adventurous tourist :)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zadar, Croatia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A must-see in Zadar county”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Wow, this is awesome!!!
We went into this natural cave dressed in overalls and wearing helmets with lamps, led by a real speleologist. Marijan from the agency Zara-adventure speaks fluent English and German and shared his knowledge about the cave in a very interesting and fun way. The cave is just beautiful with big halls full of stalagmites and stalactites. It was really fun and exciting, this is definitely a must-see!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank AjmoCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modric Cave (Modric Spilja) also viewed

Gracac, Zadar County
Kotlenice, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Lokve, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
Bisevo, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Modric Cave (Modric Spilja)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing