We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel ,noisy place”
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Die
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel ,noisy place”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great hotel in centre of an interesting town.Good restaurants around.Very helpful and friendly owners and a reasonable breakfast.Room was lovely with views over town.Very comfortable bed but the noise on this particular night from the street was amazing.Would expect bar noise until maybe 1am but this went on until 3am and crowning glory was the saxophonist until 1.30am.Shame as we would recommend the hotel but you might have to take a chance on noise.looking at other reviews though I think we were unlucky.Definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    58
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
41
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tunis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Right in the center of leepy Die. Clean and simple with nice owners.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Colon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Yes, pretty difficult to find:) And worth it. We parked in the free town parking and went searching on foot. Just took a few minutes, and we were there and registered, and in our room. The room was indeed spotlessly clean, the bath spacious and bright, with a hairdryer and appropriate soaps. The beds were very comfortable, with good fresh-smelling linens and pillows.

We enjoyed delicious wood-fired oven baked pizzas from a nearby pizzeria...great prices, too. We didn't have breakfast at the Des Alpes, as we had a morning brunch to run off to.

The town itself is beautiful and picturesque...kind of what you picture rural French Alpine towns as being, but so often are let down. The drive in from Geneva in the fog and snow is worth a page in an adventure travel book. And this was April 21!

We'd be happy to stay here again, and plan to return to further investigate the town...which has two good supermarkets, if you arrive when they're open.

Room Tip: We toook what they gave us (Room 21), and it was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saramandaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Finding this hotel by car is an adventure. Set right in the centre of town, along semi-pedestrianised streets, it is possible to stop outside the front door to offload luggage and get a key to the hotel's garage which is a couple of streets away and provides another adventure! Madame provides a clear map to get you to the garage, after you have checked in.

The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated throughout. We had a room at the back, by request, which was totally quiet with a distant view of the mountains. Breakfast was ample and served in the reception area. Very friendly sttaff.

We drank at the Bar across the street and ate at a pleasant restaurant in the next side street. Die is a lovely old town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _davidius61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Die
0.5 mi away
Hotel-restaurant La petite Auberge
15.5 mi away
Hotel du Col de la Machine
Hotel du Col de la Machine
#2 of 3 in Saint-Jean-en-Royans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hotel Bellier
Hotel Bellier
#1 of 2 in La Chapelle-en-Vercors
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Chalet
Hotel Restaurant Le Chalet
#1 of 3 in Gresse-en-Vercors
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
6.5 mi away
No photo provided
L'Aubergerie
#1 of 1 in Barnave
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Property: Hotel des Alpes
Address: 87 rue Camille Buffardel, 26150 Die, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Die
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Die
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Alpes 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congratulations! You have chosen the welcoming atmosphere of this relay of standing, a stop- over for a good nigth's sleep. In the heart of the Diois, in the middle of nature surrounded by the mountains, l'hotel des Alpes invites you to appreciate the calm and the beauty of scenery green or white depending on the season. The staff and the direction would like to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing