We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic Holiday...and great Kitesurfing!!”
Review of Hotel Orkos Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Orkos Beach
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mikri Vigla
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic Holiday...and great Kitesurfing!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Firstly the only reason the hotel dosent get 5 out of 5 is purely down to lack of shade and wind breaks around pool. If i could put 4.75 i would.

After a warm welcome by Michelle we were shown straight up to our 1st floor studio apartment, the room was a good size with a small kitchenet and a simple shower/toilet. A few more bits of equipment for the kitchen ie sharp knife, would have been an good but im sure if you asked it would be provided . The first thing you notice when entering the room are the most magnificent views of the coast line and beaches from all windows and balcony, probably one of the best hotel views we have ever had!
There was plenty of choice for breakfast and it was great to hear it didnt stop serving until 11am, no need to get up early after a long day travelling.
The pool area was lovely with plenty of sun loungers and a fair sized pool, due to the constant wind though a few wind breaks would have been welcome.
The hotel is also joined to a great bar and restaurant which also doubles as the kite school building.
I would highly recommend the hotel but be warned Mikri Vilga is always very windy. We found the hotel as we were looking for a kitesurfing location in Greece. If this is what your after then i fully recommend it as the kitting is great too. If your not there for kitesurfing dont be put off though as the location is lovely and a great spot to explore the island from. We will defiantly be back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jarmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    36
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Orkos Beach Hotel was a wonderful holiday experience (we stayed for 6 nights). The place consists of several white washed 2-story high buildings with nice and light rooms. From most or even all of them, you can see the stunning sunset over the sea that goes down over the oppositive island of Paros. The cleaning ladies did a great job and the whole property was perfectly well mantained. The breakfast buffet is relatively big and you eat on a beautiful terrace overlooking the pool that is a nice place to chill in the sun (eventhough it might be very windy at times to stay for a longer time by the pool).

The hotel is ideal as a basis for wind and kite-surfers as a school/rental is directly integrated into the hotel complex. On top, the beach with beautiful turquoise/deep blue water is literally 10m away. It’s a bay that usually has very good wind conditions, suitable for beginners to very experienced windsurfers/kiters. I would not recommend this bay for people who „just“ want to lie on the beach and get sun tanned, there is just too much wind most oft the times. Yet, if you go a bit along the coast, you can also find nice beaches with no/little wind.

But most of everything, we will remember Michaelis who was our perfect host. His hospitality, kindness and all his extra efforts made our stay just priceless!

So go and discover Orkos Beach Hotel- you will not regret!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jil2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikri Vigla, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I am typing this as the kids are on bed and am am enjoying the views and wifi.
This holiday is cool!! Don't all come now and make the water too busy:) Wait 2 weeks until i am gone, haha
I am here with girlfriend and 2 kids and it is amazing. The pool is great. the kds make friends there every day.
They sleep well in their own room. Anything you need, Michalis can help you with. He is super friendly. Day 1 we needed a dentist visit, not so cool but thanks to the staff here holiday is back on track.
We are here for three weeks and all we will do next time is get a room a bit closer to the pool so we can sit outside while the kids sleep. This was our mistake a we booked through travel agency who did not understand our needs. Book directly from the hotel and you will love it.
We do not have a kitchen and we don't really miss it. Diner is fine at 2 restaurants close by (1 minute walk) and not expensive. The breakfast is included and lovely!

It is a super spot for kite and windsurfers. Water just a bit choppy but everyday wind so far. 11m2 and 7m2 kites.

Come over and enjoy friendly Greece.
We love it and will be back!!

Nic

Room Tip: Ask in advance what you really need and the Staff will do all they can to help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My family and I spent a few glorious days at Hotel Orkos and Mikri Vigla.
This hotel was a terrific spot for a family as there was lots to do for the younger crowd, with beach for kitesufers and a restaurant/bar close by. A short walk away was a quieter beach for younger family members or couples looking for some quiet beach and quiet clear waters for snorkeling opportunities. The hotel was very clean, with excellent service, and a great sea view. The breakfast was excellent and the breakfast dining area was lovely and quiet with a view of the pool area. We found the hotel manamgemt very pleasant and accomodating and were most helpful in helping us locate an item that we though we had lost in the beach area....

My husband and I and our two teenage daughters would ALL highly recommend this hotel for the above reasons. We hope to go back one day to this lovely island and bay, now my favorite of the many islands I have visited in Greece.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Rochelle, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Rooms are clean, there is a small kitchen to cook, the view on the sea is magnificent.
The breakfast is copious:)
The staff of the hotel is very welcoming and very helpful.
I stayed from 19/09/2011 till 27/09/2011 it was genial,very good weather and very peace.
I took lessons of kite the atmosphere was good and the teacher was professional
Without hesitation I return there low next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

we stay at orkos beach hotel the 2 weeks,we had great room with view to the sea and the wonderfull sunset,the room service was daily,very very clean room,the breakfast was fantastic with a lot of fresh fruits and nice coffee,the pool area is well done for windy days,for the area of mikri vigla is recomended to hire a car,for water sport lovers like us its the best beach in front of the hotel,on the left side of mikri vigla is the other beach that is ideal for swimming and play.
thanks all team made our hollidays the best ever.
recomended 100%

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kitecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Just back from 1 week stay. Michalis did his utmost to ensure that this was a great stay. Beautiful views across the bay. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is copiuous and of good quality. WiFi available at no charge in the room. Two very good tavernas just across the road for evening meals. Next door to the Flisvos Kite Centre if you need lessons or hire equipment, run by Michele and his excellent team. Car hire can be arranged by the hotel, which is necessary if you want to go to the Chora in the evenngs (~20km). All in all, to be highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kite_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mikri Vigla
3.2 mi away
Finikas Hotel
Finikas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pyrgaki
321 reviews
5.0 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
400 reviews
1.9 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel
Plaza Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Plaka
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coralli Beach Apartments
Coralli Beach Apartments
#1 of 6 in Mikri Vigla
148 reviews
3.7 mi away
Liana Hotel
Liana Hotel
#2 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orkos Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orkos Beach

Property: Hotel Orkos Beach
Address: Mikri Vigla 843 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Mikri Vigla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mikri Vigla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Orkos Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Orkos Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orkos Beach Naxos/Mikri Vigla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing