We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another excellent stay.”
Review of Dorana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dorana Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Diafani B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“another excellent stay.”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Coming to the end of another wonderful stay. Studios large, cleaned on a regular basis and excellent views of the beach and mountains. The owner Minas and his wife cannot do enough for you and collected me from airport took me to Diafani via supermarket in Pigadia. Diafani is a small village in the season there are plenty of places to eat and regular boat trips to Saria and other parts of the island. Do your research before coming - no cash machines. One small shop that is very overpriced and has limited stock, so stock up on what you need in Pigadia, although there is a fruit and veg van and a bread van come on a regular basis. Out of season there are usually 2 restaurants open Corali and Golden Beach both serving excellent food. Walking in the mountains here is breath taking and several well signed trails.

Room Tip: 7 and 8 have very balconys. 9 and 10 are large apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Cowgirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    22
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
5
37
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

CON: we stayed there for two weeks: bad, extremely noisy beds, even at the simple movement during sleep. Noisy external construction (possible movable items on the terrace), which in combination with the permanent windy conditions of the area make sleep impossible without ear plugs. Minimal cooking and kitchenware equipment (two small boiling pots, plates, glasses and knifes,forks, spoons). No item to cut some grocery, no bin to throw kitchen garbage, no textile napkins to dry your hands while cooking. While we were there, no aircondition and no tv, although they said they would eventually add (ask before booking). Breakfast not included in price. Only one little market in the village with unacceptably expensive prices and extremely limited variety (less than basic). The village is very remote compared to the main city and the roads are cliffy and scary (without any bars). At certain parts of Karpathos roads i felt our lives were in danger.
PRO: the couple that runs DORANA studios are polite and helpful trying to accomodate with our needs with patience and gentleness. No hidden costs. Very clean rooms. Spacy and comfortable studio with bedroom, wc, kitchen and livingroom. Walking distance to a reasonable beach. 5 min drive from exceptional beaches (don't miss vananda beach). Excellent spot for trekking explorations. Starting point for the daily boat trip to SARIA (NOT TO BE MISSED, home to falcons, seals and howls, with breathtaking beaches). Karpathos has probably the best beaches i've seen in my life (and i've been around in dozens of islands) but not all are easily accessible by cars. Generally DORANA studio is a good choise for it's price if you like swimming and trekking. Not night life or shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alina_gr_rh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locarno, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We recommend Dorana Studio to all who are looking for a nice studio next to the see, with nice view on Diafani and towards the see. Even if next to the harbour, it is very quiet. Minas, the owner, is a very helpful person and can give a lot of local information.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Sandra188094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The owner Minas and his wife are very friendly and go out of their way to make sure that you have a good time. Wifi signal is good and the rooms are basic with good quality towels and sheets and good value. Very much enjoyed my week there in November. Diafani itself is easily got to by the big ferry boat from Rhodes or Piraeus but the town is very remote so the single food shop is expensive but the tavernas are good value. Great walking area leading through olive groves to various remote beaches. A very different Greek island location compared to others.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
12 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

From the hotel you have a very beautiful view of the sea and is facing the Town it's breathtaking !!!!! The rooms are very clean ,and we had good service it's walking distance to everything .spent 3 nights there and will go again next time we visit.Karpathos is a very beautiful Island if you did not visit you must go there .The owners make you feel welcome and the price for the hotel is cheap !!Hope we can see you again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Julia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Once again had a lovely stay. Besutiful clean rooms and Minas and his wife make you very welcome. The new apartments are finished and Minas showed me NO 10, lovely apartment separate bedroom, large bathroom and balcony. Lovely view of the sea. Right on the front and short walk to everything. Cannot wait to revisit.

Room Tip: I normally stay in No 8 as large balcony and gets sun most of the day and has excellent views of mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Cowgirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Spent 4 nights at the Dorana in September.

Pros: Central location, just off the main strip (steps off). Large balcony, facing the town and sea. Cost - it was very cheap (E25) so that I feel a bit bad compaining about anything else. However, I would prefer if they raised the price a bit and provided better service/cleaning etc. Short walk from the Diafani port.

Cons: The suite was dirty when we went in (long hairs on bed and pillow, dishes dirty etc.) At E25, all I expect is basic cleanliness. The chairs on the balcony were old and breaking and uncomfortable (which is a shame, because an improvement to the balcony would have seriously improved the overall experience), they no longer have the mini-market referred to on their website. The owners were very rarely around. Basics like dish soap on the kitchenette were not present, meaning we had to go by a bottle for our few days use.

Other Diafani info: There is only one store in the town, and it is small and very expensive. Bring stuff up from Pigadia if you can (like cereal, coffee, tea etc.) The twon gets slammed during the day when the tour boats are in, but as soon as they are gone, it is very quiet again. Eat at La Gorgona - seriously good food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrisb1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diafani
17.1 mi away
Alimounda Mare
Alimounda Mare
#1 of 16 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
890 reviews
19.0 mi away
Finiki View
Finiki View
#1 of 2 in Finiki
76 reviews
20.3 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel
Royal Beach Hotel
#4 of 4 in Arkassa
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Astron Hotel - Bungalows
Astron Hotel - Bungalows
#9 of 16 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balaskas
Hotel Balaskas
#2 of 3 in Diafani
46 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hotel Alkioni
Hotel Alkioni
#1 of 1 in Finiki
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorana Hotel

Property: Dorana Hotel
Address: Diafani 85700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Karpathos > Diafani
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Diafani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dorana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorana Studios are located at Diafani which is at the Northern part of Karpathos. According to most people this area is the most ideal place for relaxation and walks. Diafani is famous for its abudance of fish, diving and spearfishing opportunities. Dorana Studios consist of studios, some double bed, triple bed and a studio with four beds. There is even an apartment with six beds. We have two new family apartments also. All studios have their own balcony and a beautiful sea view, which by the way is only 50 meters away from the studios. The port of Diafani is 200 meters away and close by, you will find restaurants, ouzo bars with traditional appetizers and fish taverns which have fresh fish everyday. If you want to see the amazing sunrise and enjoy Macarunes you can go to Olympos, the most traditional village of Karpathos. It is seven kilometers from Diafani; transportation is on a daily basis. You can also go on daily excursions to different beaches and to the nearby island of Saria by boat. Convinced the hotel organizes programs for individual consumers but also to groups up to 15 people in the trails since the place is ideal for walking to many and clean trails that are all signposted. Even do and guided tours paths but also the island of sarias by ferry from DIAFANI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorana Hotel Diafani, Karpathos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing